Author Topic: Clouds playground!  (Read 8680 times)

2022-08-20, 11:51:18

Aram Avetisyan

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
New Clouds are available in Corona 9 Daily Build!
Check them out in CoronaSky and share your results!

P.S. Thanks Maru for the renders!
« Last Edit: 2022-08-20, 11:56:42 by maru »
Aram Avetisyan | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative | contact us

2022-08-20, 19:51:03
Reply #1

marchik

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 176
    • View Profile
By the way, did I understand correctly that cirrus clouds cannot be randomized?

2022-08-24, 14:18:06
Reply #2

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8040
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Feature request: it would be nice to have cloud shadows as optional - sometimes you set the lighting and you don't want it to change, but you want to have few clouds in the sky without affecting anything else in the scene. I find cloud shadows quite a hit and miss, especially since they act so unpredictably in IR.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-08-24, 16:51:12
Reply #3

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4446
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Feature request: it would be nice to have cloud shadows as optional - sometimes you set the lighting and you don't want it to change, but you want to have few clouds in the sky without affecting anything else in the scene. I find cloud shadows quite a hit and miss, especially since they act so unpredictably in IR.

Do they cast occlusion shadows? Something that HDRi bitmap that looks visually the same does not? Or you mean all lighting in general such as brighter white cloud contributing bit of additional light.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2022-08-24, 19:17:06
Reply #4

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8040
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
They actually do, at least i think so. Sometimes it looks weird when shadows from the sun and the clouds are kinda mixing together and often they're simply annoying, when you move the sun and the shadows pops in and out constantly and worst of all that you can't trust IR - sometimes you get cloud shadows, but if you restart IR they disappear, or IR and regular rendering gives different result. I'm sure most of these issues will be ironed out, but having an option to opt out of cloud shadows, can't hurt i think.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-08-24, 19:38:47
Reply #5

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4446
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Sometimes it looks weird when shadows from the sun and the clouds are kinda mixing together

I can imagine..

Not sure if shadows from clouds are even good idea if the sun (and light from sun) is never occluded or modified by the clouds itself. We don't get occlusion shadows from HDRi either for logical reason (no actual physical object at certain distance).
But hopefully the clouds will always contribute to the overall light &reflection in form of Skylight. I.e, act like HDRi.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2022-08-24, 19:53:22
Reply #6

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8040
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Yes, they do contribute to overall lighting. Not sure how accurate it is, but it looks quite nice. By the way, i was impressed to find that shadows are visible in viewport and they are pretty accurate to what you get in rendering, so in theory you don't even need to launch IR to set-up them :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-09-02, 13:28:15
Reply #7

annkos

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 84
    • View Profile
Playing around with the new clouds, love them so far!

2022-09-02, 13:54:10
Reply #8

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8040
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Looking nice! Did you adjust contrast significantly? Your clouds looks much more punchy than what i usually get.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-09-02, 15:01:54
Reply #9

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11871
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
/prompt "highly detailed clouds over a stormy sky", in the style of renaissance painting, earthly tones

looks great! :)
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-09-03, 00:17:04
Reply #10

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 749
    • View Profile
    • Evolvia Imaging
Looking nice! Did you adjust contrast significantly? Your clouds looks much more punchy than what i usually get.

I've noticed even with the ACES on, I get some "sad no contrasted" results on the sky. The cloud model is cool but as you wrote I need to add additional contrast to the image.
But from the other side, if I think about it, when I take a photo with my DSLR in RAW format, I need to work all the data in Lightroom. At this point I prefer keeping the ACES option on, not apply any LUT and do the work manually in Lightroom as always.

Just my thoughts...

2022-09-03, 13:57:33
Reply #11

Mohammadreza Mohseni

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 147
    • View Profile
    • Instagram
here is my test. I love this feature.



2022-09-04, 11:38:36
Reply #12

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8040
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I would like request to expose random seed parameter in clouds UI. Offset is good for animating cloud movement, but it kinda sucks for fast exploring of different clouds positions, since you need to drag the spinners a lot, or enter numeric values by hand to get substantially different clouds.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-09-04, 16:22:36
Reply #13

Cinemike

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 945
    • View Profile
I would like request to expose random seed parameter in clouds UI. Offset is good for animating cloud movement, but it kinda sucks for fast exploring of different clouds positions, since you need to drag the spinners a lot, or enter numeric values by hand to get substantially different clouds.

+1

2022-09-06, 13:46:03
Reply #14

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 834
  • George
    • View Profile
I would like request to expose random seed parameter in clouds UI. Offset is good for animating cloud movement, but it kinda sucks for fast exploring of different clouds positions, since you need to drag the spinners a lot, or enter numeric values by hand to get substantially different clouds.

Thanks, reporting it for further consideration.

(Internal ID=959574428)
George Karampelas | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona QA Specialist | contact us