Author Topic: minimum F-stop Value not low enough...  (Read 2313 times)

2015-01-28, 10:21:46

piripi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
hi guys,
i run into a problem...

i have large scale scene, 3000m-3000m which is in 3d max as cm... (would it change if i change it to meter?)
or is the most simple way to just group everything and scale it down?

now i wanted to render it with Dof... but the minimum value of the the f-stop is 0.01, which gives online very small dof...

i know i can do it in ps or ae, but than the masks etc are not exactlly blured the same way...

cheeers
piripi

2015-01-28, 10:58:21
Reply #1

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1546
    • View Profile
The other variable to affect dof is the sensor width, I guess it's better to tweak that one instead of implementing an extremely unrealistic f-stop value.

2015-01-28, 11:03:18
Reply #2

piripi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Thanks for the answer!
i'll try an let you know how it works!

cheers
piripi

2015-01-28, 11:08:17
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8921
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
pokoy is right, in case your scene has incorrect scale, it is better to scale sensor width to similarly incorrect value than to fiddle with fstop
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2015-01-28, 11:15:45
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10389
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
There is another possibility: Utilities > More... > Rescale World Units but I'm not sure how it works for example with cameras or other "rigs".

I would try to make it as physically-correct as possible. It will make your life easier.


2015-01-28, 11:22:37
Reply #5

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6750
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
With incorrect scale, you'll have problems with everything - lighting, materials, physics... there's almost no excuse to model in incorrect scale.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-01-28, 12:19:28
Reply #6

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10389
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I also don't know what kind of scene you are preparing but if it's a large scene (3000x3000m) and you are rendering with a wide-angle camera (?), then the correct DoF effect will be very subtle - don't exaggerate it if you care about photographic look.