Author Topic: Corona Displacement  (Read 16981 times)

2014-12-28, 05:37:29

inatosema

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Has anyone used corona displacement over corners?

Vray has an option to "maintain continuity" around edges preventing the mapping to "tear" around corners... I dont see an option for Corona... as a result the map "tears" around the edge... is there a way to fix this?

2014-12-28, 13:41:19
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10300
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Add "smooth" modifier (not meshsmooth or turbosmooth - just "smooth") and maximally smooth the mesh, then render. Or you can manually tweak smoothing groups.

This will probably need some fixing in the future. It sometimes looks bad, for example on boxes with hard edges.

2014-12-28, 16:44:44
Reply #2

inatosema

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Pardon my ignorance.  What do you mean "maximally" smooth the mesh?

2014-12-28, 18:56:48
Reply #3

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6698
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Here's a little example:

I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-03-25, 16:01:39
Reply #4

Alexp

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
for boxes are ok, but for complex models?

2015-03-25, 16:16:42
Reply #5

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6698
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
For complex models it's the same principle. You can add support edges by hand or automatically subdivide surface by adding modifiers like tesselate, subdivide, meshsmooth. Although complex models usually has more dense geometry from the start.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-03-25, 16:48:07
Reply #6

Alexp

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
For complex models it's the same principle. You can add support edges by hand or automatically subdivide surface by adding modifiers like tesselate, subdivide, meshsmooth. Although complex models usually has more dense geometry from the start.

I can not understand how it works, at all ...

2015-03-25, 17:08:39
Reply #7

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10300
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
What strength of displacement did you set?
Are all the vertices of this model welded? Did you try with smoothing the model?

2015-03-25, 17:15:49
Reply #8

Alexp

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
Its welded and smoothed, and here you can see the disp_map I use

2015-03-25, 17:31:55
Reply #9

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6698
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
You're touching wrong buttons. Set displacement to screen size mode (value 2), max subdiv per poly set to 100. Now go to material and look for displacement group in basic options. Set max level to desired value and you're ready to go.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-03-26, 02:09:05
Reply #10

Alexp

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 153
    • View Profile
You're touching wrong buttons. Set displacement to screen size mode (value 2), max subdiv per poly set to 100. Now go to material and look for displacement group in basic options. Set max level to desired value and you're ready to go.

My results. I dont know.

2015-03-26, 09:28:28
Reply #11

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6698
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
You have to assign one smoothing group for all polygons.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-03-26, 10:22:43
Reply #12

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10300
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Easiest way would be to add "smooth" modifier like in first image here:
https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000529362

You can also check the links at the bottom of the page for other displacement problems.

2015-03-27, 10:41:12
Reply #13

Fritzlachatte

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 116
    • View Profile
I was wondering why nobody already considered the alternative use of the standard (non vray-) displacement modifier.
While playing around, I found a lot of benefits. While using it, there is a proper preview of mesh-deformation.
I tessellated / smoothed both meshes, but when I use the corona displ.shader option, I don´t like how it handles the details
and transitions between e.g. grout > bricks.
Another point is the fact, that I can collapse the object with the former displacement to a new "bricky" mesh, which might safe render time.


I hope nobody will abuse me for this proposal, just an idea.

2015-03-27, 10:46:27
Reply #14

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10300
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I was wondering why nobody already considered the alternative use of the standard (non vray-) displacement modifier.
Sure, whatever works for you is fine! But this workflow is not always usable. And no one said Corona's displacement doesn't need improvements.