Author Topic: Tonemapping settings inheritance broken  (Read 3083 times)

2022-12-03, 19:57:42

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Hi,

I think that with the new Tonemapping stack and the way it's implemented in the C4D Render Settings ( in Camera/Postprocessing tab ), the native C4D settings inheritance doesn't work anymore. I would like someone else to confirm but on my side it is the case, and it even seems logical since the Tonemapping settings are now contained in their own "space" and not visible in the tab itself.

If it is confirmed, is it fixable ? This feature is quite useful to manage engine settings and output size / format in a granular way, yet easy.

Thanks

2022-12-06, 14:41:32
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3874
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, does ''Copy from render settings'' in the camera tag update it for you? ;)

Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2022-12-06, 16:24:28
Reply #2

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Hi Bengamin, that's the issue, I don't always use a Corona Camera Tag and in any case it should work without it. I want to handle the post processing at the scene level and parent the various format output to this setting. If Camera tag are used it's only for exposure adjustment.

2023-02-14, 08:41:28
Reply #3

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer
What is exactly what you're looking for?
Could you explain your workflow a little more so we can understand better what you mean by "the native C4D settings inheritance doesn't work anymore"?
Thanks.
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us

2023-02-14, 19:59:01
Reply #4

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
What is exactly what you're looking for?
Could you explain your workflow a little more so we can understand better what you mean by "the native C4D settings inheritance doesn't work anymore"?
Thanks.

Hi Benjamin,

I want that Corona follows the native behavior of C4D render settings like the versions before the tonemapping stack was introduced.

If I modify a setting in the parent, the children should inherit the new value.

Here is a demo of the current behavior with a dummy scene :



Like I wrote, it is the only setting where inheritance doesn't work, and it should work. I usually change Corona settings in the parent RS and use children to output various image format, as well as multiple output paths. This feature is quite useful to easily handle different rendering scenarios i.e. separate Corona settings from image dimensions or output settings etc. Used in combination with render tokens and takes it makes a powerful render management system without the need of a specific software or plugin.

2023-03-09, 15:29:08
Reply #5

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Bump ! This issue is still in the latest daily.

2023-03-10, 07:25:07
Reply #6

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer
Hi there,
Thanks for providing additional info so we can better understand the issue.
Did you try using the Tonemapping settings for the Render settings? (you can find them in the Rendering settings -> Corona -> Camera/Postprocessing tab)
This way, you will use the tone mapping settings per render setting instead of using the ones located in the Corona Camera tag.
I hope this helps.
Please let us know the outcome.
Kind regards.
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us

2023-03-10, 11:45:52
Reply #7

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Hi Benji,

Yes I'm using that, and it's precisely the issue. I would like that the tonemapping settings could work as in the previous versions.
I set my tonemapping settings in the parent Render Settings, and the settings should "trickle down" to the children Render Settings. It's the native C4D way to manage render settings, I use it for every other RS ( Render stop conditions, denoiser settings, etc ) and the new Tonemapping stack broke it.



Right now I have to do the following :

• set the tonemapping
• save the settings in a postprocess file
• reload it for every individual render settings ( so one for each image format in the project )
• and redo it everytime I have changed the tonemapping, if I'm looking for consistency between images ( very often but not always )

So instead having one place to manage this, I have to jump through hoops to do the same thing as before.

Right now the "best" workaround is to use the Camera tag instead : I usually do the postprocessing in the VFB, and then use the "copy render settings" button in the Corona Camera tag, and then copy/paste the tag to every camera. But again, it is quite a step backward compared to the previous version.

Also one more thing, the tonemapping settings in the Camera Tag and in the Render Settings lack the Save/Load command available in the VFB ;)

VFB


Camera Tag


Render Settings

2023-03-21, 06:50:32
Reply #8

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer
Hi John_Do,
Thank you for the additional info, and we're sorry for any inconvenience.
The dev team is already investigating a better approach to improve the tone-mapping workflow.
For the sake of completing the report to the dev team, could you please provide me with a recording of your workflow (showing your workaround) so I can include it in the report along with the screenshots you already sent?
Regarding the "Save" & "Load" buttons for the Corona Camera tag, it is implied that if you copy & paste the tag to another camera, settings are copied, so this means no need for Save & Load buttons.
I'm glad you've managed to find a workaround, but once again, we're sorry for any inconvenience.
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us

2023-03-24, 11:06:52
Reply #9

stereoV

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 45
    • View Profile
Hi Guys, we here in our office have an similar bug with tonemapping when we use c4d´s TAKE-SYSTEM. We usually use different cameras and sky setups per take. Now, if we render a batch by calling up the command "render marked takes to PV" tonemapping is not canging to the assigned rendersettings. It only works if you switch to the main-take and create a new rendersetting without corona render. (I attached a little testscene for better understanding if necessary).
Cheers sV

2023-05-02, 05:26:50
Reply #10

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 229
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer

Hi there,
The dev team is already looking into related issues and similar to this one.
This should be fixed in the future, but cannot tell a specific ETA at this moment.
Please stay tuned to the new daily build posts.

(Internal ID=1026589116)
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us

2023-05-05, 12:08:41
Reply #11

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Thanks for the heads up, I'm glad to see that the issue is adressable !