Author Topic: v9 Stability  (Read 2844 times)

2022-11-21, 18:05:57

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Hey guys,

Does anyone else have stability issues with Corona 9 on C4D R26.107 and Windows 10 ? Particularly when adjusting lights and playing with Decals ? Had to quit and restart C4D at least ten times today, it's really starting to get on my nerves.

EDIT : It happens often when I drag-copy an object ( with Move Tool + Ctrl pressed ), whether it's a light or a mesh item.

EDIT 2 : Toggling Replace base bump and Replace Base Displacement in a Corona Decal settings freezes C4D too.


« Last Edit: 2022-11-21, 20:28:03 by John_Do »

2022-11-22, 11:18:28
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3874
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, can you share a short vid of this happening? I tried to recreate it here but failed. Thx :)

Are you able to test this with Corona 10 daily and let me know if the issue persists?
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=38328.0

(Internal ID=1010200894)
« Last Edit: 2022-11-22, 11:27:08 by Beanzvision »
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2022-11-22, 11:55:26
Reply #2

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 530
    • View Profile
"Had to quit and restart C4D at least ten times today"

if you mean IPR instability, here r25 and v9 win10,
 I and others also reported this already, i already did send also reports with crash dumnps etc (daily 10 didnt change any):

https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=38371.0


2022-11-22, 13:12:44
Reply #3

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
Hi there, can you share a short vid of this happening? I tried to recreate it here but failed. Thx :)

Are you able to test this with Corona 10 daily and let me know if the issue persists?
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=38328.0

(Internal ID=1010200894)

Hey Bengamin, I've sent you a DM with some screen recording.

Indeed in a new scene, Corona doesn't freeze when I drag-copy objects and lights, no matter how hard I try it's rock solid. However it freezes in no time when I do the same on a real objects hierarchy with textured null, mesh and sds objects.

I don't know if it's specific to the meshes, the objects types, the materials, the textures used or a combination of all of these, but unfortunately I don't have the time to test all the scenarios nor the dailybuild. I'm rather thinking of going back to v8 where IR is less prone to crash while waiting for a fix.

"Had to quit and restart C4D at least ten times today"

if you mean IPR instability, here r25 and v9 win10,
 I and others also reported this already, i already did send also reports with crash dumnps etc (daily 10 didnt change any):

https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=38371.0


Yep IPR instability exactly. Did you notice any pattern in the way IR freezes / crash ? Does it happen in all your scenes ?

2022-11-22, 13:28:06
Reply #4

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3874
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, can you share a short vid of this happening? I tried to recreate it here but failed. Thx :)

Are you able to test this with Corona 10 daily and let me know if the issue persists?
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=38328.0

(Internal ID=1010200894)

Hey Bengamin, I've sent you a DM with some screen recording.

Indeed in a new scene, Corona doesn't freeze when I drag-copy objects and lights, no matter how hard I try it's rock solid. However it freezes in no time when I do the same on a real objects hierarchy with textured null, mesh and sds objects.

I don't know if it's specific to the meshes, the objects types, the materials, the textures used or a combination of all of these, but unfortunately I don't have the time to test all the scenarios nor the dailybuild. I'm rather thinking of going back to v8 where IR is less prone to crash while waiting for a fix.

"Had to quit and restart C4D at least ten times today"

if you mean IPR instability, here r25 and v9 win10,
 I and others also reported this already, i already did send also reports with crash dumnps etc (daily 10 didnt change any):

https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=38371.0


Yep IPR instability exactly. Did you notice any pattern in the way IR freezes / crash ? Does it happen in all your scenes ?

Okay great, I'll add them to our internal bug report for review. Many thanks!
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2022-11-22, 17:10:10
Reply #5

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 530
    • View Profile
once again, as this seem all the same problem, to specify it more:

in my experience since weeks, it is in special when i copy a corona light (or cam, or instance , or other generator object) and then move it while ipr is on,
almost in 100% of the cases i get a crash due Corona render, and c4dfreezes (i need for force quit it).

as examples:

copy light, change value or move it-->> crash
copy camera, move it--> crash
copy instance, move it--> crash

copy in c4d we do mostly via ctrl-drag direct in editor.

it doesnt happen in small scenes, but in any realistic production normal arch scene we have here, on any PC, and seems quite reproducible.
alone today like 15 crashes so far, i really hope this gets high priority as fix
« Last Edit: 2022-11-22, 21:24:29 by Stefan-L »

2022-11-22, 17:54:56
Reply #6

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 152
    • View Profile
once again, as this seem all the same problem, to specify it more:

in my experience since weeks, it is in special when i copy a corona light (or cam, or instance , or other generator object) and then move it while ipr is on,
almost in 100% of the cases i get a crash due Corona render, and c4dfreezes (i need for force quit it).

it doesnt happen in small scenes, but in any realistic production normal arch scene we have here, on any PC, and seems quite reproducible.
alone today like 15 crashes so far

Thanks for the explanation, it's exactly what happens on my side too, so there must be some sort of regression in the Corona plugin. I'm keeping my fingers crossed for a hotfix.