Author Topic: Slicer  (Read 2248 times)

2021-12-21, 13:02:26

Mac_Mac

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
The new Slicer material is really cool!
In combination with Round Edges gives amazing effects and works damn fast in IPR (even when I used volume builder).
Good job! Thank you guys!

2021-12-21, 13:46:06
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2476
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Thanks for the feedback, it's appreciated. :)
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2021-12-21, 16:09:01
Reply #2

Core2000

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 107
    • View Profile
Oh yeah the slicer is amazing. Really fast and great for hardsurface modelling.

Doesn't work with cloner and instances right now. I think we need also more texture control for caps in future

2021-12-21, 22:06:16
Reply #3

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
yes instances (and render instance) support would be VERY helpful, it is a great tool!

2021-12-22, 13:12:12
Reply #4

Mac_Mac

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
Well...Mograph Cloner works fine for me.

2021-12-22, 16:27:28
Reply #5

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
indeed in a new try the new build does instances and render instances here too:)
« Last Edit: 2021-12-22, 16:47:48 by lllab »

2021-12-23, 00:20:46
Reply #6

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 562
    • View Profile
I haven't tried the Slicer thing yet. So it does a Boole function, but give the geometry a solid face and a material?

OK so I'm right about what it does. Just did a test. Curious what else it can do, as I can get the same result using C4D's existing Boole function?
« Last Edit: 2021-12-23, 01:52:34 by BigAl3D »

2021-12-23, 14:39:48
Reply #7

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
it is the same as the vray slicet tool we had in 3.x, it can do  A-B bools in render time (fast and no artifacts in polygons)
AND it can cut renderinsatnces, something the bool cant do.

i use it to cut grass, floors etc or to do fast sections renderings

2021-12-23, 15:15:03
Reply #8

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 562
    • View Profile
Nice. Good to know.

2021-12-23, 18:42:01
Reply #9

andeltoz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
sorry for the stupid question: how do you use the slicer material?

2021-12-23, 19:18:17
Reply #10

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 562
    • View Profile
Create new Corona material and choose Slicer. You will see a slot to choose what material you will see in the sliced parts of your model. Apply this material to an object you want to use to be the source of your cut. This object will NOT be seen, but you will see that material inside the cut. If you are familiar with the Boole function, it works the same. "I want to see Object A minus Object B"

You will also see an area where you can drag objects that are getting sliced, but you do NOT want them to be affected. In my example above, the Sphere I used to cut that slice, was also cutting innto the floor so I dragged the floor into this area to fix that problem.

2021-12-27, 22:51:19
Reply #11

ozankar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
It's already perfect. Thank you very much.

As you can see at the test render, the sun lights enters directly and the shadows are also sliced. It would be great to choose if it affects the lights or not.

2021-12-29, 13:52:25
Reply #12

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 267
    • View Profile
maybe try a ray switch material with it (slicer in direct visible slot),
this probably should get the light untouched (in most cases at least, not if you cut away a part with a window opening)

other than that, as option, keep 2 copied one cut one uncut and use the corona compositing tag

2021-12-29, 18:49:09
Reply #13

Mac_Mac

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 46
    • View Profile
It's already perfect. Thank you very much.

As you can see at the test render, the sun lights enters directly and the shadows are also sliced. It would be great to choose if it affects the lights or not.

I think Slicer works correctly. It would be odd to see the shadows from object you don't actually see...fe.: lamps, ceiling etc.
And the rooms probably will be whole dark.
If you take real object and cut it you will not see shadows from the parts taken off.
Beside, IMHO, the Slicer doesn't slice shadows, you just see shadows of the sliced objects.

2022-01-03, 15:47:39
Reply #14

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4431
    • View Profile
You can indeed use the rayswitcher if you want to cut something away but leave the interior lit as if it was not cut away (e.g. remove the roof from a building, but see the rooms lit as if the roof was still there). Slicer into direct visibility, nothing into the GI, and that should be it if I remember rightly.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us