Author Topic: Feature request: Undo applying material on object  (Read 3520 times)

2020-09-04, 12:11:19

Duc

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hi,

Sometimes we apply a material on certain object by mistake and we cannot recover the last material (Ctrl + Z doesn't work).
It's especially important in the case that the object has a ready-to-render material (for example: model of people).

So it would be great to add this feature: undoing of applying a material / restore the material of certain object.

Thank you,
Duc

2020-09-14, 11:26:05
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11300
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi, the issue sounds serious, so I would like to ask you some further questions to understand it better:
- Which version of 3ds Max and Corona are you using?
- How exactly are you assigning the incorrect material? Through the 3ds Max slate/compact editor? Or through the Corona Material Library?
- Do you know if it works differently in some other renderer? (V-Ray? Scanline?)
- What happens if you currently press Ctrl+Z in this situation? Does it undo some other operation, like the last time you moved an object, or maybe it just does nothing?

Please answer on the questions where you are able to and we will be happy to look into this further. Thanks in advance!
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2020-09-14, 11:43:14
Reply #2

Duc

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hi,

Thanks for your feedback.
Please find my answers below:

- Which version of 3ds Max and Corona are you using?
3ds Max 2021 and Corona 6
- How exactly are you assigning the incorrect material? Through the 3ds Max slate/compact editor? Or through the Corona Material Library?
Through Corona Material Library : right click _ Assign to selected objects
- Do you know if it works differently in some other renderer? (V-Ray? Scanline?)
I did not check this on other renderers
- What happens if you currently press Ctrl+Z in this situation? Does it undo some other operation, like the last time you moved an object, or maybe it just does nothing?
It just does nothing. And if you continue press Ctrl+Z, it undo the other operations, however the applied material does not change back to previous one.

Thank you.

2020-09-14, 11:46:01
Reply #3

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11300
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Thanks a lot, we will look into it and will return to you ASAP.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2020-09-14, 13:19:20
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11300
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Confirmed. It happens with right click > assign to selected, but does not happen when drag-and-dropping. The workaround is to use the latter method, however I can understand that it may be hard to change the habit.
Reporting to devs.

(Internal ID=256946629)
« Last Edit: 2020-09-14, 13:23:52 by maru »
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2020-09-14, 15:15:46
Reply #5

Duc

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Thank you for your prompt action. It’s greatly appreciated.

2020-09-24, 15:40:47
Reply #6

Duc

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
Hello Maru,

So, I would like to know if the Team will fix this on the next updates ?

Thank you.
Have a good day.

2020-09-24, 17:12:26
Reply #7

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11300
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hello Maru,

So, I would like to know if the Team will fix this on the next updates ?

Thank you.
Have a good day.

Sorry, but no specific news at this point. It is reported, acknowledged by the dev team, and marked as "high annoyance".
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2020-09-25, 10:14:25
Reply #8

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1503
    • View Profile


I always assumed this was a quirky max thing but glad to hear its not and is on your radar!

2022-01-14, 21:23:48
Reply #9

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9042
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
this is afaik not possible in 3ds Max :/
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2022-01-15, 01:35:16
Reply #10

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1503
    • View Profile
this is afaik not possible in 3ds Max :/

Given that theres slate 2.0 coming in the max beta perhaps its something that update might be able to pick up