Author Topic: v6.0 RC1 - Standalone doesn't support standard Bitmap  (Read 1429 times)

2020-08-07, 02:30:51

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1570
    • View Profile
    • www.francescolegrenzi.com
Hello,

as in the title, Standalone v6.0 RC1 doesn't support standard Bitmap.
If I enable the "Always use standalone maps" parameter, I'm able to see the Bitmap in the VFB.

Is it a bug or what?

EDIT: Ok, I see the "problem". It's the same issued we had here:

https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=29992.0

In short, when I run the Standalone v6.0 RC1 , I wasn't able to see the text "Unsupported 3dsmax map : Bitmap" text because I changed the Exposure parameter.
Anyway, why is Bitmap no longer supported now?

Also, from what I saw, only a few Color Correction parameters are supported with Standalone, even if you wrote in the RC1 Change log:
"Added standalone export support for 3ds Max ColorCorrect map"
Do I miss something?



« Last Edit: 2020-08-07, 03:11:25 by cecofuli »

2020-08-07, 10:09:34
Reply #1

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 954
    • View Profile
Hi,

In short, this is working already in our internal builds and should be included in RC2.

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-08-07, 12:20:04
Reply #2

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1570
    • View Profile
    • www.francescolegrenzi.com
Hi Roman,

that's nice =)
did you fix also the exposure bug?

2020-08-07, 14:26:24
Reply #3

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 954
    • View Profile
Hi,

I couldn't reproduce the exposure bug in the latest build with the unsupported material message for the v-ray material and missing object error in the distance map.

Cheers,

Rowan

EDIT: I should have been clearer, this is fixed in our latest internal build and should be included in RC2

« Last Edit: 2020-08-07, 15:46:49 by rowmanns »
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-08-07, 15:37:11
Reply #4

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1570
    • View Profile
    • www.francescolegrenzi.com
Hi Rowan,

I never spoke about " the v-ray material".
And, in v6.0 RC1, the CoronaDistance map warning message error is fixed.

By the way, try these steps:

(1) open the attached scene and render it in 3ds Max (v6.0 RC1). Everything is fine.
(2) Now export the scene and render with the Standalone version.
(3) We can see the red warning of the CoronaDistance (nice fix), but the plane is "white" (no Bitmap or warning message).
(4) In 3ds max, change the Exposure (EV) parameter from -4.0 to 0.0.
(5) Export again and render with the Standalone.
(6) Now you are able to barely read the message : " Unsupported 3ds max Bitmap map", with the text is overexposed (see my previous image).

In conclusion, in this new message there is the same problem we had with the CoronaDistance warning message.


2020-08-07, 17:44:31
Reply #5

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10388
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2020-08-10, 10:07:44
Reply #6

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 954
    • View Profile
Reproduced the second issue with the unsupported 3ds max maps message being affected by tonemapping.

(Internal ID=546668613)
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!