Author Topic: Corona 5 on osx 5 times slower than Corona 4  (Read 1721 times)

2020-01-11, 23:47:44

wsiew

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hi,
i'm using Corona 5 since some days. But scenes i rendered with Corona 4 in 2 hours are needing with the same settings in Corona 5 11 hours.
How did i test it: I render a scene in Corona 4 (with take manager, Light Mix …) and then i open the same scene with the same settings in Corona 5. I confirm the Message „NEW 2.5D displacement“ with swith to 2.5D. Then i render the scene without any changes.

The Stats for my Corona 4 VFB show: Primitives: 21814763 Primitives inst.:  377 Geometry groups: 1917
After 2:03:18 it reaches Noise level 5% and with Denoisng (0:04:21) it looks very clear and fine.

The Stats for my Corona 5 VFB show: Primitives: 67636050 Primitives inst.: 1177 Geometry groups: 1917
After 1:47:559 it reaches Noise level 12.04% and says Estimated remaining in 7:17:14
Two days before i tried it also and it has needing about 11 hours for Noise level 5%

The Stats for my Corona 5 VFB show: Primitives: 41622850 Primitives inst.: 733 Geometry groups: 1917
After 0:27:14 it reaches Noise level 22.00% and says Estimated remaining in 6:31:00

My Configuration: Mac Pro 12 Core (late 2012), High Sierra (12.13.6), C4D R19

Wolfgang
« Last Edit: 2020-01-11, 23:52:32 by wsiew »

2020-01-12, 11:02:10
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6665
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
1,4 M rays/s in Corona 4 vs 0,28 M rays/s in Corona 5 - here's your 5 times difference. I suspect that scene in V5 does not fit into the RAM. Do you get low memory warning? Could you try to render the scene in V5 without switching 2.5D displacement option on?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2020-01-12, 19:50:05
Reply #2

wsiew

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hi Romulus,
there was no memory warning. Now i tried it without 2.5D Displacement. But it's almost the same result: After 2.08 hours render time 11% Noise and the Estimated remaining was 7.30 hours (before i stopped the rendering).
And also in this test: No problem with a memory warning. I attach the the RAM-Usage window of my system. There you can see: More than enough free memory (about 25 GB).
I was hoping it might be a special problem just with this scene. But the problem also exists in other scenes (i tested small other scenes): Corona V4 4.17 minutes, Corona V5 5.00 minutes, Corona V5 without 2.5D Displacement 5.12 minutes
I don‘t know if the problem is the MacPro (2012, 2 x 6 Core 3,45 GHZ), the mac OS (High Sierra 10.13.6), the C4D (R19) version or what else.
At the moment I only know that Corona V4 works well and I'm thinking about downgrading again to this version.
But i hope that there is anyone who can solve this problem ;-).

How can i go back to Corona 4? Shall i just start the installer?

2020-01-13, 12:58:23
Reply #3

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hello, Wolfgang!

This is really weird and we haven't experienced such a huge slowdown ourselves. If anything, Corona 5 should be slightly faster, not slower! Is there any chance you would share the problematic scene with us? You can use the uploader that is in my signature below this post.

2020-01-14, 14:18:06
Reply #4

wsiew

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hello Houska
thank you for your offer, but first i have to ask my client if i may send the data.
Can I tell him that the data will be kept confidential?
Best regards Wolfgang

2020-01-14, 15:31:50
Reply #5

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hello Houska
thank you for your offer, but first i have to ask my client if i may send the data.
Can I tell him that the data will be kept confidential?
Best regards Wolfgang

Yes, it will be completely confidential and if you request it, we can immediately delete the scene once we debug the issue.

2020-01-14, 15:33:21
Reply #6

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Another option is sending just a portion of the scene that will still exhibit the same problem. Maybe a part of the scene or slightly modified scene might be less problematic?

2020-02-03, 11:59:19
Reply #7

wsiew

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hello, Houska,
I've now had time to deal with the problem again.
In fact, it seems to concern only this file.
I retested the whole thing with C4D R20. It is much faster than R19 (3:07:07) but still much slower than R19 Corona 4 (2:08:49).
I have uploaded the file (by Dropbox, Name: Analyse_NN_BER_L.zip). There is also a folder with ScreenShots. There you can see how long the renderings with the different versions took me.
And maybe you have some tips to optimize the scene ;-)
Best regards
Wolfgang

2020-02-03, 19:54:00
Reply #8

wsiew

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hello Houska,
just for information. IIn this moment i tried the scene with Corona 5 hotfix 2 (C4D R19). But on my Machine/Configuration its the same very slow result:

2020-02-03, 20:05:42
Reply #9

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Thanks for the file upload, Wolfgang! We will check it out and let you know what we found out.