Author Topic: romullus wips  (Read 150774 times)

2014-07-21, 23:12:35
Reply #90

CiroC

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Are you using any kind of translucency for the leaves?

2014-07-21, 23:50:09
Reply #91

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-07-22, 15:04:26
Reply #92

CiroC

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Do you use a single texture map or falloff map with a bright and dark textures? Thanks

2014-07-22, 15:08:47
Reply #93

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Single texture.
I wonder what would be benefit of falloff map? Can you show some example?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-07-22, 16:34:45
Reply #94

CiroC

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Single texture.
I wonder what would be benefit of falloff map? Can you show some example?

I saw this in the Lamp shader (CML's website), but I will give a try with my scene and share it here.

2014-07-26, 16:33:04
Reply #95

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Yet another procedural material. This time i didn't managed to go fully procedural, though. There's very simple bitmap gradient, used as normal map, but for some strange reason i can't recreate it reliably as procedural map.

Still wip.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-07-26, 17:42:38
Reply #96

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10293
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2014-07-26, 20:29:30
Reply #97

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I didn't. Managed to recreate it with composite, gradient ramp and CoronaSolidTex woodoo. Not 100% identical, but i like output even more than bitmap gives.

More experiments on the way! :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-07-27, 14:13:39
Reply #98

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Struggling to create oil in-between cable strands. To manage refractive/transparent materials in blend, is very frustrating and very expensive too :/

Material is fully procedural still, although i have to use bercon noise, because native noise is just too regular.
« Last Edit: 2014-07-27, 18:36:57 by romullus »
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-07-30, 20:54:27
Reply #99

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4133
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Quite fantastic :- ) Would love to know how to create these, no patience, and too dumb.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2014-07-31, 00:44:59
Reply #100

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Sure, i'll make tutorial about it, when i'll have more free time. But basically it's not that different from mental ray version, for which i made tutorial couple years ago:


I don't want to share material itself, just because, usually people learn much better, when they have to make things by themselves :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-07-31, 19:56:43
Reply #101

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
How much is to much polys for single tree? I took ATree3d script and some quick preset from 3dtreexchange.net. Tweaked and test rendered it, then tweaked more, then rendered again and so on and so on... until i ended up with whooping 14M poly tree. I'm realizing, that it's overkill, because proxy file alone is weighting almost 500MB. Now i have to find a way to optimize it without crunching to much details :/

I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-07-31, 20:04:12
Reply #102

Nekrobul

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 1025
    • View Profile
How much is to much polys for single tree? I took ATree3d script and some quick preset from 3dtreexchange.net. Tweaked and test rendered it, then tweaked more, then rendered again and so on and so on... until i ended up with whooping 14M poly tree. I'm realizing, that it's overkill, because proxy file alone is weighting almost 500MB. Now i have to find a way to optimize it without crunching to much details :/

Geometrical leafs?
---------------------------------------------------------------
https://www.blackbellstudio.com/
https://www.behance.net/blackbell3d
CEO at "Blackbell Studio"

2014-07-31, 20:04:42
Reply #103

CiroC

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
How much is to much polys for single tree? I took ATree3d script and some quick preset from 3dtreexchange.net. Tweaked and test rendered it, then tweaked more, then rendered again and so on and so on... until i ended up with whooping 14M poly tree. I'm realizing, that it's overkill, because proxy file alone is weighting almost 500MB. Now i have to find a way to optimize it without crunching to much details :/

I definitely need to take some time and learn how to use it. Do you find difficult reproduce tree species? For example, if you want a Quercus it is difficult to create this tree?

2014-07-31, 20:22:20
Reply #104

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Geometrical leafs?
Yes. Single leave has 37 tris. Initially it was even more heavy, but i had to take measures, as soon as i generated 30M tree :]

I definitely need to take some time and learn how to use it. Do you find difficult reproduce tree species? For example, if you want a Quercus it is difficult to create this tree?
It's my first day, when i decided to dwelve deeper into this plugin. I can't create exact tree that i want, yet. But script itself is quite powerful and flexible, although quite unstable. You should see what hrisek is able to do with it. Just amazing.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures