Author Topic: romullus wips  (Read 150793 times)

2014-07-31, 20:30:24
Reply #105

DeadClown

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1445
    • View Profile
    • racoon-artworks
If you want to do a lot of plant modelling I'd recommend trying GrowFX, I do everything with it and I love it. Imho it's totally worth the money ;)
Any sufficiently advanced bug is indistinguishable from a feature.

2014-07-31, 20:38:11
Reply #106

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I'd love to, but i can't afford it, unfortunately. I'll probably try demo sometime.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-07-31, 22:06:43
Reply #107

Adanmq

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
    • 3D Collective
I´m using GrowFx also. Usually if i try to make the most realistic tree the polycount sometimes go over 25mill for a simple 12mts Betula tree, but the scene becomes a nightmare. I think for most of the cases, 1-2mill per tree sould be ok for medium/far range. You can use more complex ones for closeups.


2014-07-31, 22:15:31
Reply #108

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4134
    • View Profile
    • studio website
I think it's not overkill. If you aim at single-mesh tree, 20milion for broad-leaf tree where you use atleast 9-12 polies for leaf + opacity map for detail (always both) is just fine.
The few better trees I got hold on, where those (4-5) from Bertrand which he made with GrowFx, they were around 3-to-4 milion poly, had around 4-6 polies (+ opacity) and it shown...they were rather crude even in medium distance.

I then once tried to go for more realistic maple, of around 20meter height, with GrowFx, and ended at about 80mil. polies, + displaced trunk. Still, wasn't so perfect I wished..very far from.

I really liked the idea Alex Roman writes in his book, he made instance not of whole single mesh tree, but parts of it (few branches), which were extremely detailed. If he did it as single mesh, I believe those trees would have been quite humungous,
but as instanced branches it was managable, and of course, those are one of the best trees out there.

(but then again, Alessandro Prodan did extremely convincing ones with faaar fewer polies with Maya, I don't know how did it so well...)

I btw totally hate GrowFx, it's so far from what Tree generator 'should' look like (realistic algorithmic L-system generation and "eye-balling" with curves), every single tree I have seen looks totally wrong when it comes to nature mimicking and realism.
But it's the only plugin which can generate high quality single mesh body (for future sculpting/displacing). It's one-eyed captain among poor blind competitors. Maybe one day....
« Last Edit: 2014-07-31, 22:20:16 by Juraj_Talcik »
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2014-07-31, 23:53:40
Reply #109

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Wow, obviously my quality standarts are much lower than yours :]

Anyway, decided to rework this tree from scratch and reached more manageable polycount. Version without leaves, to me looks good already. I will try to play with leaves later.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-08-01, 00:17:46
Reply #110

CiroC

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Any opinion regarding Speedtree cinema?

2014-08-01, 00:26:38
Reply #111

Nekrobul

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 1025
    • View Profile
Geometrical leafs?
Yes. Single leave has 37 tris. Initially it was even more heavy, but i had to take measures, as soon as i generated 30M tree :]

I definitely need to take some time and learn how to use it. Do you find difficult reproduce tree species? For example, if you want a Quercus it is difficult to create this tree?
It's my first day, when i decided to dwelve deeper into this plugin. I can't create exact tree that i want, yet. But script itself is quite powerful and flexible, although quite unstable. You should see what hrisek is able to do with it. Just amazing.

I wish i culd have time to experementate with geometrical vegetation too)) i am already getting sik from fixing evermotions trees opacity maps wich are usualy oversised and not properly balanced in photoshop to have complete black and white.
---------------------------------------------------------------
https://www.blackbellstudio.com/
https://www.behance.net/blackbell3d
CEO at "Blackbell Studio"

2014-08-01, 08:59:55
Reply #112

CiroC

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 506
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio
Not to mention that the famous volume 58 is totally wrong regarding leafs, trees sizes and bark's colour.

2014-08-01, 10:01:44
Reply #113

Stanislav_But

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 525
    • View Profile
    • https://www.behance.net/archdizs

2014-08-02, 14:10:16
Reply #114

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Curious, is this a bug or a feature? :]

« Last Edit: 2014-08-02, 14:26:18 by romullus »
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-08-02, 15:12:07
Reply #115

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10295
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2014-08-02, 15:24:44
Reply #116

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Big secret. It's round corners, just don't tell anyone :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-08-02, 15:40:15
Reply #117

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10295
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
So I guess it's a feature. But I wonder if it also behaves like this in other renderers.

2014-08-02, 17:01:39
Reply #118

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6701
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Just checked with mental ray - nothing unusual.
Meanwhile in Coronaland:
Ok, i admit, i'm stressing it, but still...
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures