Author Topic: Corona Renderer 4 for Cinema 4D daily build  (Read 16039 times)

2019-05-03, 21:47:47
Reply #105

Frankco

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Thank you Houska/Corona team, It seems the freeze on material creating/editing is fixed on my machine.

2019-05-04, 00:01:28
Reply #106

Designerman77

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 503
    • View Profile
Hi Houska,

one more feedback about 4 Beta.

It really seems to calculate a different lighting when HDR is used.

Please have a look at a comparison between Core 1.7 Beta and Core 4 Beta
The Core 4 calculates a much "colder" light in exactly the same scene with exactly the same camera settings and the same HDR.

Any suggestion, how to get the same result like in Core 1.7 - ?
Core 1.7 Beta had a really beautiful, natural and warm light / GI calculation from HDRs.


Thanks for suggestions.

2019-05-06, 21:40:25
Reply #107

shane_w

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
I haven't had much time to play but the material freezing seems to be completely gone!

Thanks,

-Shane

2019-05-06, 22:07:17
Reply #108

andeltoz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Hi everyone.
can you explain me how to use the new caustics?
Thank you

2019-05-07, 03:19:58
Reply #109

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3329
    • View Profile
There are no parameters, so this article for Max has all the info in it:
https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000056738

Basically, just check the Fast caustics checkbox, and reflective caustics are added for the whole scene. Then for materials that need refractive caustics, just enable the Caustics checkbox under Refraction in that material.

One thing to note, please ensure that "Render Perfect" is checked for any Corona Lights which are set to Sphere (actually, make sure of that anyway, whether you are using caustics or not).

2019-05-07, 03:32:44
Reply #110

shane_w

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Hi Tom, can you explain the logic behind the "render perfect" check box in the light settings?  Why use it and why you wouldn't?

Thanks,

-Shane

2019-05-07, 09:39:24
Reply #111

houska

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1513
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hi Tom, can you explain the logic behind the "render perfect" check box in the light settings?  Why use it and why you wouldn't?

Using and sampling a sphere light in pathtracer is way more effective than using a tesselated geometrical light.

2019-05-07, 12:04:36
Reply #112

Exactly

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Some quick testing with cloners and instance modes:

Cloner instance mode=Instance
Cloned Object=Corona Lights (IES & non IES)
Works in IR
Works in PV/VFB

Cloned Object=Primative
Works in IR
Works in PV/VFB


Cloner instance mode=Render Instance
Cloned Object=Corona Lights (IES & non IES)
Works in IR
Does Not Works in PV/VFB (cloned lights don't show)

Cloned Object=Primative
Works in IR
Works in PV/VFB


Cloner instance mode=Multi Instance
Cloned Object=Corona Lights (IES & non IES)
Does Not Work in IR
Does Not Work in PV/VFB (no lights show at all)

Cloned Object=Primative
Does Not Work in IR
Works (yes, works!) in PV/VFB



OSX 10:13:6
R20.059

Hi Guys,

Do you know if any of the above issues got fixed in this latest build? The killer for me is the cloner in render instance mode and how cloned lights do not show in the PV/VFB
The change log does not mention anything regarding cloners.

Thanks

2019-05-07, 17:25:36
Reply #113

andeltoz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
There are no parameters, so this article for Max has all the info in it:
https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000056738

Basically, just check the Fast caustics checkbox, and reflective caustics are added for the whole scene. Then for materials that need refractive caustics, just enable the Caustics checkbox under Refraction in that material.

One thing to note, please ensure that "Render Perfect" is checked for any Corona Lights which are set to Sphere (actually, make sure of that anyway, whether you are using caustics or not).

Hi Tom,
you have been very clear. Thank you

2019-05-08, 17:19:00
Reply #114

jamieirvin

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 65
    • View Profile
    • Infinite3D
Hi guys,

I have just updated to the latest daily build and Team Render stopped behaving. 

Since we started using the V4 dailies we have seen machines drop off the Team Render list randomly.  The console on said machines display the error: "TR clients disconnects -
Frame synchronization failed: Communication Error"

It was suggested on another thread to use 'Arbitrated (experimental)' Team Render setting.  This solved the issue with the nodes dropping.  However, it created a new issue.  We then found that about 40% of the machines (all identical) wouldn't STOP rendering and their render client required restarting every time.   With each render teat it would be different machines that would 'stick'.

This is when I decided to install the latest daily. After doing so team Render (Arbitrated mode) no longer works at all.  The render clients' console says they are picking up the job and rendering passes but there is no output on the local machine's picture viewer and it displays the following:  "Team Rendering pass 0/0 on 0 nodes. 

So now I am a bit stuck and considering rolling back to V3 as Team Render was considerably more stable then.

Anyone else had similar?

NB:  All machines are MacOS 10.13.6 running C4D R20.
Core 3 HF2 - C4D R19 - OSX 10.13.2 - 64GB RAM

2019-05-10, 06:13:17
Reply #115

tuami

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 68
    • View Profile
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=24679.0

Hey corona team, i use the latest daily build. And found this strange bug with node editor

2019-05-10, 09:57:41
Reply #116

minimaldesign - Blaž

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • minimaldesign
I think the latest (Daily Build 2019-05-03) is a lot slower in comparison with (Daily Build 2019-04-16)....or it's just me :)

2019-05-10, 17:04:30
Reply #117

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1754
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
I think the latest (Daily Build 2019-05-03) is a lot slower in comparison with (Daily Build 2019-04-16)....or it's just me :)

Can you do some tests with the same scene in both versions to confirm this?

2019-05-10, 18:17:47
Reply #118

minimaldesign - Blaž

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
    • minimaldesign
I don't have (Daily Build 2019-04-16) anymore on PC.
Old versions ((Daily Build 2019-04-16)) is no longer available (Changes in Corona Renderer 4 for Cinema 4D (Daily Build 2019-04-16) (https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1--L2vBzH3sFxSfdglqlHoxF9NCS2W2xU) ...so I can't do any test :(

P.S. I found it ... I overlooked the folder up! I'm so ... :D

P.s.2: It looks like there is something wrong with our .STEP file so we have long render times or it's some of metal material...hmm
Anyway..10h for 3500pix render noise level 3 (just 3d model + hdri, without floor, empty scene) is insane?

« Last Edit: 2019-05-13, 13:42:01 by minimaldesign - Blaž »

2019-05-13, 16:56:30
Reply #119

illbru

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
Does Beta 4 has an improved bump calculation, official v3 has a huge problem with greyscale bump maps.