Author Topic: Animate Corona Sun Object  (Read 3621 times)

2017-06-27, 21:36:19

Behrendt

• Active Users
  • I'm a freelance 3D Artist from Cologne/Germany
    • View Profile
    • My online portfolio
Hi guys,

maybe again more kind of a workflow hickup than a real bug - but I was working on scene with various different cameras, for which I have to animate the sun angle in the scene sometimes. After rendering I saw that the sun animation wasn't working properly. This is because the Corona Sun object has separate/redundant attributes for Sun rotation in itself and those values seem to overwrite the global position & roation of the object itself. I feel this is a bit complicated and could be really annoying when you need to animate the sun in more complex scenario.

Any thoughts?

Cheers

2017-06-27, 23:15:15
Reply #1

Cinemike

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Have you tried to apply a C4D sun tag and animate the values in there?

2017-06-28, 10:35:22
Reply #2

houska

• Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • Cestmir Houska
    • View Profile
Hi guys,

maybe again more kind of a workflow hickup than a real bug - but I was working on scene with various different cameras, for which I have to animate the sun angle in the scene sometimes. After rendering I saw that the sun animation wasn't working properly. This is because the Corona Sun object has separate/redundant attributes for Sun rotation in itself and those values seem to overwrite the global position & roation of the object itself. I feel this is a bit complicated and could be really annoying when you need to animate the sun in more complex scenario.

Any thoughts?

Cheers

I don't know. For me it seems pretty intuitive, even if some parameters in the object are redundant. Of course, if you animate two conflicting parameters, that could make the sun go crazy. Is this what you encountered?

2017-06-28, 12:42:27
Reply #3

Behrendt

• Active Users
  • I'm a freelance 3D Artist from Cologne/Germany