Author Topic: Batch Editing Images with Corona Image Editor  (Read 84344 times)

2017-06-09, 10:04:59

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10958
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
By popular demand, we have just released a script which allows you to batch edit CXR images with the Corona Image Editor.
Example use: save 100 frames of an animation in .cxr format, perform specific post processing operations and denoising on all of them, and output them in .png format.

The script comes with a help file and an example CXR, which you can experiment with.

The script can be downloaded here: [ LINK ]

Here is also a general guide on the CIE: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000030886

Requirements:
-Corona Image Editor installed
-Active Corona Renderer license

2017-06-09, 14:32:53
Reply #1

pdaniun

  • Primary Certified Instructor
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 24
    • View Profile
And now... Photoshop plugin! :-) Yes?

2017-06-09, 15:45:18
Reply #2

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1580
    • View Profile
    • www.francescolegrenzi.com
NOt bad. Buut, I hope, in some integration inside the CIE in the next Corona release.  Batch  isn't very friendly.

2017-06-10, 14:01:21
Reply #3

tallbox

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 132
  • George Nicola
    • View Profile
    • Architectural Visualizations | TALLBOX
Nice.
Architectural Visualizations / Deep work practitioner
https://www.tallboxdesign.com

2017-06-16, 02:31:08
Reply #4

wade

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
Hi,

I have encountered a problem with the script.

Basically, I do not have the CoronaImageCMD.exe. I have the CoronaImage.exe but not the command line version.
Should this be part of the standard install?

Corona version: 1.6
Full-speed, Non-debug, MaxSDK 2015
Build timestamp: Apr 24 2017 11:38:13
Defines: Wide RGB

2017-06-16, 02:42:20
Reply #5

wade

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 32
    • View Profile
My apologies! Seems I need Corona 1.6 Hotfix 1!

Thanks

2017-06-16, 08:05:24
Reply #6

mike288

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Yes, the command-line version of the editor has been added in the 1.6.1 hotfix version.
Corona Scatter developer | In case of crash, please send minidump | Private uploader: https://corona-renderer.com/upload

2017-08-23, 00:28:04
Reply #7

grasshopper

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
Very nice feature.....Thanks

2017-08-23, 17:30:54
Reply #8

hkezer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • kezerco
    • View Profile
I have a question actually. Yesterday we had a little job in rush, (it was only 30 seconds). And we needed denoise applied, so we sent it to the renderfarm and saved cxr. Then after downloading all files, I ran the script. The problem is it was slower than doing by hand. And as the job was in a little rush, opened and applied the pp file and saved all by hand since it was almost twice as fast as the script. That computer is i7-7700 32RAM. so I do not think that was the issue. Is there any way to solve this?

By popular demand, we have just released a script which allows you to batch edit CXR images with the Corona Image Editor.
Example use: save 100 frames of an animation in .cxr format, perform specific post processing operations and denoising on all of them, and output them in .png format.

The script comes with a help file and an example CXR, which you can experiment with.

The script can be downloaded here: [ LINK ]

Here is also a general guide on the CIE: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/12000030886

Requirements:
-Corona Image Editor installed
-Active Corona Renderer license
http://kezer.co

co-founder @ ivaBOX

2017-08-23, 22:25:38
Reply #9

mike288

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Hi, by "doing by hand" you mean opening the image in CIE and denoising it there? Are you denoising all elements, or just some selected ones? Please, could you share the image (and the postprocessing conf file) so I can inspect what is going on? You can use our private uploader for that: https://corona-renderer.com/upload.
« Last Edit: 2017-08-23, 22:48:54 by mike288 »
Corona Scatter developer | In case of crash, please send minidump | Private uploader: https://corona-renderer.com/upload

2017-08-24, 11:27:23
Reply #10

hkezer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • kezerco
    • View Profile
uploaded and i guess denoise is already applied. Rebusfarm told me that to use denoise I need to save it as cxr, thats why its like that. otherwise i could have sent it as it meant to be.

And yes you got it right, it was faster for me to opening by hand, cliking load and selecting the file, then saving as png. :)
« Last Edit: 2017-08-24, 11:43:04 by hkezer »
http://kezer.co

co-founder @ ivaBOX

2017-08-24, 14:07:50
Reply #11

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4040
    • View Profile
uploaded and i guess denoise is already applied. Rebusfarm told me that to use denoise I need to save it as cxr, thats why its like that. otherwise i could have sent it as it meant to be.

And yes you got it right, it was faster for me to opening by hand, cliking load and selecting the file, then saving as png. :)

Your set of steps did not include "Run denoising"... you did do that in the CIE?

2017-08-24, 14:16:17
Reply #12

hkezer

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 34
  • kezerco
    • View Profile
The result i see on the image editor is sufficient enough. But the problem is, opening it by hand, then clicking load, selecting the file, then saving is faster than using the script. That is weird
http://kezer.co

co-founder @ ivaBOX

2017-08-24, 14:51:27
Reply #13

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4040
    • View Profile
Well, if you are asking the script to run denoising, it will take longer :) Opening the image in the CIE with Denoise data that was saved for later does no denoising at all, you just have the regular non-Denoised image until you explicitly run the calculations based on the saved data. That is definitely the time consuming part, and if the scripting you are using invokes denoising, that is why running the script takes significantly longer, as the denoising is the time intensive part.

If you are just saving from the CIE without running denoising, that means you aren't using it at all and could have submitted the job to the render farm going straight to PNG (at least as far as the denoising is concerned, depends on whether you are adjusting any other post process things like tone mapping etc differently than what was set in the VFB, though it doesn't sound like it).

2017-08-26, 16:36:22
Reply #14

mike288

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
I have inspected the provided CXR and conf:
  • the image contains only beauty
  • it is already denoised and the conf has denoising turned off, so the command-line editor version (CLI) running behind the batch script is not performing any denoising
  • the conf switches bloom and glare on, hence the effects has to be computed both in CLI (automatically) and GUI (after manual loading the conf)

I see nothing wrong. The CLI version (and hence the batch script) is pretty swift on my machine. It takes about 3 seconds to process it. I doubt that I would be able to do it faster in GUI by hand.

I have also checked CLI executable what it truly does for that file. Everything seemed OK.

Is it slower every time? Even on different machines? What corona version do you use?
Corona Scatter developer | In case of crash, please send minidump | Private uploader: https://corona-renderer.com/upload