Author Topic: Corona Image Editor - output gamma?  (Read 2230 times)

2017-06-06, 20:54:33

Jens

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Ikonoform
I saved my output from max to CXR (to play with lightmix) and gamma was set to 2.2. Looks great in the Corona Image Editor, but when I save from the editor to .exr I don't get the option to burn in the same gamma. So when I open the .exr file in PS it's way too dark (looking like gamme of 1). I could just tweak it in PS, but I'm importing several layers and it's just a pain when everything was looking fine in CIE.

I'm probably doing something wrong, please enlighten me :)
My small 3D model shop: www.ikonoform.com/shop
My arch viz blog: www.ikonoform.com/blog

2017-06-07, 10:33:17
Reply #1

gorkemerol

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
What is the value of override ? If your Gamma value is 2,2 you should select override button and change the value as 2,2 while you are saving the final image. Can u try to change the value please?

2017-06-07, 13:24:29
Reply #2

Jens

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Ikonoform
What is the value of override ? If your Gamma value is 2,2 you should select override button and change the value as 2,2 while you are saving the final image. Can u try to change the value please?

But there isn't any "gamma override button" in the standalone Corona Image Editor (CIE) as far as I can see. I guess I could just reload the CXR inside of max, but then it needs to denoise all the lightpasses again. This really should be possible with the CIE.
My small 3D model shop: www.ikonoform.com/shop
My arch viz blog: www.ikonoform.com/blog

2017-09-03, 18:30:41
Reply #3

Jens

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Ikonoform
Small bump, I forgot about this problem and here we are again. What am I doing wrong here?

When I send a job to my render node, I save my img output with a gamma overide of 2.2 and save as a .cexr

When I then load the .cexr on my workstation in the CIE everything looks great and I tweak the lightmix as I want. If I now save to jpg, bmp or png it burns in the gamma of 2.2 nicely, but I only get an 8bit image to play with in PS.

If I save as a normal .exr the gamma goes back to 1 and I have to retweak in PS. Is there a way to save the exr with a gammaoveride like from max?
My small 3D model shop: www.ikonoform.com/shop
My arch viz blog: www.ikonoform.com/blog

2017-09-03, 23:03:36
Reply #4

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1141
    • View Profile
Hi Jens. Haven't played much with cxr and CIE lately, so I may have missed some changes, but anyway... Why are you saving your cxr with gamma 2.2? Shouldn't it be saved with gamma 1?

2019-01-11, 02:53:19
Reply #5

PsychoBoyJack

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
i stumbled on the same problem

it seems that when i open the cxr the gamme is wrong . If in the lightmix panel i pu tanother value in the hdri then re enter the original value, then it becomes magically correct...perhaps itll help someone....