Author Topic: Google's new Guetzli .jpg compression - how to use it?  (Read 3388 times)

2017-03-25, 09:16:20

Jens

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Ikonoform
Hi guys

I noticed that Google has made some pretty big improvements to .jpg image compression and made it open source: https://github.com/google/guetzli

Now, not being at all comfortable with this stuff I wonder if any of you guys know how to put that code to use?

I tried searching for some small program or upload service like tinyjpg.com, but found nothing.
My small 3D model shop: www.ikonoform.com/shop
My arch viz blog: www.ikonoform.com/blog

2017-03-25, 15:25:25
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6666
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Quote
You should count on using about 1 minute of CPU per 1 MPix of input image.

Pfff...
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-03-25, 15:32:17
Reply #2

Juraj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 4116
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Quote
You should count on using about 1 minute of CPU per 1 MPix of input image.

Pfff...

:- D Wat. Is that true ? So it's like... 100 times slower than current algorithms ?
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2017-03-26, 12:30:08
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8922
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Quote
You should count on using about 1 minute of CPU per 1 MPix of input image.

Pfff...

:- D Wat. Is that true ? So it's like... 100 times slower than current algorithms ?
maybe they dont know what CPUs we have :D
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-03-26, 14:46:02
Reply #4

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6666
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Quote
You should count on using about 1 minute of CPU per 1 MPix of input image.

Pfff...

:- D Wat. Is that true ? So it's like... 100 times slower than current algorithms ?
maybe they dont know what CPUs we have :D
I don't know what CPUs you guys have, but i think i have exactly that CPU :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-03-26, 14:50:36
Reply #5

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8922
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
I am trying it and they were not lying about the processing times... 19 minutes and 4.5 GB ram later it is still running on 18MPix image...
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-03-26, 14:54:29
Reply #6

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6666
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Could you upload processed JPEG when it's finished. And original if possible. Very curious to see the difference :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-03-26, 16:08:25
Reply #7

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8922
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
already deleted them :/ but you can try it yourself ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-03-26, 16:58:47
Reply #8

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 6666
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Pfff... :]
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2017-03-26, 18:03:45
Reply #9

Jens

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Ikonoform
I am trying it and they were not lying about the processing times... 19 minutes and 4.5 GB ram later it is still running on 18MPix image...

Ouch! Think I'll give up on that one then.

Can I ask what you guys normally do to compress large images for web? Normally I do it manually through the "save for web" in PS or if I have a bunch, I drag 'n drop to tinyjpg.com

Not getting a satisfying results on this set of images though. I'm on like 0.5mb for a 2k jpg image for a full screen landingpage. Curious if any one is using some other compression method available?
My small 3D model shop: www.ikonoform.com/shop
My arch viz blog: www.ikonoform.com/blog

2017-03-27, 00:45:36
Reply #10

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8922
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
I am trying it and they were not lying about the processing times... 19 minutes and 4.5 GB ram later it is still running on 18MPix image...

Ouch! Think I'll give up on that one then.

Can I ask what you guys normally do to compress large images for web? Normally I do it manually through the "save for web" in PS or if I have a bunch, I drag 'n drop to tinyjpg.com

Not getting a satisfying results on this set of images though. I'm on like 0.5mb for a 2k jpg image for a full screen landingpage. Curious if any one is using some other compression method available?
I buy bigger web server from time to time... there is about 25GB of user-uploaded images on Corona forum currently ;)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2017-03-27, 22:38:32
Reply #11

Jens

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
    • Ikonoform
I am trying it and they were not lying about the processing times... 19 minutes and 4.5 GB ram later it is still running on 18MPix image...

Ouch! Think I'll give up on that one then.

Can I ask what you guys normally do to compress large images for web? Normally I do it manually through the "save for web" in PS or if I have a bunch, I drag 'n drop to tinyjpg.com

Not getting a satisfying results on this set of images though. I'm on like 0.5mb for a 2k jpg image for a full screen landingpage. Curious if any one is using some other compression method available?
I buy bigger web server from time to time... there is about 25GB of user-uploaded images on Corona forum currently ;)

hehe ouch! Server size isn't the issue in this case though. It's to keep the site loading times at a minimum :)
My small 3D model shop: www.ikonoform.com/shop
My arch viz blog: www.ikonoform.com/blog