Author Topic: RenderToTexture support  (Read 20321 times)

2013-03-20, 10:42:41

Kif

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Is it possible?

2013-06-25, 11:51:27
Reply #1

Oltskul

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 156
  • "Whoa, that is lot of boxes!" Adam West
    • View Profile
will render to texture be even possible in this type of render?
Corona is like some king of addictive game... "Just one... More... Render... Before... Then i will do something... Useful"

HALT!Ausnahmezeit

2013-06-25, 12:15:59
Reply #2

Tweekazoid

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 59
    • View Profile
    • personal CG and scripting stuff also few pictures
bump this ... I am interested also

2013-06-25, 14:12:43
Reply #3

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9042
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
do you have a use-case how it is used, what it has to produce?
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-06-25, 15:12:54
Reply #4

Oltskul

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 156
  • "Whoa, that is lot of boxes!" Adam West
    • View Profile
do you have a use-case how it is used, what it has to produce?

- "baking texture"
- making textures for lowpoly objects
- prerendering lights and shadows

In general it bakes various render elements (GI, DIFF, BEAUEAUATY, LIGHT, SHADOW) on UVW layout of selected object

and here is some basic tutorial with exaplme:
http://www.3dtotal.com/index_tutorial_detailed.php?id=529&catDisplay=1&roPos=1&page=1
« Last Edit: 2013-06-25, 15:28:26 by Oltskul »
Corona is like some king of addictive game... "Just one... More... Render... Before... Then i will do something... Useful"

HALT!Ausnahmezeit

2013-06-25, 16:53:15
Reply #5

cecofuli

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1580
    • View Profile
    • www.francescolegrenzi.com
Very important for gaming environment (UDK for example) for create a lightmap. UDK Lightmass is very poor

2013-08-20, 18:31:59
Reply #6

vicnaum

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 69
    • View Profile
Bumping this up. Great for fly-by's, if not much shiny objects in the scene - rendering one time to texture, baking GI, lighting, etc. Then just can render it to animation of any length with scan-line in near-realtime.

2013-08-20, 19:25:28
Reply #7

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11282
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
It is also useful if you simply want to bake a texture without switching to scanline, which would also require setting up a new material.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2013-08-21, 17:46:29
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11282
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Warning: pressing 0 (render to texture) when Corona is selected as current renderer makes max crash. At least this happens for me.
It was caused by another plugin - NOX renderer.
« Last Edit: 2013-08-27, 10:54:45 by maru »
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2013-08-21, 17:52:55
Reply #9

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 9042
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
what build, what max version?
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-08-21, 19:30:19
Reply #10

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11282
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Aug 20 2013 21:58:35
Max 2013

Already submitted to Mantis.
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2013-10-01, 21:04:22
Reply #11

Polymax

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 830
  • CG Generalist
    • View Profile
    • maxkagirov.com
Very need and useful!!!
Corona - the best rendering solution!

2013-10-02, 00:19:53
Reply #12

agentdark45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 581
    • View Profile
+1 on this feature. If this was implemented I could leave vray for good! It's absolutely crucial for creating lightmaps for 3D games (can you imagine a 3D walkthrough with Corona quality in real-time?)

This would also speed up fly through animations by thousands of percent!
Vray who?

2014-01-10, 11:22:17
Reply #13

hglr123

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 113
    • View Profile
+1000 for this feature :)

2014-01-10, 11:34:10
Reply #14

fellazb

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile
I'm on the board for this one too. For an nearby future I think it'll be a crucial thing to have under the hood.