Author Topic: max 2023.2 crashing when closing render setup dialog  (Read 2664 times)

2022-09-16, 14:18:13

clemens_at

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
hello,

the new max update crashes 100% of the time, when closing the render setup dialog.
Apparently this issue only occurs with corona, vray seems to work fine.
tested on 3 machines.
« Last Edit: 2022-09-16, 14:27:02 by clemens_at »

2022-09-16, 15:55:15
Reply #1

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4710
    • View Profile
Which version of Corona, please? Also which OS?

Not happening here, Corona 9 Daily from Sept 12th, Win 10. Also I have devel/debug open too.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-09-16, 16:30:06
Reply #2

clemens_at

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile

2022-09-16, 16:57:24
Reply #3

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4710
    • View Profile
Oooh now it has started happening to me too, ever since I tried pressing F10, now I get the crash even after restarting Max. Strange, as I hadn't run into this before and I updated Max on the day of their update. Anyway, giving the minidump from my crash to the devs.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Marketing Manager | contact us

2022-09-19, 12:06:22
Reply #4

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1680
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hey,

Thanks for reporting this to us. We are looking into a fix for this already and have been in contact with Autodesk.

I will let you know when I have some more information.

Cheers,

Rowan

(Internal ID=965678469)
Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!

2022-09-19, 12:11:53
Reply #5

clemens_at

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
thank you!

also, for anyone thinking of updating, don't.
There is another bug, stopping you from opening scenes pre-update.



2022-09-19, 18:47:16
Reply #6

muoto

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
same problem here with the render dialog.

(and plus that, install of 2023.2 kind of doesn't work on windows server 2012r2, AUC problem with ADSSO)

2022-09-19, 20:10:47
Reply #7

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
Strange one. If you start max, and do a (Corona) "Reset settings" in render setup -> Scene, it is not happening. And additionally you can load any (other) scene without this issue subsequently using that max instance. I compared all renderer properties before and after the reset and restored them exactly as they have been -> no issue as well. So maybe related to Render setup -> system settings. I cannot see any difference in the files storing the system settings though.

There is another bug, stopping you from opening scenes pre-update.

Any reference, or just personal experience?


Good Luck



Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2022-09-19, 21:49:38
Reply #8

clemens_at

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
Quote
Any reference, or just personal experience?

https://forums.autodesk.com/t5/3ds-max-forum/urgent-2023-2-update-cannot-open-scenes-created-previous-2023/td-p/11423396

Had it happen to me today. Seems to be related to the chamfer update.

2022-09-20, 09:20:43
Reply #9

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1798
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
Seems to be related to the chamfer update.

Thanks for the additional information. I remember at least having corrupt stacks using chamfer in the 2021.1/.2/.3 update path as well, but no hangs.


Good Luck


Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2022-09-20, 10:24:25
Reply #10

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7919
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
I can only imagine what mess it will be when 3ds Max will get boolean as a modifier. I developed a habit to always collapse the stack and reset transforms as soon as possible and potentially that saved me a lot of headaches, but unfortunately that's not always possible with WIP files and when upgrading the Max, those files suffers the most :[

Speaking of current issue, how likely that autodesk will issue the fix? Or we'll have to wait till next update?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-09-20, 10:59:27
Reply #11

clemens_at

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
this is from 4 days ago:
Quote
As soon as possible is the time frame we are at. A fix for the issue is currently being tested internally (thank you once again to those that provided sample scenes).
Once that has been verified as good we can start the formal build process, and then the delivery process.

2022-09-20, 16:16:13
Reply #12

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1680
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hey guys,

We managed to fix the crash in the v9 daily builds: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=36810.msg203570#msg203570

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!

2022-09-20, 17:00:14
Reply #13

clemens_at

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 108
    • View Profile
that was fast!
any chance we can get a hotfix for v8?

2022-09-21, 16:08:16
Reply #14

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1680
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hi,

Right now we are not planning on that, we have been in contact with the guys at Autodesk and they are looking into a fix for 3ds max itself.

So hopefully they will manage to patch it and fix the root cause.

Cheers,

Rowan

Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!