Poll

3 features you want the most:

Tiles map
30 (6.1%)
Further imrpovements to Corona Image Editor
8 (1.6%)
Significantly faster DOF (Depth of Field) rendering
28 (5.7%)
Sketch/Toon/Stylized shader
34 (6.9%)
Dedicated CarPaint Shader
7 (1.4%)
Dedicated fabrics shader
26 (5.3%)
Lightmix extended to materials, textures, ...
32 (6.5%)
Interactive rendering in 3ds max viewport (with gizmos, object selection, manipulation, ...)
18 (3.6%)
Rendering memory usage improvements
17 (3.4%)
Speed of rendering improvements
46 (9.3%)
Speed of interactive rendering improvements specifically
33 (6.7%)
GPU/Hybrid rendering
94 (19%)
Stability improvements (bug fixes)
13 (2.6%)
Improvements to caustics
23 (4.7%)
Thin film/coating shader
5 (1%)
Parsing performance optimization (e.g. for animations)
41 (8.3%)
New and better frame buffer (docked and floating)
24 (4.9%)
Further improvements to Chaos Scatter
15 (3%)

Total Members Voted: 189

Author Topic: The most wanted feature?  (Read 586530 times)

2022-11-03, 09:49:45
Reply #1065

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
As appealing as could be the ability to run Corona on GPU(s) and gain a (really) big boost of raw performance, I can understand the reluctance of the devs to port the engine to GPU :
  • a CPU render engine code is almost universal. A GPU render engine is Nvidia only or you have to be ready to maintain no less than 3 other versions : OneAPI( Intel), HIP(AMD), Metal (Apple). I don't know the details but I guess that's a bit more work than maintaining just one render engine if you don't want to tie your user to one videocard brand ( and even just NVidia is two implementations, CUDA and OptiX).
  • you are heavily dependent on GPU drivers, and this is not a detail. Here how it goes for Redshift users for 6 months : Super slow redshift IPR and rendering
  • And finally, the small amount of VRAM available, even on prosumer models, does not fit very well the type of project that the typical Corona user has to deal with. And NVidia killed NVlink with the RTX 4XXX series without offering a true alternative, so either you're stuck with 24Gb or you bite the bullet and spend 5K+€ on a RTX6000. Even so, it's "only" 48Gb and like the gaming cards, no more NVLink too.

Time to first pixel and responsivess on Cycles and Octane are crazy compared to CPU, so I would really like to see big improvements on the interactive rendering.

2022-11-03, 21:29:44
Reply #1066

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1672
    • View Profile
As appealing as could be the ability to run Corona on GPU(s) and gain a (really) big boost of raw performance, I can understand the reluctance of the devs to port the engine to GPU :
  • a CPU render engine code is almost universal. A GPU render engine is Nvidia only or you have to be ready to maintain no less than 3 other versions : OneAPI( Intel), HIP(AMD), Metal (Apple). I don't know the details but I guess that's a bit more work than maintaining just one render engine if you don't want to tie your user to one videocard brand ( and even just NVidia is two implementations, CUDA and OptiX).
  • you are heavily dependent on GPU drivers, and this is not a detail. Here how it goes for Redshift users for 6 months : Super slow redshift IPR and rendering
  • And finally, the small amount of VRAM available, even on prosumer models, does not fit very well the type of project that the typical Corona user has to deal with. And NVidia killed NVlink with the RTX 4XXX series without offering a true alternative, so either you're stuck with 24Gb or you bite the bullet and spend 5K+€ on a RTX6000. Even so, it's "only" 48Gb and like the gaming cards, no more NVLink too.

Time to first pixel and responsivess on Cycles and Octane are crazy compared to CPU, so I would really like to see big improvements on the interactive rendering.

I think hybrid could the the ideal. Where you have specific features that run really well on a GPU, supplementing the power of the CPU. Volumetrics, caustics ansd displacement being three things off the top of my head that i can think of that will add significant render time to a scene at the moment.

If theres any way that any part of the most intensive processes can be moved off to the GPU, even partially, leaving more CPU free to deal with everything else. I'd absolutely welcome that. That being said i have no idea how linear the computational rendering process is or whether anything i just said is viable. But more speed is always welcome!

2022-11-07, 15:04:58
Reply #1067

Dionysios.TS

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 775
    • View Profile
    • Evolvia Imaging
As appealing as could be the ability to run Corona on GPU(s) and gain a (really) big boost of raw performance, I can understand the reluctance of the devs to port the engine to GPU :
  • a CPU render engine code is almost universal. A GPU render engine is Nvidia only or you have to be ready to maintain no less than 3 other versions : OneAPI( Intel), HIP(AMD), Metal (Apple). I don't know the details but I guess that's a bit more work than maintaining just one render engine if you don't want to tie your user to one videocard brand ( and even just NVidia is two implementations, CUDA and OptiX).
  • you are heavily dependent on GPU drivers, and this is not a detail. Here how it goes for Redshift users for 6 months : Super slow redshift IPR and rendering
  • And finally, the small amount of VRAM available, even on prosumer models, does not fit very well the type of project that the typical Corona user has to deal with. And NVidia killed NVlink with the RTX 4XXX series without offering a true alternative, so either you're stuck with 24Gb or you bite the bullet and spend 5K+€ on a RTX6000. Even so, it's "only" 48Gb and like the gaming cards, no more NVLink too.

Time to first pixel and responsivess on Cycles and Octane are crazy compared to CPU, so I would really like to see big improvements on the interactive rendering.

But, the VRAM used in rendering process, is completely different than the traditional RAM.
In 24GB can fit a lot of data that in the traditional RAM will occupy 3 times more.

In 2009 I had the privilege to be one of the first artists using the iray rendering engine. At that time, the GPU cards were having only 1.5GB VRam and look how many stuff was rendered with that "limited" memory! :D

Anyway, I am curious to see how things will evolve in the years to come.

2023-07-13, 13:15:22
Reply #1068

JoachimArt

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 222
    • View Profile
    • JoachimArt
I would love for a Cartoon shader. Or especially a outline render like in Vray. It one of the only features that some time forces me to do stuff in other renders than Corona.

2023-07-17, 16:19:31
Reply #1069

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1672
    • View Profile
Really hoping for colour management in this next release. Trying to get renders from Max/Corona into photoshop and have them match the VFB output has been an absolute minefield for too long.

2023-07-18, 16:41:37
Reply #1070

vitamin26

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
and tiles map
« Last Edit: 2023-07-18, 16:48:14 by vitamin26 »

2023-07-18, 18:06:43
Reply #1071

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 965
    • View Profile
and tiles map

+1
BerconTile is good but not very compatible with Corona.
I still find that I really need a solution like that one that won't crash max when using it with Corona.

2023-07-18, 18:27:32
Reply #1072

Basshunter

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 281
    • View Profile

2023-07-18, 19:32:39
Reply #1073

LE DON

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile

2023-07-18, 19:33:56
Reply #1074

LE DON

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 27
    • View Profile

2023-07-18, 21:59:34
Reply #1075

VIZSET

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
    • Behance
Please guys, add reworked aerial perspective like in VRay. Current options are bad (volume effect) or extremely slow (global volumetrics).
Creating a perspective is one of the main tools in archviz.
More works: behance.net/vizset

2023-07-18, 22:38:08
Reply #1076

dreamersdj

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 6
  • Lo que imagines te lo hago...
    • View Profile
    • Radart

2023-07-19, 00:45:15
Reply #1077

shortcirkuit

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
My 2 cents - id love to see big improvements with Distributed Rendering.
Currently, its a nightmare.

I have multiple machines, and when i use the DR feature, it takes a few minutes for the other machines to kick in.  So when i try using it for an animation, by the time the NODES start rendering, the MAIN workstation finishes the frame and it all starts over again (parsing) and the NODES dont do anything but parse and prepare the scene.

Im not too sure what goes on under the hood, but if there could be a way it somehow gathers all maps/assets and puts them in a pool for all nodes to see so that it doesnt have to reload everything (if this is what is causing the issue).

In anycase, its a struggle and i invested more into NODES this year to improve my speed, but i havent been able to utilise it yet.

2023-07-19, 05:20:00
Reply #1078

Avi

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 563
    • View Profile
My 2 cents - id love to see big improvements with Distributed Rendering.
Currently, its a nightmare.

I have multiple machines, and when i use the DR feature, it takes a few minutes for the other machines to kick in.  So when i try using it for an animation, by the time the NODES start rendering, the MAIN workstation finishes the frame and it all starts over again (parsing) and the NODES dont do anything but parse and prepare the scene.

Im not too sure what goes on under the hood, but if there could be a way it somehow gathers all maps/assets and puts them in a pool for all nodes to see so that it doesnt have to reload everything (if this is what is causing the issue).

In anycase, its a struggle and i invested more into NODES this year to improve my speed, but i havent been able to utilise it yet.

This actually sounds like hardware related. More like slow network speed and response time. Make sure, you are connected to nodes via Lan, probably using CAT7 cables and you are utilizing GBPS connection speed instead of MBPS. Improving your network connection speed should help with this problem.
Arpit Pandey | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us

2023-07-19, 08:24:49
Reply #1079

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1940
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
So when i try using it for an animation

At every frame change, the slaves get a new scene using DR currently, and they have to load/parse it. So if one frame of your scene needs a rendertime of 5 minutes, has a loading time of 3 minutes, parsing time of 2, then DR slaves cannot contribute. Corona Dr is unsuitable here due to the current concept.

Also see

https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=20851.msg134203#msg134203
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=7959.msg52938#msg52938
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=32803.msg183408#msg183408
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=22044.msg136322#msg136322
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=16981.msg106411#msg106411
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=16653.msg104595#msg104595


Better to use Backburner or any other manager to distribute single frames to nodes.


Good Luck


Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.