Author Topic: Corona 10/11 - Corona Render Assets loading very slow  (Read 6338 times)

2023-08-08, 00:39:35

Peter A.

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Hello,

When opening scenes with Corona Renderer 10 Hotfix 1 in 3ds max 2023/2024, the scene is loading extremely slow with the message "Loading Corona assets". It takes several minutes to load relatively simple scene with few Corona materials. And it basically freezes 3ds max window.

This did not happen with version 9.

Anybody having the same issue?

Update: the same issue is with Corona 11 HotFix 1 under 3ds max 2024.2

Peter
« Last Edit: 2024-02-14, 23:09:02 by Peter A. »

2023-08-08, 11:28:14
Reply #1

Alexandre Besson

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 132
  • http://www.alexandre-besson.com
    • View Profile
    • Alexandre Besson portfolio

2023-08-09, 10:30:35
Reply #2

jms.lwly

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 171
    • View Profile
    • jms.lwly studio
+1

Have recently had to re-open a scene from 2021 (old client project which was paused but now re-started), it has a number of Corona Proxy objects and the 'Loading Corona assets' phase of scene opening is a killer.

2023-08-10, 03:33:30
Reply #3

Tom

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 214
    • View Profile
    • www
+1

When loading a scene I have a "loading Corona assets" message that didn't appear previously with Corona 9, or if it appeared and I didn't notice it, it didn't last that long before disappearing (I'm on Corona 10 now, no Hotfix installed yet).

2023-08-10, 14:23:09
Reply #4

dj_buckley

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 855
    • View Profile

2023-08-10, 14:54:21
Reply #5

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12636
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi all, thanks for reporting this. Currently, we are not aware of any similar reports, and we haven't noticed such slowdowns in our internal scenes. If possible, please send us any problematic scenes over at https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
It would be great if you could attach a scene saved with Corona 9 so that we could compare the V9 and V10 times.

I have some additional questions/considerations:
- Are you using iToo plugins in your scenes? (we had some similar reports in the past which were related to iToo)
- Are you loading your scenes and all assets from local drivers or from network drives/gdrive/dropbox?
- Are there many hi-res textures in your scenes? (for example 100 x 8k textures)
- Does lowering all textures resolutions under Viewports Configuration to a super low value like 128px make any difference?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2023-08-10, 21:53:17
Reply #6

Frood

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1899
    • View Profile
    • Rakete GmbH
Hi Maru,

we are not aware of any similar reports

we had some similar reports in the past which were related to iToo

:)

I can confirm (equal or) longer loading times with Corona 10, depending on the scene. Tested with 3 standard scenes, mixed results:

Scene A (Some CBitbaps in the scene that I missed to eliminate or have been in Xreffed scenes/objects)
3:18 - Corona 9
5:09 - Corona 10

Scene A (Cbitmaps converted to std Bitmaps)
2:45 - Corona 9
3:12 - Corona 10

Scene B
2:41 - Corona 9
2:51 - Corona 10

Scene C
2:51 - Corona 9
2:53 - Corona 10

Out of core cache has been off, there are Xreffed scenes/objects in all scenes and yes - Itoo stuff as well. Everything loaded via network/UNC, using Max 2023.

Viewport settings should not make any difference since all viewport stuff starts after loading the scene. The time values are those reported by Max in the log, that is: the difference between the #filePreOpen and the #filePostOpen event.

Btw: And again CoronaBitmap making things worse.

Btw2: That more or less persistent "loading Corona assets" message is just some UI issue imho: Corona seems to use the "TempPrompt" of Max (I use it in scripts as well) and it just does not get cleared by some new message, in this case the last queued string just stays there.


Good Luck



Never underestimate the power of a well placed level one spell.

2023-08-11, 11:22:56
Reply #7

Peter A.

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Hi Maru,

Thank you for your reply.

To your notes:
1/ This slowdown is happening with every scene previously saved and rendered with Corona 9 engine.
2/ iTools plugin: No
3/ Scenes and assets loading: Local SSD drive
4/ Textures: less than 100 textures, below 4K resolution
5/ Lowering texture resolution did not help.

Hi all, thanks for reporting this. Currently, we are not aware of any similar reports, and we haven't noticed such slowdowns in our internal scenes. If possible, please send us any problematic scenes over at https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
It would be great if you could attach a scene saved with Corona 9 so that we could compare the V9 and V10 times.

I have some additional questions/considerations:
- Are you using iToo plugins in your scenes? (we had some similar reports in the past which were related to iToo)
- Are you loading your scenes and all assets from local drivers or from network drives/gdrive/dropbox?
- Are there many hi-res textures in your scenes? (for example 100 x 8k textures)
- Does lowering all textures resolutions under Viewports Configuration to a super low value like 128px make any difference?

2023-08-11, 12:00:03
Reply #8

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12636
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi Maru,

we are not aware of any similar reports

we had some similar reports in the past which were related to iToo

:)

Correction: I am not aware of any similar reports regarding Corona 9 vs Corona 10. We did have some reports of slow loading and they were related to iToo, but it was long ago and it was fixed by better Corona<>iToo compatibility.

Hi Maru,

Thank you for your reply.

To your notes:
1/ This slowdown is happening with every scene previously saved and rendered with Corona 9 engine.
2/ iTools plugin: No
3/ Scenes and assets loading: Local SSD drive
4/ Textures: less than 100 textures, below 4K resolution
5/ Lowering texture resolution did not help.

Thanks for all the details. Could you please send us a support ticket at https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new and attach a scene if possible?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2023-08-16, 19:59:12
Reply #9

3dboomerang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 213
  • Head of 3D
    • View Profile
    • 3DFLOW
Can we revert a scene back to corona 9 from 10 for the time being? I'm getting extreme waiting times for opening files.

2023-08-16, 20:32:04
Reply #10

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5402
    • View Profile
Depends on whether you used anything that was new or changed in Corona 10, and then saved the scene. That kind of compatibility is never guaranteed though. All you can do is try and see what happens :) PS as noted in the message above, a ticket and example scene would be very useful from our side, for investigating.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2023-08-17, 09:54:07
Reply #11

Jacolath

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
+1 for this issue. Loading Corona assets seems long across all scenes.

I dont know if it is related but I have extremely low refresh rate for IR specially if there was an autosave. 20 mins+ for 13900k 128gb system autosaving to a high end SSD. Granted they are big files but we are used to working with big files and this is excessive.

2023-08-22, 11:30:32
Reply #12

3dboomerang

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 213
  • Head of 3D
    • View Profile
    • 3DFLOW
Hi Maru,

we are not aware of any similar reports

we had some similar reports in the past which were related to iToo

:)

Correction: I am not aware of any similar reports regarding Corona 9 vs Corona 10. We did have some reports of slow loading and they were related to iToo, but it was long ago and it was fixed by better Corona<>iToo compatibility.

Hi Maru,

Thank you for your reply.

To your notes:
1/ This slowdown is happening with every scene previously saved and rendered with Corona 9 engine.
2/ iTools plugin: No
3/ Scenes and assets loading: Local SSD drive
4/ Textures: less than 100 textures, below 4K resolution
5/ Lowering texture resolution did not help.

Thanks for all the details. Could you please send us a support ticket at https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new and attach a scene if possible?

Will you let us know in this thread when a fix is available in a hotfix version or something?... That way i'll bookmark this page - seems like a priority ..

2023-08-22, 13:47:49
Reply #13

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12636
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Hi all, we did some tests here and the same scenes appear to be opening slower in V10 compared to V9, however we were not able to reproduce such drastic slowdowns as "20+ minutes". It's only ~10 seconds slower in case of larger scenes with many objects, xrefs, textures, 3rd party plugins, etc (we are not using a teapot scene for this). The files were loaded locally from an M2 drive in 3ds Max 2024 and the time was measured between pressing "open" and being able to move in the viewport.

The issue is logged and our developers will investigate further, but if you are experiencing this, please send us any scene where this happens: https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
This will greatly help us and will also speed up the fixing process if something is indeed wrong here.

Will you let us know in this thread when a fix is available in a hotfix version or something?... That way i'll bookmark this page - seems like a priority ..
Yes. You can also use the "notify" button at the top of the page to get an email every time there is a new message in this thread.

(Internal ID=1187364205)
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2023-08-22, 19:17:15
Reply #14

Ink Visual

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Hi all, we did some tests here and the same scenes appear to be opening slower in V10 compared to V9, however we were not able to reproduce such drastic slowdowns as "20+ minutes". It's only ~10 seconds slower in case of larger scenes with many objects, xrefs, textures, 3rd party plugins, etc (we are not using a teapot scene for this). The files were loaded locally from an M2 drive in 3ds Max 2024 and the time was measured between pressing "open" and being able to move in the viewport.

I assume these tests are being done on the archived scenes that all link to the assets stored in one folder?
The real life scenraio is often that assets are spread across various network locations. Max was always taking longer time to load such scenes, but maybe there's even bigger difference in such scenario between Corona 9 and 10?