Author Topic: Downward compatibility  (Read 2890 times)

2020-09-03, 08:48:05

studiobasler

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Hello,
when saving a szene build with corona 6 and reopen it with corona 5, there will come a error message like "error in filestructure" or in german "Fehlerhafte Dateistruktur" and file cant be open. Just for letting you know.

Christian

2020-09-03, 09:51:23
Reply #1

mmarcotic

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 254
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
Hello,

backwards compatibility is not at this point fully supported, especially after the daily build from 30/6/2020, in which some major internals of the node material system were reworked.

Changes in Corona Renderer 6 for Cinema 4D (Daily Build 2020-06-30) (https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1Pq54oK-EGac_z0VdV05VfsSsG54I1Qkn):

    Reworked internals of material node system to improve stability and allow future improvements
    • WARNING: the new node system saves data in a different format; if you use the node system in your scene and save with a daily build that's from Jun 30th onward, it will not load correctly in older daily builds from before that date!

Thank you for understanding,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2020-12-16, 09:21:46
Reply #2

Chya

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Hi all,
Isn't there any solution to reconvert a scene to an old (5 hotfix 2) version..?
There's a way, a workflow or workaround to recover scene geometry and animation at least..?

The newest stable version (6 hotfix 1) is very buggy.
Tried to render animation and constant lights are inexplicably unstable.
Attachment files are 3 consecutive frames of a moving camera.

2020-12-16, 09:51:14
Reply #3

Chya

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Hi all,
I've managed to recover scene geometry and animation.

Because of "the new node system saves data in a different format;", I disabled Corona plugin renaming a dll, started C4D without the plugin, opened the scene, and removed all materials.

Re-enabling Corona, the scene opened, without materials, but successfully.
Hope will help someone else waiting for a more stable version.

2020-12-16, 15:32:06
Reply #4

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1924
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
I would probably strip the scene of anything related to Corona ie: camera, lights, materials, etc. Switch the renderer to standard and save. Uninstall Corona, and reinstall the version you need. Open the scene again and in theory, it should work. Mind you, I have not tried this.

2020-12-16, 15:33:22
Reply #5

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1924
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats

2020-12-16, 15:41:07
Reply #6

Chya

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
hi beanzvision,
thanks for the reply
I didn't, now I'm in a hurry to recover my work, lately, I'll surely check it.

2020-12-17, 11:13:42
Reply #7

beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1924
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Out of curiosity, do you have "Animation (Flicker-free)" enabled at all?

2021-04-07, 12:35:43
Reply #8

Chya

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 8
    • View Profile
Hi all,
Isn't there any solution to reconvert a scene to an old (5 hotfix 2) version..?
There's a way, a workflow or workaround to recover scene geometry and animation at least..?

The newest stable version (6 hotfix 1) is very buggy.
Tried to render animation and constant lights are inexplicably unstable.
Attachment files are 3 consecutive frames of a moving camera.

The Above Problem appears to be due to LUT Correction at render time not applied in some random frame.
I had the same problem even @ RebusFarm that are use Corona Version 6.
is this a V6 knowing issue..?