Author Topic: Corona Renderer 6 for 3ds Max - Daily Builds Discussion  (Read 40657 times)

2020-08-03, 09:20:23
Reply #405

aaouviz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • Another Angle 3D
Morning all!

I arrived at the office this morning and installed RC1 from the daily builds.

Opened a file, which I worked on last week with the previous daily (corona-6-3dsmax-daily-2020-07-21) and all the normals/bump seemed a bit fucked up. These are generated with triplanar mapping texture node.

I reverted back to the previous daily and the problem is fixed. So what's up with the RC1?

Please see attached, you'll notice the difference right away...
Hi,

Can you please send a simplyfied version of the scene or if that's not possible can you send a screenshot of your material library setup for this material?

Thanks,

Rowan

Thanks for the reply. I uploaded a simplified version via your default web uploader.

Good luck and thanks again.

2020-08-03, 09:30:37
Reply #406

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
Hi,

I don't see the file there, would you be able to try again?

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-08-03, 09:36:43
Reply #407

aaouviz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 277
    • View Profile
    • Another Angle 3D
Hi,

I don't see the file there, would you be able to try again?

Cheers,

Rowan

Apologies! I jumped the gun a bit too quickly there and couldn't manage to upload it with your portal. It's difficult to get the reCAPTCHA to work with the uploader as it expires by the time the upload is complete. Not sure if this is a problem only I experience?

Anyway, I used the Dropbox uploader instead. I hope you can now find it.

Sorry again, and thanks once more.

2020-08-03, 09:54:17
Reply #408

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
Thanks, I have the file now.

I will let you know when we have investigated it. I'll also make a note to look into the uploader :)

Cheers,

Rowan

(Internal ID=543992746)
« Last Edit: 2020-08-03, 10:04:09 by rowmanns »
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-08-11, 15:26:42
Reply #409

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
Hi guys, i have an issue after install RC1.. i am using max 2019 and for some reason, I am getting error writing to file that i cant solve in older corona scenes.. if i start a new scene its fine.. so for now i get back to the preview daily version.
Same problem here.

When I save the .max file (on my C:/ or in network), I receive this message:

"Error writing to file"

Then, 3ds Max crash immediately.

If I delete the CoronaScatter object, the saving process works fine and I have no error.
So, here, the crash is related to the CoronaScatter object.
If I import this CScatter object in an empty scene, and try to save, 3ds Max crash O_O

The "funny" thing is that, in this scene, I have another CScatter.
And, with this CSCatter in the scene, I can save with no problem.
It's the first CScatter to create me problems.
Same problem i have.
The scene with corona scatter doesn't save and 3ds max crashes after "Error writing to file". Also i'm getting strange  3ds max UI behavior with corona scatters in the scene. The viewport freezes and not updating, while i'm moving objects.
After deleting all corona scaters- scene is working fine and saving file also works
Corona RC1, 3ds Max 2021

Fixed in RC2 :)
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-08-11, 18:27:51
Reply #410

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1141
    • View Profile
Hi. Just installed RC2, and got this:

Removing previous installation of IES bundle... done
Installing IES bundle... Failed to install file C:\Program Files\Corona\ies\Real-IES_bold.ies: Cannot open/read/write file 'C:/Program Files/Corona/ies/Real-IES_bold.ies'
Operation result: failed


How can I fix this?

2020-08-11, 21:32:45
Reply #411

Petter

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Hi,

In RC2, Computing Secondary GI (4K) takes double time comparing to RC1. Render settings were reset, but it did not help.

Peter

2020-08-12, 09:09:34
Reply #412

lukx

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
right click in viewport doesn't show corona convert to and proxy anymore.

2020-08-12, 09:34:45
Reply #413

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
Hi,

In RC2, Computing Secondary GI (4K) takes double time comparing to RC1. Render settings were reset, but it did not help.

Peter
Hi,

Nothing in the 4k cache changed between RC1 and RC2, we are aware of some performance issues with it and are continuing to work on some optimisations.

Would you be able to provide your scene to us so we can investigate the cause of the slow down? Instructions on how to do this are in my signiture.

Hi. Just installed RC2, and got this:

Removing previous installation of IES bundle... done
Installing IES bundle... Failed to install file C:\Program Files\Corona\ies\Real-IES_bold.ies: Cannot open/read/write file 'C:/Program Files/Corona/ies/Real-IES_bold.ies'
Operation result: failed


How can I fix this?
Hi,

Can you try to run the installer again and see if that fixes the issue?

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-08-12, 09:47:56
Reply #414

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
right click in viewport doesn't show corona convert to and proxy anymore.
Hi,

They are both still there for me so I'm not sure exactly what has happened. However there is an easy way to add them back.

  • Customize -> Customize User Interface -> Quads
  • Select the "Corona Renderer" category
  • Now drag the Corona Converter and Proxy exporter to the quad menu
  • Finally save this as your default

I have attached some screenshots to illustrate the process.

Let me know if this works for you.

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!

2020-08-12, 22:25:37
Reply #415

lupaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 516
    • View Profile
Hello,

I got a crash when editing in photohshop a texture and saving it with the same name while the texture is in use by a material.

I installed RC2 and have 3ds max 2020, windows 10.


2020-08-13, 10:11:58
Reply #417

Ryuu

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 629
  • Michal
    • View Profile
It would also help debugging a bit more if you could also provide few more details about how this happened. Was the texture loaded as a Corona Bitmap or as a 3ds Max Bitmap? Were you running IR or any other rendering at that time? Thanks

2020-08-14, 06:32:34
Reply #418

shortcirkuit

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 130
    • View Profile
+1

Hello,

I got a crash when editing in photohshop a texture and saving it with the same name while the texture is in use by a material.

I installed RC2 and have 3ds max 2020, windows 10.

2020-08-14, 09:42:57
Reply #419

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 910
    • View Profile
+1

Hello,

I got a crash when editing in photohshop a texture and saving it with the same name while the texture is in use by a material.

I installed RC2 and have 3ds max 2020, windows 10.
Hi,

Do you have some more information? Are you using Corona or 3ds Max bitmap? Are you running IR etc..

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs:
How to report issues to us!