Author Topic: Slow material editor [Corona 1.4]  (Read 4996 times)

2016-06-06, 19:08:38

yagi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
HELP!!!

is there any information on solving the issues with the terribly slow material editor in corona 1.4?  i find myself spending atleast half the production time of an entire project just waiting for the material editor to load up or update after making the slightest changes to it like changing the maps or even the colour swatches. i never had this problem in 1.3; if it takes 5 seconds for the material editor to load up in 1.3 then it takes about 1min 10secs to load up in 1.4. Again, if it takes 1sec to change the colour swatch or glossy and reflection parameters in 1.3 then it takes 10-15 seconds each time i change these parameters in 1.4....if you do the maths, thats way over 400% of the actual time it would take to complete that project in 1.3. this is alarmingly frustrating!!!

if theres something im doing wrong then pls let me know right away: is it my versions of 3dsmax? its the same problem on my 3dsmax 2014 and 2015( i havent tried 2016 yet). i have updated my windows and have the latest updates for my graphics card. im using a core i7 3.45ghz with 24gig ram, a 500gig Hard drive with over 300gig free space. corona never complains of running out of memory in any of my scenes between, i have correct gamma output, follow the albedo theory strictly, often disable displacement maps etc if it has anything to do with it.

corona 1.4 denoiser is the major reason im on 1.4 and dont want to go back to 1.3 but this material editor issue is really sad and im wondering if im the only one complaining?..... ive seen in a forum where a few people complained about the slow responsiveness of the material editor. i am a proud owner of corona box edition 1.0 and pay my yearly subscription to update and would love to keep it that way and see corona improve effectively with each passing release.

2016-06-06, 19:17:52
Reply #1

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3316
    • View Profile
Hi Yagi,

Been some scattered reports of it, one thing I am not sure has been tried for these scenarios is this tip, something that arose that had impact on C4D installations for some people:

"
You can also manually download MSVC++ 2015 (64-bit version!) which is required to run Corona under the following URL:
https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=48145

Sometimes it may be needed to uninstall the old files, and then install them anew:
Uninstalling .NET Framework
Uninstalling Microsoft C++ Redistributable
"

Likely the sort of thing that an up-to-date Windows has not done. Not had to do that myself and everything runs just fine in Max 2016 and 2017 for me.

EDIT: also this tip:

"
To all having problems with 1.4 and material editor:

It may seem strange, but some problems (especially crashes) are related to licensing. I would suggest removing all files from
C:\Users\_username_\AppData\Local\CoronaRenderer
...and then re-activating the license.


Other problems may appear if some other type of materials is set as defaut in meditor (e.g. vray materials).

Here is how to remove the Vray/other settings and set all material editor slots to Corona materials:

1. in 3ds Max go to Customize > Custom UI and Defaults Switcher, then select "Max" on the left list, and "DefaultUI" on the right list. Press "Set" and restart your 3ds Max.

2. To set all material slots to Corona see: https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000571040
(see point 2)"

2016-06-06, 19:21:13
Reply #2

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8923
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
HELP!!!

is there any information on solving the issues with the terribly slow material editor in corona 1.4?  i find myself spending atleast half the production time of an entire project just waiting for the material editor to load up or update after making the slightest changes to it like changing the maps or even the colour swatches. i never had this problem in 1.3; if it takes 5 seconds for the material editor to load up in 1.3 then it takes about 1min 10secs to load up in 1.4. Again, if it takes 1sec to change the colour swatch or glossy and reflection parameters in 1.3 then it takes 10-15 seconds each time i change these parameters in 1.4....if you do the maths, thats way over 400% of the actual time it would take to complete that project in 1.3. this is alarmingly frustrating!!!

if theres something im doing wrong then pls let me know right away: is it my versions of 3dsmax? its the same problem on my 3dsmax 2014 and 2015( i havent tried 2016 yet). i have updated my windows and have the latest updates for my graphics card. im using a core i7 3.45ghz with 24gig ram, a 500gig Hard drive with over 300gig free space. corona never complains of running out of memory in any of my scenes between, i have correct gamma output, follow the albedo theory strictly, often disable displacement maps etc if it has anything to do with it.

corona 1.4 denoiser is the major reason im on 1.4 and dont want to go back to 1.3 but this material editor issue is really sad and im wondering if im the only one complaining?..... ive seen in a forum where a few people complained about the slow responsiveness of the material editor. i am a proud owner of corona box edition 1.0 and pay my yearly subscription to update and would love to keep it that way and see corona improve effectively with each passing release.

Hi,
it would immensely helped us if you could capture a minidump of 3dsmax at the moment it is frozen. Here is how (#2): https://coronarenderer.freshdesk.com/support/solutions/articles/5000524006
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-06-07, 12:43:19
Reply #3

yagi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
thanks Tom G, i will attempt all the things youve listed and let you know what happens later today. i will also show the minidump for ondra, thanks

2016-06-07, 16:49:31
Reply #4

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3316
    • View Profile
Thanks Yagi, I look forward to hearing how you get on, and ty for the minidump too!

2016-06-09, 09:27:32
Reply #5

yagi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
to cut the long story short ; Ondra, i sent a minidump using process explorer to support portal. pls check it out.

Tom G ; i updated windows again to whatever latest updates they have which included the c++ red and .Net thingy and at first when i opened a file i was previously working on in 1.4 everything worked brilliantly like 1.3, but when i reopened the file after a few minutes later it was back to its slow responsiveness. however, i noticed the speed of the material editor had improved a bit and the first time i open material editor it takes over a minute but when i reopen it, it opens like 1.3 very fast....its as if it loaded stuff to work with on its first opening but the changing of parameters like colour swatches and glossy reflections still have very slow responses. plus its a lot worse when working wit Interactive Rendering and Having the material editor opened at the same time.

ive tried resetting all materials in editor slots to corona but it dint do much difference. ive reinstalled corona but im not sure if that has anything to do with your approach of licensing issues or does it? i have still not tried the option of installing 3dsmax 2016 yet tho. any other ideas while i wait for Ondras feedback?

2016-06-09, 14:10:43
Reply #6

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3316
    • View Profile
Hi Yagi,

No further ideas here at the moment, sorry - so far those are the only suggestions I am aware of that could make a difference, and not sure what difference it is that makes this happen for 1 or 2 folks and not everyone else. In this instance, we'll need to wait for Ondra it seems! TY for testing out those possible solutions and reporting the results, all that information is always a help in tracking things down.

2016-06-10, 14:32:14
Reply #7

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8923
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Hi,
can you send me 2 more minidumps of the same issue (when it is frozen) so I can make sure where the problem is? So far it seems the problem is with embree...
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2016-06-13, 14:55:20
Reply #8

yagi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
ok ... will do that and send once i get home tonight.

2016-06-13, 19:50:02
Reply #9

AndyQ

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
HELP!!!

is there any information on solving the issues with the terribly slow material editor in corona 1.4? 

Corona materials in the material editor were pretty slow in the previous version for me too so I've not noticed any difference. One thing I have noticed is that Corona is affected heavily by background file operations. If I'm running a backup to an external drive any Corona scenes bog down MAX in all aspects - refreshing windows, opening dialogues, just all general work. I don't have any significant slowdown from disk activity if I'm using MentalRay or scanline renderer on a similar complexity scene.

2016-06-15, 11:34:14
Reply #10

yagi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 355
    • View Profile
hi Ondra... sorry for the delay but ive sent to support portal 2 more dump files while 1.4 material editor was in its frozen state. pls check them out. thanks

AndyQ : i made sure i had nothing else running. i also opened a fresh scene witout any materials at all in the material editor slots, switched to corona 1.4 and once i opened the material editor ,which were only default corona materials, it still took like a minute to open up all slots. then once i start toying with the colour swatches n parameters it freezes ocassionally. and im pretty sure its not a direct x thing or graphic card update. hmmm

2016-06-15, 11:38:45
Reply #11

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10158
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
I forwarded the minidumps to Ondra, I am sure he will check them when possible. I can only tell that the problem is in ntdll.dll, which can mean a lot of things...
Right now I can only suggest updating Windows (this actually helped some users with similar problems) and disabling Windows Defender (it sometimes goes crazy if the textures are in network locations).