Corona Renderer Forum

Corona Renderer for 3ds Max => [Max] I need help! => Topic started by: NicolasC on 2020-03-28, 12:39:58

Title: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-03-28, 12:39:58
Hello,

With 3dsmax 2020.3, I've recently noticed the Substance plugin (v2.3.1) returned an error about Renderer Compatibility, not sure if it's worth bothering or not. If I go in Substance menu -> Substance Settings -> Render Compatibility "Open Dialog", I get a window warning that "The Substance plugin has detected an incompatible renderer ...". Any idea about why this appears and what are the consequences if any ?

Thanks in advance,

Regards.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: PROH on 2020-03-28, 13:54:19
Hi. Running 3dsMax 2020.3 and just downloaded the new substance plugin, but haven't installed it yet. Because of your post I just checked the substance forum, and there seems to be a lot of problems with it, both with Vray and Corona.

Think I'll wait until this is solved :(
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: rowmanns on 2020-03-30, 08:50:31
Hello,

With 3dsmax 2020.3, I've recently noticed the Substance plugin (v2.3.1) returned an error about Renderer Compatibility, not sure if it's worth bothering or not. If I go in Substance menu -> Substance Settings -> Render Compatibility "Open Dialog", I get a window warning that "The Substance plugin has detected an incompatible renderer ...". Any idea about why this appears and what are the consequences if any ?

Thanks in advance,

Regards.
Hi,

We will look into this one.

Thanks,

Rowan

(Internal ID=486541594)
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-03-30, 10:53:10
Ok, thank you, Rowan !
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: rowmanns on 2020-04-01, 15:37:04
Hi,

I have looked into this one, unfortunately substance doesn't tell us which renderer is incompatible in the warning message.

However I did uninstall Corona and run substance and the same "incompatible" message was reported, so I don't think that this is specific to Corona..

We'll see if there is anything else that can be done, but the issue may be with the substance plugin.

Cheers,

Rowan

Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-04-01, 16:58:46
Hello Rowan,

Thank you for your feedback.
Anyway, I haven't noticed any strange behavior when using Substance material so far ... let's hope Substance guys will solve this strange error message.

Cheers.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: rowmanns on 2020-04-01, 17:00:41
Hi,

Sure thing, I wrote to the substance guys to see if they can make the warning a bit more explicit and tell us which renderers and not supported.

We'll see what happens ;)

Rowan
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: rowmanns on 2020-04-02, 10:29:47
Hi,

Please see this forum thread: https://forum.substance3d.com/index.php?topic=32626.15

Hopefully some issues will be fixed in the next release ;)

Cheers,

Rowan
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-04-02, 10:32:07
Great, Rowan !
Thanks a lot for taking the time to take care of this :)

Regards.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: cjwidd on 2020-04-10, 00:27:57
2.3.2 is live
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-04-10, 08:54:05
2.3.2 is live
Oh, nice, thank you for the information :)

Hmmm, well, not so nice here finally ... in Substance Settings, Memory Budget and CPU Cores Limit don't show any number, and clicking Open Dialog for Renderer Compatibility doesn't seem to do anything :(
I guess I'll post something on Substance forums this time !

Cheers.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-04-10, 09:06:09
Added a post in Rowan's thread:  https://forum.substance3d.com/index.php?topic=32626.15 (https://forum.substance3d.com/index.php?topic=32626.15)
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: cjwidd on 2020-04-10, 11:02:59
Hey, I saw your post on the Substance forums in response.

I posted some renders on the 2.3.2 thread after testing multiple materials. I haven't tested the plug-in exhaustively, but 2.3.2 seems to be more stable.compared to 2.3.1.

Have you been able to import, convert, or otherwise work with Substances using Corona Renderer in Max 2020?

If you are experiencing issues with 2.3.2, I would post to the 2.3.2 thread - it would help organize the discussion.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-04-10, 11:24:16
Hello cjwidd,

I find it a bit slower than the previous version, but it's maybe just a feeling. I've tested quickly with a few Source materials, seems ok so far, but I'll have to test a bit more. Batch import seems ok as well.
Out of curiosity, do you uninstall previous version before install the new version, or do you simply install the new version over the old one ?

Regards.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: cjwidd on 2020-04-10, 11:30:33
When you launch the installation wizard you should be prompted with a few install options. I think the 'complete' option uninstalls the previous version(?)

Generally speaking, I prefer to not have multiple versions of the Substance in 3ds Max plug-in installed simultaneously.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-04-10, 11:46:53
Ok, I did the Complete installation.
On a side note, I think Substance should go further with Batch Import ... I mean, we have to use Batch Import, which creates Substance nodes with the proper materials, and then we have to select each material, for finally click on the Substance To Corona function in Substance menu. It's not even able to work on multiple Substance maps in one go :( Or am I missing something ? this should be much more straight forward IMO: Batch Import to Corona, and Substance nodes are created along with Corona materials, and voilĂ  :P
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: cjwidd on 2020-04-10, 11:51:23
I'm not sure I understand^

You can batch import multiple .sbsar into the Slate Material Editor, marquee select the materials you want to convert, then run the Substance to Corona converter and it will generate Corona materials for all of the selected substance files.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-04-10, 12:01:42
Well, some weirdness happening here ... I restarted 3dsmax, and now Substance to Corona works again with multiple materials indeed, I prefer that.
However, I still think Batch Import could do both: loading .sbsar files in Substance nodes in the material, AND generate Corona material, all that in one go. Yeah, I'm a bit lazy for these things :D Maybe I should post that on the Substance plugin.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: cjwidd on 2020-04-10, 12:13:01
The Substance in 3ds Max plug-in has a lot of room to improve,
so hopefully we will see more advanced features added. For now I'm just happy it's working at all - the plug-in was beset with critical issues for over a year.
Title: Re: 3dsmax Substance plugin & Corona 5
Post by: NicolasC on 2020-04-10, 13:25:02
The Substance in 3ds Max plug-in has a lot of room to improve,
[...] For now I'm just happy it's working at all
Yes, I agree on those points ;)