Corona Renderer Forum

Corona Renderer for Cinema 4D => [C4D] I need help! => Topic started by: Ben on 2019-06-04, 23:39:58

Title: c4d shaders and bump
Post by: Ben on 2019-06-04, 23:39:58
Hello everyone,

I stumbled across two problems while experimenting with corona bump materials and c4d functions:

1 - As soon as I use the layer shader (not corona layer material) the c4d procedural noise shaders stop working. A single noise works when directly placed into the bump slot, but blending seems to switch it off. I found similar topics concerning this where it was stated that it got fixed (I am running on 4.0 daily May 27). I tried different combination within the layer shader (changing blending modes, using projector) but without success so far.

2 - When using different c4d procedural shaders like wood/marble/checkerboard ... (i.e. not noise) the bump doesn't work at all, not even directly within the bump slot. Aren't these supported?

Interestingly both problems vanish when using the shader as displacement, so only bump seems to get lost.

I hope I did't overlook any obvious reasons for it to not work and I am sorry if this has been discussed before, but like I said, different topics brought no solution for me or tackled slightly different problems with bump mapping. I would appreciate any help with this.
Title: Re: c4d shaders and bump
Post by: NOOKTA on 2020-10-15, 17:34:14
Hello,

I know this is an rather old post, but therefore it highlights even better that's this issue still persists:

As soon as the layer shader goes into the bump it stops working - are there any news on from the corona team on this matter? I searched in the forum and found several posts/threads pointing out this issue.
Did I miss something?


Full-speed non-debug version
Build timestamp: Aug 25 2020 09:52:16
Version: 6.0
Cinema version: R21.207 Cinema 4D (mutli-license)

Best,
Ara

Title: Re: c4d shaders and bump
Post by: Cinemike on 2020-10-15, 22:42:58
If you want to use a noise in a layer shader for bump, it needs to be in UV (2D) space.
Title: Re: c4d shaders and bump
Post by: NOOKTA on 2020-10-16, 11:19:49
Nice, it works!

Thanks Cinemike!

Best,
Ararat
Title: Re: c4d shaders and bump
Post by: aler on 2020-10-16, 23:46:42
If you want to use a noise in a layer shader for bump, it needs to be in UV (2D) space.
If Space > Texture, Object..., then UV deployment doesn't matter, but for UV (2D) is needed, so it's a little consolation :(
Title: Re: c4d shaders and bump
Post by: Cinemike on 2020-10-17, 01:00:14
if noise_space =! UV_2D and noise_shader_is_within_layer_shader = true:
     no_noise_will_render_under_any_circumstances = true