Corona Renderer Forum

Corona Renderer for 3ds Max => [Max] I need help! => Topic started by: JacopoGrosso on 2017-11-13, 13:37:00

Title: CShading_Shadows in post-production
Post by: JacopoGrosso on 2017-11-13, 13:37:00
This could be a stupid question but..how can I use this element to add shadows to the beauty pass? I have to substitute the backplate and shadows on the ground would be gone (I have a plane with shadowcatcher addes) if I don't add them.
I'm using Photoshop.

Thank you for your help :)
Title: Re: CShading_Shadows in post-production
Post by: JacopoGrosso on 2017-11-14, 15:37:13
Nobody..?
Title: Re: CShading_Shadows in post-production
Post by: apjasko on 2017-11-14, 16:00:24
You would use "subtract" blend option in Photoshop to amplify shadows. I would suggest working in 32-bit to get the most accurate response.
Title: Re: CShading_Shadows in post-production
Post by: Njen on 2017-11-17, 02:19:34
https://corona-renderer.com/wiki/render_elements:
"Shows the shadows (energy subtracted from the image due to shadow ray occlusion). This is the complement to the beauty pass, showing white where there are black shadows. If this pass is linearly added to the beauty pass, it negates the visible shadows. Note that currently the shadows from environment lighting are always shown, resulting in a washed-out pass in typical interior renders."
Title: Re: CShading_Shadows in post-production
Post by: JacopoGrosso on 2017-11-18, 01:19:32
You would use "subtract" blend option in Photoshop to amplify shadows. I would suggest working in 32-bit to get the most accurate response.

Thank you, I found out how to do it with your help!
Title: Re: CShading_Shadows in post-production
Post by: JacopoGrosso on 2017-11-18, 01:20:54
https://corona-renderer.com/wiki/render_elements:
"Shows the shadows (energy subtracted from the image due to shadow ray occlusion). This is the complement to the beauty pass, showing white where there are black shadows. If this pass is linearly added to the beauty pass, it negates the visible shadows. Note that currently the shadows from environment lighting are always shown, resulting in a washed-out pass in typical interior renders."

I read this but I was trying to add shadows to the render.
Title: Re: CShading_Shadows in post-production
Post by: mathos on 2018-12-06, 13:19:28
You would use "subtract" blend option in Photoshop to amplify shadows. I would suggest working in 32-bit to get the most accurate response.

Thank you, I found out how to do it with your help!

Hi - how did  you solve this problem?