Author Topic: Advice for a beginner  (Read 10837 times)

2016-02-09, 03:18:14

JGallagher

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Hi everyone, I'm fairly new to the whole 3d world. I've been teaching myself 3ds Max, Corona, Substance Designer/Painter, and UE4 for the past year. I'm trying to do quick little rendering and was hoping to get some advice, criticism, hints, tips, etc. I'm using a simple HDRI to light the scene (one of the freebie ones around the web) and some very basic materials.

I'm not completely satisfied with the rendering but I'm not good enough at this to understand why. I know the sky is washed out, I had some trees behind the brick wall to block that out but took them out to for temporarily for rendering speed. Would you be able to tell me what I'm doing wrong? I will try to responda s quickly as I can. Thanks everyone.

James G

2016-02-09, 08:51:34
Reply #1

tomislavn

• Active Users
  • Lightbringer
    • View Profile
    • My 3docean Portolio
..and some very basic materials.

Here lies your answer :)

To get near "realism" you have to study the materials the most (especially since Corona has such nice and easy lightning setup). You could add more complexity to your materials (dirt, falloffs, etc.) - variety is the king! You should add some minor details to your environment to make it more interesting and closer to reality. Maybe also add some bevel to your surface edges so they don't look so unbelievably sharp (nothing is 100% sharp in real life). Oh and also, try Corona sun/sky - they can give really nice results.

Basically, what I wanted to say is that you cannot use some cubes, add some grass and few materials that you made in 3 minutes and expect super awesome realism. You could maybe start with studying some photographs of similar buildings and check how the environment looks and blends with the structure. That is what I do at least :)
« Last Edit: 2016-02-09, 08:55:53 by tomislavn »