Author Topic: Low cpu usage (40%)  (Read 1909 times)

2022-04-06, 04:53:14

jparkbab

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Hi, I recently bought a new desktop (i9-12900k and 64GB of memory) to do a new rendering project.
When I tested the corona benchmark first, I realized that it only used about 40% CPU usage only.
Is there any setting that I have to change in corona when I use intel CPU?  Or any other solution to solve this issue?
Please let me know if you guys have any solutions. Thanks!


2022-04-06, 08:58:00
Reply #1

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hi,

This is a Windows issue, you need to upgrade to Windows 11.

Windows 10 doesn't have full support for these CPUs.

Thanks,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!

2022-04-06, 10:00:15
Reply #2

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8053
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Here's the similar issue which was solved by upgrading to windows 11 https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=35819.msg195973#msg195973
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-04-08, 12:12:24
Reply #3

jparkbab

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
The issue was solved once I updated my window 10 to 11 as you said.
Thanks for the help! Appreciate it!

2022-11-17, 11:26:53
Reply #4

silvercat@ukr.net

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hello! What about distributed rendering?
in Windows 11 on Intel 12 series, when the rendering window is selected - everything is ok. but as soon as I click on another window, the rendering remains only on energy-efficient cores. how to fix it?
I tried to change the priority, I tried to force the window on top of others. but it doesn't help..
I use corona 7

screenshot
https://prnt.sc/xPoF008GJcqV

2022-11-17, 11:40:51
Reply #5

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 11882
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
One option would be to upgrade to Corona 8 or 9, since 7 is an old version already. The issue may be fixed in the newer versions.

Also, make sure you have your Windows fully updated.

There is also this command, but please keep in mind it is unofficial and we cannot be responsible for any issues caused by using it:
powercfg /powerthrottling disable /path "C:\Program Files\Autodesk\3ds Max 20XX\3dsmax.exe"
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Team Lead | contact us

2022-11-21, 13:28:44
Reply #6

rowmanns

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1755
  • Corona for 3ds Max QA Team
    • View Profile
Hello! What about distributed rendering?
in Windows 11 on Intel 12 series, when the rendering window is selected - everything is ok. but as soon as I click on another window, the rendering remains only on energy-efficient cores. how to fix it?
I tried to change the priority, I tried to force the window on top of others. but it doesn't help..
I use corona 7

screenshot
https://prnt.sc/xPoF008GJcqV
Hi,

This is fixed in Corona v9. The solution here would be to update to this version.

Cheers,

Rowan
Please read this before reporting bugs: How to report issues to us!
Send me your scene!