Author Topic: Dual cpu speed problems  (Read 2165 times)

2021-08-18, 13:08:22

Evolist_ua

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Hi guys, the 8th daily version of the Corona for the cinema has already been released, and the problem that I wrote about back in 2019 is still present (https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=24238.0)
The confirmation:
One cpu with no corona bitmap at materials, 9,7m rays actual

TWO CPU (not 2 core) with no corona bitmap at materials, 5,5m rays actual. One cpu is faster than two,LOL.

Two cpu with corona bitmap at materials, 16+m rays actual, this is NORMAL speed.


Are you planning to fix the render speed issue on dual-processor systems at all? If not, then at least add to the converter the ability to immediately convert all textures to the corona bitmap,because doing it manually takes a lot of time, thanks.

2021-08-18, 13:33:51
Reply #1

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10993
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
We have a similar issue reported for Corona for Max, but we were not able to reproduce it on our end (it only happens to the user).

Are you using the Corona UVW Randomizer map here?
Are you using the Corona Triplanar Map here?

Can you please share the scene with us? (if you haven't yet)

Max report for our team - (Report ID=CRMAX-866)

2021-08-18, 13:51:45
Reply #2

Evolist_ua

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
We have a similar issue reported for Corona for Max, but we were not able to reproduce it on our end (it only happens to the user).

I tested in 3d max, even in 2019 everything was ok there with speed.
No  UVW Randomizer or Triplanar there, only maps at diffure,reflect\gloss, bump.

There is no need in dropping this test scene for you, created in a couple of minutes, it's just a set of simple geometric shapes, with sky and two materials, starting from 2019 with almost every assembly I create a similar test scene, and the result is always the same.

Quote
but we were not able to reproduce it on our end
Have you tested this on a DUAL PROCESSOR PC???

2021-08-18, 13:58:53
Reply #3

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4064
    • View Profile
Just as a note, a scene is always handy, just in case some default render settings have been changed by a user etc. It's always useful to know we are testing EXACTLY the same thing, and not something "close to" or "similar to" or "kind of like" the scene where a user has a problem. So sharing the scene would still be useful, thanks :)

2021-08-18, 14:04:00
Reply #4

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10993
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Quote
but we were not able to reproduce it on our end
Have you tested this on a DUAL PROCESSOR PC???

We tested this ON BOTH SINGLE PROCESSOR PCS AND DUAL PROCESSOR PCS!!!

And to test it thoroughly we would need exactly the same scene that you are using so that we could compare with your results too.

Thanks for understanding.

2021-08-18, 14:18:14
Reply #5

Evolist_ua

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Quote
We tested this ON BOTH SINGLE PROCESSOR PCS
On systems with one cpu everything is ok, it can be seen even by the fact that when I render with one processor (in the cinema settings I limit the number of threads so that the 2nd processor does not use) then everything is fine.

Created two test scenes, with and without bitmaps,  uploaded as 1629289008_scenes-for-dual-cpu.zip. Hope this helps, thanks.

2021-08-23, 08:51:22
Reply #6

mmarcotic

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 517
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
Hello,

thanks for reporting, we have logged it internally at (Internal ID=743369807)

Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2021-09-03, 16:13:27
Reply #7

prince_jr

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
tested a simple scene...

1. rendered with texture directly in texture slot, inkl. uvw-randomizer
2. rendered with corona bitmap in texture slot, inkl. uvw-randomizer > faster, more rays, less noise, but uvw randomizer seems not to work

> mac osx mojave, c4d r23, corona v6 (hotfix 2)
   no idea how it's behaving in v7 or v8 daily builds

2021-09-06, 09:19:57
Reply #8

mmarcotic

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 517
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
Hello,

can you also include this scene with textures included? I would like to rule out all input before creating a bug-report.

Additionally, this thread concerns a very different issue.

Thanks,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.