Author Topic: Win10/Win 11 Lag  (Read 715 times)

2023-04-12, 15:10:39

leo3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Leo3D
Hello

Am I the only one to have more lag under win 11 during a render.
Under win 10 I never had any problem. I could do a photoshop but under win 11 it lags too much during a calculation
The machine has not changed.
I'm on threadripper 3990 X 128 G 4090 RTX

Thank you for your help.

ps: I even asked chatgtp ;)

2023-04-12, 16:44:41
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3621
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Ha, and what did ChatGTP say? I don't have Win11 unfortunately. Do you have other programs running in the background whilst rendering? Such as a huge file opened in PS? Just curious.
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2023-04-12, 17:27:40
Reply #2

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12510
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
This is strange because Win11 is supposed to be better prepared for CPUs with many cores. Do you have all Windows Updates installed? How about BIOS update and chipset driver update?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2023-04-13, 10:13:29
Reply #3

leo3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Leo3D
In fact it's not the first time I've noticed this, I have 2 PCs and it only does it on the threadripper. All my drivers are up to date, latest version for everything.

It's really very strange and I can't solve this problem

thanks

2023-04-13, 11:51:51
Reply #4

MircoTosti Studio

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=39793.0 .. Are you by any chance experiencing the same problems as us?

i've the asus rog strix x670e with the last bios, ryzen 7950x, ddr5 5600, hd nvme pcie 4.0, win11 with the last upgrade

2023-04-13, 17:18:23
Reply #5

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12510
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
In fact it's not the first time I've noticed this, I have 2 PCs and it only does it on the threadripper. All my drivers are up to date, latest version for everything.

Have you tried manually updating BIOS and the chipset driver?
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2023-04-13, 18:44:30
Reply #6

leo3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Leo3D
everything is up to date on my side

2023-04-14, 11:05:24
Reply #7

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1207
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Just out of curiosity, given that you have a 3990x... Would you describe the lag as we do in this particular thread over here -> https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=37900.0 ?

So basically the lag is when you have, for example, IR running and the UI gets stuttery and unresponsive in general?
Nejc Kilar | chaos-corona.com
Educational Content Creator | contact us

2023-04-14, 11:17:56
Reply #8

leo3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Leo3D
indeed it's exactly the same problem. the lag occurs during IR rendering and classic rendering. the strangest thing is that it happens only under win 11, under win 10 no problem i'm waiting to see if a solution is going to be found otherwise i'll go back to win 10

thanks for the investigation

leo

2023-04-14, 12:12:08
Reply #9

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1207
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
indeed it's exactly the same problem. the lag occurs during IR rendering and classic rendering. the strangest thing is that it happens only under win 11, under win 10 no problem i'm waiting to see if a solution is going to be found otherwise i'll go back to win 10

thanks for the investigation

leo

We really appreciate you (and everyone else!) taking the time to report these issues. Even though we are aware of them and are investigating / fixing them it is always good to have multiple reports with multiple machines with multiple OS versions included. Makes it easier to understand what might be going awry. So again, thank you for reporting it and thank you for your patience here!

If you end up reinstalling W10 please do report back if that fixes the issues for you. Otherwise, as suggested in that other thread, we'd suggest disabling SMT for now which admittedly isn't the best solution as it lowers the performance of your CPU (~20-30%) but it does mean you can work without these performance issues.
Nejc Kilar | chaos-corona.com
Educational Content Creator | contact us

2023-04-14, 12:23:57
Reply #10

leo3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 185
    • View Profile
    • Leo3D
Thank you for the support, it's very nice for us and I can assure you that there is no problem with Windows 10. I noticed it when I first switched to Win 11 at the beginning. I thought that the drivers were not yet up to date etc. In the end the problem is still there.

Good luck

ps: if you want to send me specific builds or settings to do, I can make myself available