Author Topic: Wooden trusses fiber direction  (Read 1465 times)

2022-08-31, 11:28:02

Mettigel Hawaii

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Hello,

I would like to render a big amount of wooden trusses facing different directions. Is there a way to get the fiber direction according to the direction of the objects? So far I tried exporting different layers for each direction type, for example: wood horizontal, wood vertical, wood diagonal1, wood diagonal2. In the modelling editor it works, but when I render it, the fiber directions are all the same. (picture3)
Unfortunately I not only have 4 fiber directions in 1 truss, but also 4 directions where the trusses will face. How do I avoid having a loooot of different layers?

Best regards
Mettigel Hawaii

2022-08-31, 14:44:23
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2780
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, I'm guessing this is a C4D thing. Maybe try creating selection tags for each section and set the material to cubic mapping. A little tweaking and you should get the result you're after ;)

Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2022-08-31, 19:04:35
Reply #2

Mettigel Hawaii

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Hi Beanzvision,

how can I do that? Somehow I cannot select single Polygons from an object. I am trying to do the selection in the Polygon-Mode, but it does not work.


2022-09-01, 08:32:39
Reply #3

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2780
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, can you share some more detailed screenshots?
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2022-09-01, 09:27:02
Reply #4

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
if it is one object you can select different faces and use "store selection" to generate the selection tags which you can use then for the cubic mapping.
if the beam is a group of several objects it is even easier to apple the cubic mapping to each sub beam.

overall this is work that you will need to do, you can try to use primitives from start to get proper fitting UVWs right away, then you not need to do the above.

or as option, we use our "UV spline mapper plugin" for C4D, an inhouse too to set the UV along beam, also curved beams, easy via a c4d spline (you can get that in case at www.3dtools.info), this tool we made for texturing such architectural elements, streets or furniture.

you find some info on our tool here in case it interests you:
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=37763.0
« Last Edit: 2022-09-01, 20:24:13 by Stefan-L »

2022-09-07, 22:39:15
Reply #5

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 683
    • View Profile
@Mettigel — I'm guessing you are new to C4D? Are your wood objects primitives or have you converted to mesh? If not converted, then you cannot save selection tags.

Would this be a job for the UV Randomizer?
https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/articles/4957257372817-Corona-UVW-Randomizer-Shader-C4D

2022-09-09, 23:21:12
Reply #6

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
well, with randomiser you cannot align them corrected to the beams,
so this is not a case for randomisation but alignment of direction:)

one needs to do this manually by hand (or with via helper plugins)

2022-09-18, 18:55:07
Reply #7

Mettigel Hawaii

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Hi, thank you for your answers, I was in a hurry finishing a competition thats why I did not reply.
Yes, I am very new to Cinema/Corona 😅
I tried to select different faces of the objects, but it did not work, as BigAI3D said, i was using an imported model from Vectorworks as I do not know how to model in Cinema at all. In the end I exported multiple wooden fiber direction layers, for example horizontal 1, 2, 3 ect. and then i could fix the mapping for each layer exported.
That plugin for mapping looks nice, but i dont need it that often and for my purpose it's a bit too expensive.
What I was wondering, how can I create the texture for the cut through fiber direction?
 of a beam?

2022-09-22, 10:27:27
Reply #8

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
"What I was wondering, how can I create the texture for the cut through fiber direction?
 of a beam?"


for the cut face side(normal to fibers),  you needed to find an according texsture online , or take a photo and make a extra texture for it

2022-09-22, 11:37:08
Reply #9

leo3d

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 145
    • View Profile
    • Leo3D
"What I was wondering, how can I create the texture for the cut through fiber direction?
 of a beam?"


for the cut face side(normal to fibers),  you needed to find an according texsture online , or take a photo and make a extra texture for it

Hello Stephan , when your plugs will be ready to C4D 2023 ?


2022-09-24, 21:10:56
Reply #10

Stefan-L

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 332
    • View Profile
we have most here as betas for windows in test for 2023. you can email us in case if you have it urgent