Author Topic: Corona 10 - CRASHES A LOT  (Read 3658 times)

2023-06-28, 18:56:16

Oxocan London

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 65
  • www.oxocan.com
    • View Profile
    • www.oxocan.com

It seems that the latest release of Corona 10 is crashing/freezing a lot more than the previous release. When I stop the interactive renderer, the window freezes and I am forced to force-shut-down Cinema 4D as it is no longer responding. I tried 4 different scenes and I can confirm that the problem persists.

Also, I am using a very simple scene containing 1 item and an HDRI ski.

I am using a MAC Pro Desktop 2013 (the trashcan).
Ian
Oxocan London

2023-06-30, 21:31:16
Reply #1

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 343
    • View Profile
I am using a new Mac Studio Ultra 128Gb ram and v10 seems very stable. Did a project just a few days ago and never had a crash with 1 Gb file lots of vegetation, scattering and so on. I don't remember a crash actually and been working for days.

I do notice materials not rendering occasionally and the project asset inspector often not finds the assets even though the Corona PB materials render just fine. Even after relinking the assets still show red. Especially with assets obtained by the asset browser.
Scatter does not update always in the viewport. There are little blibs here and there like that but nothing that slows me down much.

2023-07-18, 13:52:43
Reply #2

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3872
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
I've also found it very stable. Hmm. If you have the time, can you please also give the V11 daily build a test to see if it helps at all? Some important info on dailies can be found here before you proceed. https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/articles/4528480437265-Corona-for-Cinema-4D-Daily-Builds
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2023-08-07, 18:45:17
Reply #3

Mitsurugi

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 4
    • View Profile
    • Portfolio:

It seems that the latest release of Corona 10 is crashing/freezing a lot more than the previous release. When I stop the interactive renderer, the window freezes and I am forced to force-shut-down Cinema 4D as it is no longer responding. I tried 4 different scenes and I can confirm that the problem persists.

Also, I am using a very simple scene containing 1 item and an HDRI ski.

I am using a MAC Pro Desktop 2013 (the trashcan).

Hi,

I had the same issue with files I created and had no issues with in R26 and Corona 9 (am now on Cinema 2023 and Corona 10). Its quite annoying, and I could not fix it with the latest 10 hotfix release, nor with the available 11 daily.

My SOLUTION for not crashing cinema while trying to stop interactive render is to click on another cinema tab for an untitled project I keep opened while interactive is running. This will stop it and not crash the whole program. Kinda silly, but it works unitl there is an official fix. I remember I had the same issue (on the older workstation with different cinema and corona version a  year or two ago).

Files created anew in C2023 and Corona 10 work fine though.

2023-08-07, 22:47:30
Reply #4

davetwo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
FWIW I often have crashes starting a render when interactive VIEWPORT is already active. Is this what you mean? Same issues has persisted forever. Except for this I find Corona to be very stable

2023-08-08, 14:15:47
Reply #5

rafaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Same here,

Crashes when I stop IR and hit Render for the final image.

Latest Hotfix 2
Windows 11 latest
latest cinema 2023.2.2

2023-08-08, 14:56:33
Reply #6

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3872
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Are you hitting stop and then render right away or are you giving it a second or 2 to actually stop?
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2023-08-08, 15:54:01
Reply #7

davetwo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 300
    • View Profile
Personally it happens if i press Render to Picture Viewer while Interactive Viewport on. Not 100% of the time but fairly often.
if I remember to disable interactive viewport first then there's no issue

2023-08-08, 15:57:37
Reply #8

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3872
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Okay, thanks for the info. If you have any recent bug reports that you can share, that would be useful. :)
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2023-08-08, 20:26:21
Reply #9

rafaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Are you hitting stop and then render right away or are you giving it a second or 2 to actually stop?

It happens either way, i tried waiting even longer than 10sec.

2023-08-09, 09:07:24
Reply #10

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3872
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Okay, thanks for the info. Please feel free to submit any bug reports so we can investigate further.
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2023-08-18, 20:01:15
Reply #11

rafaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
I don't know about the others, but this is getting worse!

I checked all the folders and it doesn't generate any report, it just closes C4d zero reports.

I tried fresh install and no go.

switching between IR and final render it closes 90% of the time.

Is there any other way to report ?

2023-08-21, 09:48:58
Reply #12

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 3872
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
I don't know about the others, but this is getting worse!

I checked all the folders and it doesn't generate any report, it just closes C4d zero reports.

I tried fresh install and no go.

switching between IR and final render it closes 90% of the time.

Is there any other way to report ?
Are you using V10 or V10 HF1?
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona l contact us
Corona Uploader l Upload
Portfolio l Click me!

2023-08-21, 13:43:33
Reply #13

rafaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
currently on:

I tried v10 and v10 hf1, currently on v10 hf1
win 11 latest
C4d latest

2023-09-13, 13:35:54
Reply #14

rafaz

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 102
    • View Profile
Hello, it's been a while :)

Any words on this issue?