Author Topic: Proxies  (Read 2556 times)

2020-07-10, 01:45:23

Designerman77

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 507
    • View Profile
I saw that the topic is old... but any chance that the Corona Proxy is going to respect the multiple materials of an object?

I`m working on a very heavy scene with lots of buildings that slow down my C4D-viewport even on a very fast machine.
So I hoped that proxies would help in this case...

2020-07-10, 15:20:03
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2050
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, Is this what you are referring to? This basic cube has 3 selection tags, each assigned its own material. It renders fine here but depending on your version, it might be displayed as grey in the viewport.


2020-07-13, 23:41:02
Reply #2

Designerman77

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 507
    • View Profile
Hi, Is this what you are referring to? This basic cube has 3 selection tags, each assigned its own material. It renders fine here but depending on your version, it might be displayed as grey in the viewport.




Hey Beanzvision, thanks a lot for your reply !

I was actually referring to objects like houses, consisting of multiple sub-objects.
According to your example, it should actually work.


Had the impression at me it did not work. C4D R21 & Corona V5.
Gonna try it again...

Regards!



2020-07-14, 09:32:01
Reply #3

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2050
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, so I just did a small test and it appears that sub-objects are not supported at this time. You would need to merge the mesh into one using connect objects + delete and then copy all the tags from the original mesh to the proxy. Note, that after doing this your mesh may look grey but it should render okay. I hope that helps.

2020-07-15, 14:37:09
Reply #4

Designerman77

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 507
    • View Profile
Hi, so I just did a small test and it appears that sub-objects are not supported at this time. You would need to merge the mesh into one using connect objects + delete and then copy all the tags from the original mesh to the proxy. Note, that after doing this your mesh may look grey but it should render okay. I hope that helps.

Hey, thanks for your reply!

Yep, I really did not expect it to be necessary to copy the tags from one scene to the other. Pretty much underdeveloped feature this whole proxy at the moment...
In such a state, what big sense do Corona proxies make?
Also that it doesn't support the sub-objects... bad.

Better to not even imply such a feature if it is so rudimentary in its abilities.

Corona dev. team can do better!


2020-07-16, 17:38:44
Reply #5

fabio81

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 333
    • View Profile
I was trying it right now on a building. It practically doesn't work, and by analyzing the proxy and exploding it, you can see that the proxy is made up of only one geometry. So I would think that proxies could only be useful for small things like vegetation.
I never use them because I use duplicators with instance