Author Topic: recommended HW  (Read 15098 times)

2013-01-11, 12:29:58

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 755
    • View Profile
Hi I'm considering an upgrade "hopefully sometimes soon"

I'm currently considering a i7 3930K sandy bridge - E, 64GB (8x8) RAM 1600MHZ  non ecc (Not sure which brand now) and asus  P9x79 or sabertooth x79

I would like to build a solid rig that I would fully use the potential of corona and vice versa.

Any recommendations or experiences with this or similar config? Any stuff to be aware about corona and HW?

Thanks :)

2013-01-11, 14:28:46
Reply #1

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8964
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
Go for the newest/best Intel CPU you can afford. The difference in rendertimes between old-gen i7 and sandybridge i7 is 2×, between old-gen i3 and sandybridge i7 is 4×. I'll hopefully release a standalone benchmark scene with the next Alpha, so we can make a chart of different CPU performances.

(I also hope somebody from Intel is reading this and sends me a free Xeon Phi for development for promoting the company :D)
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-01-11, 15:00:05
Reply #2

Dom74

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Go for the newest/best Intel CPU you can afford. The difference in rendertimes between old-gen i7 and sandybridge i7 is 2×, between old-gen i3 and sandybridge i7 is 4×. I'll hopefully release a standalone benchmark scene with the next Alpha, so we can make a chart of different CPU performances.

(I also hope somebody from Intel is reading this and sends me a free Xeon Phi for development for promoting the company :D)

I hope too ;-)

2013-01-11, 15:22:46
Reply #3

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 755
    • View Profile
thanks for advice

how about sending them an e-mail :D (acually, you might consider joining their developer zone to get support https://secure-software.intel.com/partner/app/registration/developer?locale=en-US&scenario=partner) some info here maybe http://software.intel.com/en-us/membershiplevels
« Last Edit: 2013-01-11, 15:44:21 by lacilaci »

2013-01-11, 18:35:48
Reply #4

SHD

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 137
    • View Profile
    • https://www.instagram.com/xshd/
it would be great if corona supported xeon phi ..

2013-01-13, 18:09:38
Reply #5

Sam75

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 154
    • View Profile
Go for the newest/best Intel CPU you can afford. The difference in rendertimes between old-gen i7 and sandybridge i7 is 2×, between old-gen i3 and sandybridge i7 is 4×. I'll hopefully release a standalone benchmark scene with the next Alpha, so we can make a chart of different CPU performances.

(I also hope somebody from Intel is reading this and sends me a free Xeon Phi for development for promoting the company :D)

what about ivy bridge ? something interesting to expect from 2600K sandy bridge to ivy bridge ?

2013-01-31, 17:39:29
Reply #6

kahein

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 184
    • View Profile
and with an Intel Xeon Phi Card with 60 cores ?
Asus Z10PE-D16 WS / Dual Xeon E5-2690 v4 @ 2.60GHz / RAM 64 Go - GTX 970
Win 10 / Max 2017 / Corona 1.4

2013-02-04, 13:09:02
Reply #7

Oltskul

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 156
  • "Whoa, that is lot of boxes!" Adam West
    • View Profile
Hi,

which of theese would you recomend?



http://ark.intel.com/compare/65719,65523,65524
Corona is like some king of addictive game... "Just one... More... Render... Before... Then i will do something... Useful"

HALT!Ausnahmezeit

2013-02-04, 13:15:46
Reply #8

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8964
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
-K if you want to overclock, vanilla otherwise
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)

2013-02-04, 13:18:26
Reply #9

Oltskul

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 156
  • "Whoa, that is lot of boxes!" Adam West
    • View Profile
-K if you want to overclock, vanilla otherwise

And do I want to overclock?

- this is "I-want-to-know-public-opinion" question :)
Corona is like some king of addictive game... "Just one... More... Render... Before... Then i will do something... Useful"

HALT!Ausnahmezeit

2013-02-04, 13:37:52
Reply #10

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 755
    • View Profile
I wanted that one too... But I'm kinda worried about - max memory size 32GB

2013-02-04, 15:12:21
Reply #11

Oltskul

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 156
  • "Whoa, that is lot of boxes!" Adam West
    • View Profile
I wanted that one too... But I'm kinda worried about - max memory size 32GB

but which chwuic wuich witch one? :)
Corona is like some king of addictive game... "Just one... More... Render... Before... Then i will do something... Useful"

HALT!Ausnahmezeit

2013-02-04, 16:45:21
Reply #12

lacilaci

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 755
    • View Profile
3770K but It supports only max 32GB ram so I'm currently thinking about 3930K but I don't know, still have some little time to decide. Kinda expensive compared to 3770 but I'm not buying this every year so it might pay off..

2013-02-04, 20:49:27
Reply #13

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10956
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Maybe this could help?
http://www.notebookcheck.pl/Mobilne-procesory-rozpiska-osiagow.4344.0.html

Sorry it's in Polish but I think you get it. Higher = more powerful in tests listed at the top of table.

2013-02-04, 21:57:12
Reply #14

Paul Jones

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • View Profile
you're worried about 32gb memory limit? Jeez - what sort of scenes do you work on?