Author Topic: Failed to initialize NVIDIA AI denoiser (Using NVidia 980TI)  (Read 5579 times)

2018-11-17, 09:19:32

OccultMonk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
- I Installed latest NVidia drivers
- Reinstalled Corona 3 RC5 multiple times with installing Nvidia denoising checked.
- Downloaded manual denoising and reinstalled and checked Nvidia denoising.
- Tried on two separate computers both have a 980TI

I still get the error on both machines:

Failed to initialize NVIDIA AI denoiser: Unable to load required DLLs. Please make sure that the the NVIDIA AI denoiser Corona component is correctly installed.
Missing DLL: optix.51.dll

What am I doing wrong?

2018-11-23, 17:28:28
Reply #1

OccultMonk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Does anyone know why I can't use the Nvidia realtime denoising?

2018-11-23, 18:13:34
Reply #2

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1148
    • View Profile
Got the same problem with a 970. Aren't those Kepler cards?

2018-11-23, 20:29:36
Reply #3

pokoy

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1584
    • View Profile
I have a 970 and it works fine. However, after it didn't work on first install for me with RC2, I had to start the Nvidia installer manually, it worked fine after that.

2018-11-23, 21:31:51
Reply #4

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1148
    • View Profile

2018-11-24, 06:34:04
Reply #5

OccultMonk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
I used the manual NVidia install option as explained in the manual of Corona. But that did not resolve the problem for me.

2018-12-01, 19:24:18
Reply #6

OccultMonk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 94
    • View Profile
Is it supposed to work with the 980TI?

2018-12-01, 19:30:31
Reply #7

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10658
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2018-12-03, 12:14:37
Reply #8

sjmoir

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 5
    • View Profile
I've tried all these, doesn't seem to work on my (2x) 980Ti either.

Error encountered during denoising.
Unknown error (Details: Function "_rtCommandListExecute" caught exception: Failed to launch DLDenoiser post-processing stage. DLDenoiser run method failed with error -30.)

2018-12-04, 14:48:30
Reply #9

nicobulo

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Hi, I'm having the same kind of problem (GTX 1070 here),

was getting those 2 messages with and without Intel TurboBoost on :
 - Unknown error (Details: Function "_rtCommandListExecute" caught exception: Assertion failed: "!m_launching : Memory manager launch is already active", file: C:\u\workspace\rel5.1-win64-cuda90-VS2015-build-Release\sw\wsapps\raytracing\rtsdk\rel5.1\src\Memory\MemoryManager.cpp, line: 962)
- Error encountered during denoising.
Unknown error (Details: Function "_rtCommandListExecute" caught exception: Failed to launch DLDenoiser post-processing stage. DLDenoiser run method failed with error -29.)

tried a few methods suggested by Corona support but that didn't help,
seems like there's a problem on Nvidia side :
"No, it's not a hardware problem. Apparently even Nvidia currently is not sure what the problem is but it's a problem with their libraries.
Unfortunately, there's no timeframe for a solution as it's on Nvidia to fix it.
We are in constant communication with them and they are working on it but the fix may appear in an update to their libraries so keep a look out for future Corona daily builds where this may be fixed (i.e. the library will be updated)." from the support

I guess it won't help but I guess (for me at least) that the only solution is to wait ..!

2018-12-07, 18:00:35
Reply #10

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10658
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Yes, some users are getting errors with the new denoiser, and sadly some of them are just saying "unknown error" or "error code xxx" and we can't make much out of it. For some of those users, installing the newest driver fixed the issue immediately. For other ones, it looks like their GPUs may not be fully supported (? it's just a speculation).
We are in touch with Nvidia and either they or we will provide a fix as soon as possible.