Author Topic: Multi Pass Psd is not saved after render completion  (Read 9225 times)

2020-07-27, 10:22:34

quatrosolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Hello,

Since last build it appears that corona is unable to automatic save psd multi pass files after render completion.
Weirdly enough, after some testing I realised that this behaviour occurs only for resolutions over ±3.5k.
A psd file is created temporarily at the save destination but is automatically erased completely.
I am attaching a video showing the problem.


*I can still manually save all passes from the VFB, the issue though is that when rendering a sequence of images if this bug occurs then the rendering stops completely and does not proceed to the next frames.

Thank you in advance

Mac OSX, Mojave

2020-07-27, 12:13:23
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, I have also done a test here for a 16k render, and the file saved without any issues. Are you able to share your scene with us via our private uploader?
https://corona-renderer.com/upload
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2020-07-27, 14:33:51
Reply #2

quatrosolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.
I believe it is not scene specific. I replicated the issue with a basic scene with just a Corona sun & sky and simple cube.
I attach a video showing the same behaviour.
OSX Mojave, C4d R21

Thank you

2020-07-27, 15:10:18
Reply #3

quatrosolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
*update

I tested a few different scenarios and it appears that the problem has to do with the size of the psd file created.
The more passes you add the bigger the output file will be. Seems that ±2gb is the maximum output size that allows a psd file to be saved.
Not sure if this a corona or a general os limitation.
Using 16bit instead of 32bit pretty much solves the problem for now.

Hope this helps.

2020-07-27, 16:03:51
Reply #4

ozankar

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 16
    • View Profile
PSD files support upto 2GB. Another photoshop file format is PSB which supports large files. You may try to choose PSB instead of PSD as saving format.

2020-07-27, 19:06:48
Reply #5

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
I had the same issue today morning, but my psd file had much less than 2gb.. (3-4 masks, 16bit)
And I can remember, I had this issue a few weeks ago with an older version of Corona.

I will add additional informations if I can reproduce it.

2020-07-27, 22:57:55
Reply #6

quatrosolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
PSD files support upto 2GB. Another photoshop file format is PSB which supports large files. You may try to choose PSB instead of PSD as saving format.

You are absolutely right!!! What a weird restriction, psb solved it for me. Cheers!

2020-08-19, 21:57:50
Reply #7

lollolo

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 225
    • View Profile
I had a similar issue again today morning.
Render was at 4k, Multi-Pass only 3-4 masks.
The .psd file was saved but the masks were missing. Only beauty-pass was saved inside of the psd file.
So I checked VFB and Picture Viewer to see if they were rendered or not (I thought I just forgot to activate all my masks)

In VFB were all masks visible (so they were actually rendered) but not in C4D Picture Viewer. Non of them were visible there. 

A bit later, I restarted C4D and rendered the same scene, same settings, and everything worked as expected.
I also tried to reproduce it and played around but was not successful.
Not a problem at all, just in case someone else get this odd behavior too :)

C4D R20
RC 4

Edit: Just on small thing:
Corona Compositing tag on a Corona Sky object doesn't work properly.
- Create Corona Compositing Tag on a Corona Sky
- Enable Object Buffer
- Set up Multipass
- Rendered mask is pure black.
« Last Edit: 2020-08-19, 22:06:37 by lollolo »

2020-09-30, 09:12:31
Reply #8

dasu_

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
The problem may have to do something with a template file - if I open a new file with the template loaded and render any project, the Multi-Pass file is empty (except for a Beautypass-Layer).
However, if I open the Multi-Pass window in C4D and merely disable and then enable the configured Multi-Passes, it renders and saves properly.

Can any of you reproduce this with the files I attached?
« Last Edit: 2020-09-30, 09:20:49 by dasu_ »

2022-04-13, 12:11:33
Reply #9

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
The problem may have to do something with a template file - if I open a new file with the template loaded and render any project, the Multi-Pass file is empty (except for a Beautypass-Layer).
However, if I open the Multi-Pass window in C4D and merely disable and then enable the configured Multi-Passes, it renders and saves properly.

Can any of you reproduce this with the files I attached?

Thank you for the solution, I've just had the issue ( Corona 7h2) and fixed it by re-enabling the multi-pass setup in the MP window. It seems that Corona doesn't like multi-pass enabled by default in a template scene.

2023-03-09, 15:33:05
Reply #10

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Bump, this issue is still in the latest daily. I have 8 overnight renders messed up, the passes are missing in the multi-layers EXR files.

2023-03-10, 03:23:36
Reply #11

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer
Hi there,
I'm sorry to hear that.
Could you please provide a test scene so we can investigate and try reproducing the issue?
You can use the uploader in my signature.
Looking forward to hearing from you.
Kind regards.
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us

2023-03-10, 11:21:07
Reply #12

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Hi Benji,

I have tried for 15 minutes to reproduce the issue on purpose but without success. This happens mainly when I do several renderings during the night in a row, with the Takes module and render tokens on the output path, but it's not limited to this particular setup. Note that when I get the chance to see it happening live, the passes are missing in C4D Picture Viewer too ( only beauty is available ) but not in the Corona VFB. So it's a niche case where these passes are not properly sent to C4D render buffer.

2023-03-21, 06:59:52
Reply #13

bnji

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 225
  • Benjamin
    • View Profile
    • Corona Renderer
Hi John_Do,
Thank you for the additional info.
I've been trying to reproduce the issue with no luck so far.
Still, I'll continue the testing.
Please consider that C4D itself handles the whole "file saving" system, and Corona is just using it (not adapting it nor modifying it) for saving the output files.
Could you please let me know what is your C4D version, OS version, and Corona version?
Kind regards.
Benjamin Rosas | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us

2024-04-23, 12:14:01
Reply #14

John_Do

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 143
    • View Profile
Still here in 11H1, it's annoying as hell as the C4D PV is the only way to save layered EXR.

Could you guys fix it in the next release, or add layered exr support to the Corona VFB, whatever which one is faster to fix?