Author Topic: V8. Volume Grid crashes C4D  (Read 1524 times)

2022-04-16, 22:20:32

caspian

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Add a volume Grid. Browse to a vdb. Watch C4D crash.
Mac. M1. 12.13.1.
R25 and R24

2022-04-19, 13:32:04
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2531
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there, can you please share a short video of this happening?
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us


2022-04-21, 12:06:00
Reply #3

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2531
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Thanks. I'm sorry to see you're having this issue. Are you able to send us the .vdb as well? Does this happen with every .vdb you try to import or just this one?
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-04-21, 22:26:25
Reply #4

caspian

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Every vdb I have tried crashes me.

Here's a link to that one
https://www.dropbox.com/s/l4ick5kql5ehil9/001.vdb?dl=0

2022-04-26, 13:33:14
Reply #5

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2531
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi there,

Thanks for the file. I have tested it here and sadly, it does not crash for me. Can you also supply me with the crash report that gets generated at the time of the crash as well as the mini dump file?

 
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-04-26, 21:14:12
Reply #6

caspian

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
Where do I get those crash files from?

2022-04-27, 14:45:56
Reply #7

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2531
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Where do I get those crash files from?
For macOS users, the location is: Users/UserName/Library/Preferences/MAXON/CINEMA 4D R****/_bugreports
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-05-02, 10:56:48
Reply #8

caspian

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
I've had a render on the go for a while so only just got around to replicating the crash. Interestingly it doesn't generate any bug reports in that folder. The folders you pointed to are empty. (I've tried it in S24 and 25) I do get a bug report from Apple though if that is any use?
Attached.
« Last Edit: 2022-05-02, 11:01:33 by caspian »

2022-05-02, 11:05:39
Reply #9

caspian

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 93
    • View Profile
UPDATE:
I've just saved the same vdb file to my desktop and it didn't crash (before it was in Dropbox but set to 'Make available offline' i.e it exists on my machine) So that's some progress.
But ALL our work and assets are on Dropbox so it's not really a long term solution.

2022-07-20, 16:26:09
Reply #10

JPeters

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
We have the same issue more or less.

C4D R25
Corona 8 Hotfix 1 (and final as well)

We can load a VDB file file, make a scene with it, change the material around etc.
Then, when we save the file and close the scene it crashes when we try to re-open the file we just saved.

The weird thing is, if we save it right after importing the VDB it seems to load fine, but once we go about tweaking it a bit (materials, possibly positional keyframes etc.) it crashes on trying to re-open the file.

We are loading the VDB files from the network, I'll try putting it on my desktop to see if that works.

Edit: It would seem that it works when I put the VDB files on the desktop, but it crashes when the VDB files are on the network. Perhaps investigate this tangent further internally?

Edit2: When the VDB file is on the desktop, when we try to render the scene on our internal Web-Based-Interface render farm, *all* render clients crash because they obviously don't have the VDB file on the desktop.
« Last Edit: 2022-07-20, 17:07:42 by JPeters »

2022-07-21, 09:46:26
Reply #11

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2531
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
We have the same issue more or less.

C4D R25
Corona 8 Hotfix 1 (and final as well)

We can load a VDB file file, make a scene with it, change the material around etc.
Then, when we save the file and close the scene it crashes when we try to re-open the file we just saved.

The weird thing is, if we save it right after importing the VDB it seems to load fine, but once we go about tweaking it a bit (materials, possibly positional keyframes etc.) it crashes on trying to re-open the file.

We are loading the VDB files from the network, I'll try putting it on my desktop to see if that works.

Edit: It would seem that it works when I put the VDB files on the desktop, but it crashes when the VDB files are on the network. Perhaps investigate this tangent further internally?

Edit2: When the VDB file is on the desktop, when we try to render the scene on our internal Web-Based-Interface render farm, *all* render clients crash because they obviously don't have the VDB file on the desktop.

Hi there, where is the VDB being downloaded from? Can you please send us a support ticket using the link in my signature below? Please add as much info as possible and even a scene that we can test out. That would be great! ;)
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us

2022-07-22, 08:39:54
Reply #12

JPeters

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 70
    • View Profile
We have the same issue more or less.

C4D R25
Corona 8 Hotfix 1 (and final as well)

We can load a VDB file file, make a scene with it, change the material around etc.
Then, when we save the file and close the scene it crashes when we try to re-open the file we just saved.

The weird thing is, if we save it right after importing the VDB it seems to load fine, but once we go about tweaking it a bit (materials, possibly positional keyframes etc.) it crashes on trying to re-open the file.

We are loading the VDB files from the network, I'll try putting it on my desktop to see if that works.

Edit: It would seem that it works when I put the VDB files on the desktop, but it crashes when the VDB files are on the network. Perhaps investigate this tangent further internally?

Edit2: When the VDB file is on the desktop, when we try to render the scene on our internal Web-Based-Interface render farm, *all* render clients crash because they obviously don't have the VDB file on the desktop.

Hi there, where is the VDB being downloaded from? Can you please send us a support ticket using the link in my signature below? Please add as much info as possible and even a scene that we can test out. That would be great! ;)

I've sent a support ticket with the forum title thread as subject, it has a C4D file and also the download link for the VDB.

Cheers!

2022-07-22, 10:47:42
Reply #13

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2531
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Thanks and replied! :)
Bengamin Jerrems l chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative l contact us