Author Topic: New Build options - mobility vs. utility  (Read 633 times)

2024-02-11, 15:50:13

dmtraev

• Users
    • View Profile
Hi all,
I'm an architect, new to the forum and coming back to Corona after many years of using other products for the in-house visuals or not doing any at all. Now due to reorganisation I want to start doing some of the work personally in my office and I am in a need to build a PC. I am really struggling to make a final decision because of several details and I think you guys will be able to help me a lot here. It is very imporant to stress out that we are not professional 3D artists and archviz is a part of the design process we do and endgame images are mainly produced for our own comfort and pleasure. We do mostly interiors and small residential projects, so no master plans, huge exteriors nor complicated videos.  I was almost settled on building a SFF station, as I have to move a lot between 2-3 different work places and I was thinking of geting an AIO cooled Ryzen 9 7950X/ i9-14900,  with a RTX 4070Ti Super / 4080 Super in a small 10-11 liter case which i will be able to move around, but when I did some reasearch, reading here and in the benchmark result page I saw that the mobile version of the I9's is only around 15-20% behind the regular one. As I don't need the full factor GPU at any cost ( not gona use F-storm anymore ) I ran in the option of getting a nice mobile station like the Razor blade 18 or the '24 Lenovo legions or Asus G16 Zephyrus all having 13900 HX or the new generation of Intels mobile chips. Big + of this scenario is that in the first option I will have to get a laptop anyway, to have the option to work while travelling, and that would biuld up the cost. Also moving a 10-11kg station here and there is not the most comfortable thing and I am afraid it may damage the thing or lead to issues in the long run. As mobility is very important for me what would you recomend, as I hope most of you run in the need to work