Author Topic: Instances with Decals. Problem  (Read 489 times)

2024-04-23, 12:01:17

wardy_mk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Hello. I've recently noticed that when I have an object that involves a decal if I make an instance of it, the decal will not render. it's clearly in the structure of the model and it's even in the wireframe preview but it doesn't render out.

Is this a known bug? Am I doing something wrong?

See below for screenshots of details.

2024-04-23, 12:38:02
Reply #1

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Hi, what version are you using? It's working here. Perhaps you can share your scene also?

Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2024-04-23, 18:09:44
Reply #2

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 883
    • View Profile
I had reported this same issue a long way back, and Benjamin showed me one step I was missing. I can't remember it now of course (the image was of Stonehenge made out of giant Christmas tree lights). I had some grunge decals that were not rendering on the instances. Benjamin showed one simple thing to make it work. Same as this, but now that I set up a test scene, it seems to work. I used the same C4D r20 as before.

Wait, I just remembered the solution. Wardy, make your Decal a Child of the mesh. That should do the trick. I just tested this and it still works for me even when not a child. Let us know either way.

MacOS 12.5.1, C4D r20, Corona Version 12 (Daily Build Mar 11 2024)

2024-04-24, 07:51:49
Reply #3

wardy_mk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Ooh tried it, no joy....!

2024-04-24, 07:55:08
Reply #4

wardy_mk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
@Beanz

Here's the scene.... I've left out the HDRI as it's too large.

Thanks in advance.

2024-04-24, 10:43:47
Reply #5

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
@Beanz

Here's the scene.... I've left out the HDRI as it's too large.

Thanks in advance.

Hi, in the decals include/exclude, try adding the instance here as well. I hope this helps :)

Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!

2024-04-24, 11:01:14
Reply #6

wardy_mk

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Thanks @ Beanz
I assume this will work fine.
Thanks again :)

2024-04-24, 11:02:16
Reply #7

Beanzvision

  • Former Corona Team Member
  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 3873
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
Thanks @ Beanz
I assume this will work fine.
Thanks again :)

You're welcome! If not, let me know :)
Bengamin Jerrems l
Portfolio l Click me!