Author Topic: Refractive leaf material showing over closer objects  (Read 4139 times)

2014-08-06, 11:38:35

Alessandro

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 323
    • View Profile
    • DotLab Srl
Really don't understand the reason why, I've removed all cut maps, actually all maps, all glass and almost everything in the scene, but the problem still remain! In render, some leafs appear over the column, like it is a little transparent in some parts...
Erasing some columns the problem disappears...

I'm using this build: Jul 16 2014 21:51:07 and I can't test this with a newer release in this period, sorry.
Ondra, please give me an address where I can send you max archive of the scene if you need it.
« Last Edit: 2015-01-19, 18:48:03 by Keymaster »
My Ducati or a render with Corona.....mmm, hard question!

2014-08-06, 12:32:43
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7108
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
You can upload it there: https://corona-renderer.com/upload/
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-08-06, 12:53:47
Reply #2

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10786
  • Marcin
    • View Profile

2014-08-06, 14:05:53
Reply #3

Alessandro

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 323
    • View Profile
    • DotLab Srl
Maru, is not in the leaf shader, i remove every maps, it a standard corona material with a green diffuse color!!!
The only way I find to remove the problem is to delete some columns, it is unbelievable, but if there are less than 6 columns the render has got no problem...
I create the column by myself, the geometry is ok, just the top is not mine, it's a poly, but I often use it in other renders with no problem, I can't understand...
My Ducati or a render with Corona.....mmm, hard question!

2014-08-06, 14:06:15
Reply #4

Alessandro

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 323
    • View Profile
    • DotLab Srl
You can upload it there: https://corona-renderer.com/upload/

Yes, thanks

Edit:
File uploaded: 1407326964_Leafproblem.zip
« Last Edit: 2014-08-06, 14:12:27 by Alessandro »
My Ducati or a render with Corona.....mmm, hard question!

2014-08-06, 14:19:19
Reply #5

Alessandro

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 323
    • View Profile
    • DotLab Srl
One more info (I'm having some more tests...):
if you convert to mesh the columns, you solve the problem...
My Ducati or a render with Corona.....mmm, hard question!

2014-08-06, 14:26:50
Reply #6

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7108
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
If those columns are not meshes, then what, body objects, nurbs, patches?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2014-08-06, 16:08:57
Reply #7

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10786
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Are you using layers in your scene? How was the plant made?

2014-08-06, 17:25:07
Reply #8

Alessandro

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 323
    • View Profile
    • DotLab Srl
Top of columns are poly, plants are mesh, and yes, plants are in a separate layer.
My Ducati or a render with Corona.....mmm, hard question!

2014-08-06, 17:49:53
Reply #9

Alessandro

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 323
    • View Profile
    • DotLab Srl
Are you using layers in your scene? How was the plant made?
Maru, removing all layers does not change anything. The only way I found if to erase some columns or collapse them to mesh. But, I did't test this solution in every view. I have this particular situation in some views in different place of the project.
Btw, I correct this little artefact in Photoshop in 15", so I want just help to find the reason why.
Thanks for your interesting.
My Ducati or a render with Corona.....mmm, hard question!

2014-08-06, 22:24:14
Reply #10

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10786
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
So the problem disappears if you convert editable mesh to editable poly? This is odd.

2014-08-07, 11:51:22
Reply #11

Alessandro

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 323
    • View Profile
    • DotLab Srl
This morning I have more time to check this scene.
Maru, actually in leaf shader there are some (forgotten) refraction.

Way to solve (apparently) the problem:
- erase one column. Less than 6 columns the problem disappear.
- collapse the top of the column in a mesh (now is a poly)
- remove refraction from leaf shader.
- use BDIR instead of progressive or bucket engine, with BDIR the problem disappear.

I reduce the scene to the minimum you need to test this, if you want... in attachment.
Again, I can't test this with newer Corona daily build, maybe someone of you can do it.

Thanks again,
Alessandro
My Ducati or a render with Corona.....mmm, hard question!

2014-08-07, 13:42:28
Reply #12

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 10786
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
Maru, actually in leaf shader there are some (forgotten) refraction.
That's why I asked. I remember Keymaster asking about refraction in such situation in some other thread. Why are you using refraction in leaves? Use translucency.

2014-08-08, 02:39:16
Reply #13

ATTRAY84

  • Guest
I had the same problem. Grass leaves were partly visible through another object.  I was using normal map for bump. When I replaced normal map for black and white bit map, problem had disappeared.
This problem appears in specific camera angle.

2015-02-12, 21:00:17
Reply #14

Ondra

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 8947
  • Turning coffee to features since 2009
    • View Profile
fixed
Rendering is magic.
Private scene uploader | How to get minidumps for crashed/frozen 3ds Max | Sorry for short replies, brief responses = more time to develop Corona ;)