Author Topic: Corona for Apple Silicon M1?  (Read 4771 times)

2021-06-15, 13:58:21

SUPER68

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Don't hate me if this has been asked MANY times... I just cant seem to get answers from the web whatever way I phrase it. Is / when is optimised / native Corona coming for Apple Silicone M1 Macs? I've run the Rosetta version but its slow... Again, apologies if I'm a doofus! All the best

Brian

2021-06-15, 14:47:37
Reply #1

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4040
    • View Profile
It will be coming, but we don't have a date for when it will be coming, sorry.

2021-06-15, 16:48:08
Reply #2

Beanzvision

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 2085
  • Bengamin
    • View Profile
    • Cormats
We don't hate you Brian, but there is a search function on this forum ;)

2021-06-18, 13:41:57
Reply #3

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
I am with you Brian, also very keen to know a little more about how much of an issue this is for the Corona team. Has it any priority at all or is it actively worked on right now. No idea.

Many desginers working with C4D are not full time rendering images. There are lots who render a few times a month and are pleased to do so on a mac and with Coronarender. Redshift and Octane are really not an alternative yet. So once Coronarender has a native version I might just stick with Apple for now. If it takes another year or more I would probably go elsewhere.

Btw, tx Coronarender for version 7.

2021-06-22, 10:07:53
Reply #4

Atlantis

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 19
    • View Profile
So once Coronarender has a native version I might just stick with Apple for now. If it takes another year or more I would probably go elsewhere.

Same here. I'm a Mac user since 25 years. My next big investment would be a new "Pro" Mac with Apple silicon if Corona would run natively.
Otherwise I had to buy a Windows PC workstation for the first time, or work with a different renderer, both of which would annoy me.

2021-09-15, 17:23:58
Reply #5

wasfrans

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
You can also have a look at the roadmap, it's at this moment in the left column.

https://trello.com/b/dgI8vjDb/corona-tentative-road-map-cinema-4d


2021-09-15, 17:47:01
Reply #6

johnnyswedish

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 148
    • View Profile
Hi Atlantis,

I too was a total Mac man since late 80's... Did the switch to Windows 10 and a Gigabyte Aero 17 laptop... Was scared of the change but boy, will I never look back! Speed and reliability is not comparable to Macs... most people in the design industry I know are switching. Might be a good time :-) John

2021-09-15, 23:01:40
Reply #7

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Hi John,
I am afraid you're right. Apple is watches and phones first. I love my new MacBook m1 though but will probably get a proper PC for my daily work as an architect. So fed up with the waiting. Another thing is that I can no longer compete with architects on Lumion or a fast PC. C4D with CR is great as well but you need something fast and conceptual as well.

All the best Francois
www.francoisverhoeven.com

2021-09-16, 10:52:17
Reply #8

mmarcotic

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 492
  • Jan - C4D QA
    • View Profile
Hello,

we want to introduce full M1 support in v8, it is however not an easy task. In the meantime, it is possible to use M1 with Corona via Rosetta.

Thanks,
Jan
Learn how to report bugs for Corona in C4D here.

2021-09-16, 14:33:39
Reply #9

frv

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
tx, good to know that V8 will have Apple silicon support.

2021-09-16, 14:52:58
Reply #10

TomG

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 4040
    • View Profile
Just a reminder that the wording is we *want* 8 to have M1 support - this does not guarantee it will have, though; as noted, it's not an easy task. So this is not a promise that it will be in 8, just a statement we would like it to be. All depends how development goes and what unforeseen things crop up.

2021-10-24, 12:41:45
Reply #11

bitarafali

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
    • My artworks
Just a reminder that the wording is we *want* 8 to have M1 support - this does not guarantee it will have, though; as noted, it's not an easy task. So this is not a promise that it will be in 8, just a statement we would like it to be. All depends how development goes and what unforeseen things crop up.

I have another question about M1. What about Corona-Render in windows(3ds max or C4D) but in a apple macbook M1 that running windows?
vimeo.com/bitarafali

2021-10-25, 10:29:44
Reply #12

jms.lwly

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 157
    • View Profile
    • jms.lwly studio
I have another question about M1. What about Corona-Render in windows(3ds max or C4D) but in a apple macbook M1 that running windows?

For reference - I have 3DS Max / Corona running fine on a Mac running Windows (via Parallels) but not yet tried to move the setup onto an M1 Mac. I know there have been issues with the M1 chips running some Windows apps via Parallels and it's not yet optimised - also, with the move to M1 chips there is no Bootcamp option any more so virtualising Windows would be the only route (Parallels, VMWare, other).

2021-10-25, 21:50:20
Reply #13

Philw

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 48
    • View Profile
You can’t virtualise normal windows on M1. There is a developer ARM64 version of Windows but it’s not great and as far as I know currently not supported by VMware or Parallels either.

2021-11-03, 07:33:18
Reply #14

jp3112

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
„In the meantime, it is possible to use M1 with Corona via Rosetta.“

Do you or someone else know how the performance and the stability of corona run through Rosetta is? I need a Notebook for homeoffice and the 14‘ MacBook Pro would be perfect except Corona isn’t natively supported yet.