Author Topic: video mapping  (Read 3950 times)

2015-10-28, 06:22:46

marioteodoru

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Hello,

i would like to do a video mapping simulation. Project an video on a car, and rotate the camera around the car. I am a newbie in this field, and i read a lot of info about projectors and lenses and perspective, but it kind of confuses me. I don't understand a lot of stuff :(. I would like to ask for help, if you guys are kind enough to explain some stuff to me. My projects it's just a simulation. I doesn't have to be applied later in real life.

So, my question is, If i just use a coronalightmtl, with a texture and 1.0 direction, is this correct? I already tried and it kind of works, but i'm not sure it's what happens in real video mapping. I think what i get it's just the reflection ( i use a car as the geometry to project on to, and it has reflective material). Do i have to model a projector lens?

How do i proceed with this. Does anyone knows a tutorial, or can give me some hints?
Thank you !

2015-10-28, 11:03:58
Reply #1

romullus

• Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Not sure if i entirely correct understood your question. But if you talking about light projector, then yes, plug image or image sequence into CoronaLight's or CoronaLightMtl's texmap slot and you good to go. But i wouldn't recoment to set directionality at 1.0. First of all it can produce a lot of noise in Corona and second, it's physically incorrect - even lasers don't emmit 100% parallel light beam. Instead make your light source smaller and set directionality at 0.4 - 0.6, that should resemble real life projectors much more.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2015-10-28, 23:19:56
Reply #2

marioteodoru

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Hello,
thank you for your answer.

this is what i'm trying to achive