Chaos Corona for Cinema 4D > [C4D] General Discussion

Evaluating Corona vs. Octane (vs. Indigo)

(1/3) > >>

Kukulcan:
Hi all! First off, as a hobbyist I really don't like subscription model. Got me a R21 perpetual and was glad there was an unbiased renderer with perpertual licence - Indigo. Unfortunately, their forum is in deep sleep and there is practically no support for my content (Laubwerk, Vizpark, Forester).

My setup right now (and won't change for about probably 2 years): 3900X, 64GB RAM, 3060Ti - 8GB obviously.

Hobby work is mostly huge scenes with lots of trees etc. Loved to just drop a skybox in Indigo and let the sky do the lighting, will it be similar in Corona?

Render time is not #1 priority, but I love the integrated render preview of Indigo. I wonder if 8GB of VRAM will be a problem with GPU rendering of compex scenes and if with my setup GPU render speeds will improve over CPU substantially.

Animation is of no interest right now, probably will use Redshift once I do commercial animation again.

Probably stuff I can find out myself, but kind of also evaluating the community ;)

TomG:
GPU vs CPU render speeds, as to which is fastest, will depend on the scene to be honest. https://corona-renderer.com/features/proudly-cpu-based remains our take on comparisons between the 2 approaches.

As for 8 GB of GPU RAM, in general that is the most that any card has so the engines should be set up to work with that amount as it is the most common set up. What that means though is it should be able to manage doing any out of core rendering with that amount of VRAM, as complex scenes would likely require more, and having to be out of core does slow things down. Basically though you wouldn't be any worse off than anyone else rendering using GPU :)