Author Topic: corona bitmap low quality in the viewport  (Read 1489 times)

2021-07-27, 15:30:10

Ahmad Kouti

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • CG Artist
    • View Profile
    • www.ahmadkouti.com
Hi,

Please check the difference between Corona Bitmap and 3DsMax Bitmap, why is Corona Bitmap low quality in the viewport?

2021-07-27, 16:26:17
Reply #1

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7294
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Check your viewport settings. Open viewport configuration>display performance and in viewport images and texture display resolution set all 3 spinners to the equal value. See if that makes Corona and native bitmaps to be displayed at equal quality in the viewport.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-07-27, 16:28:07
Reply #2

Ahmad Kouti

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • CG Artist
    • View Profile
    • www.ahmadkouti.com
Check your viewport settings. Open viewport configuration>display performance and in viewport images and texture display resolution set all 3 spinners to the equal value. See if that makes Corona and native bitmaps to be displayed at equal quality in the viewport.

texture quality is 8000


2021-07-27, 16:31:11
Reply #3

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7294
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Please do as i said and report back, thanks.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-07-27, 16:37:37
Reply #4

Ahmad Kouti

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • CG Artist
    • View Profile
    • www.ahmadkouti.com
Please do as i said and report back, thanks.

It still has the same problem

2021-07-27, 16:46:00
Reply #5

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7294
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
That's strange. Did you try to restart 3ds max?
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-07-27, 16:49:28
Reply #6

Ahmad Kouti

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • CG Artist
    • View Profile
    • www.ahmadkouti.com
That's strange. Did you try to restart 3ds max?

I've had the same problem with several systems in the last few months, I don't think the problem is with my 3DsMax.

I think I had this problem in previous versions with Corona Bitmap and reported this problem.

Just try with a good quality texture and zoom




2021-07-27, 16:59:45
Reply #7

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7294
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Is it with all textures, or only with some? If it's the latter, then i'd suggest to upload the texture in question for the support team investigation. https://corona-renderer.com/upload
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-07-27, 17:17:48
Reply #8

Ahmad Kouti

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 98
  • CG Artist
    • View Profile
    • www.ahmadkouti.com

2021-07-27, 20:04:13
Reply #9

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 7294
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
No problem. Don't forget to leave the file name here after you will upload it.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2021-07-27, 20:27:57
Reply #10

PROH

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1176
    • View Profile
Hi. Just tested this on max2020 and Corona7. Seems like there's a loose connection :) Sometimes it works, and sometimes it doesn't.

So try changing the values back and forth and see if it suddenly works.

Hope it helps

2021-07-28, 10:00:32
Reply #11

GeorgeK

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 597
  • George
    • View Profile
Hi I don't believe this is a Corona issue, seems like a 3ds max inconsistency. After meddling a bit, my regular bitmap returns worse quality in the viewport.

You might also want to try altering CoronaBitmap interpolation and refresh the material in the viewport.

Lastly can you please clarify if you are using any corona-texmap nodes after Corona bitmap?
« Last Edit: 2021-07-28, 10:56:14 by GeorgeK »
For solutions, troubleshooting, ticket requests please visit - [link]

2021-07-28, 11:15:21
Reply #12

Avi

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 118
    • View Profile
Hi,

I am from the Corona support team & I have gone through your issue.

Some troubleshooting steps & advice are as follows:

1. By default, Corona bitmap textures have better viewport quality than native 3ds Max Bitmap on the viewport. Please see the comparison below.
https://prnt.sc/1h03o3l

2. I think it is already covered before but I would like to make sure that you are using good viewport Images and textures resolution which can be set here. Make sure the value is not downscaled. see the screenshot link: https://prnt.sc/1h04a28

3. Try changing the Filtering of bitmap and check if there is any improvement. See a short video here showcasing Corona bitmap vs Native bitmap.
https://bit.ly/3BQG5eb

I have some questions for you:

1. What version of Corona and 3ds Max are you currently using? I recommend you to use the latest version if possible. The current latest version is Corona 7. There is a high chance if there was any possible bug in the past, it would have been rectified in the latest version already. https://corona-renderer.com/download

2. What is the resolution of your texture? is it 1k, 2k, 4k, etc.

3. What is the Image file extension? Is it a JPG, PNG, Tiff, or TGA file?

4. Can you send us a screenshot of your display driver being used by your 3ds Max application.
https://prnt.sc/1h06ita

Last but not least. Please send us your file using our private uploader: https://corona-renderer.com/upload

Please do mention your scene name once you have finished uploading.

Looking forward to hearing back from you.

Regards,
Avi