Corona Renderer Forum

General Category => Porting and API => [Archive] Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD => Topic started by: TomG on 2020-03-30, 17:25:25

Title: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2020-03-30, 17:25:25
Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development

We're sorry to have to announce the suspension of development on Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD. Our apologies to our Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD users, please know that we share your disappointment and that this was a very difficult decision for us to take. We've kept working on this as long as possible - right up to releasing a new daily build on Monday March 23rd - in the hopes that we could find a way to continue development without any interruption, but that has proven impossible.
 
The primary cause is finding enough good developers and related staff - this is hard at the best of times, and in the current world situation, is tougher than ever (by the way, if you know of anyone who has found themselves looking for work due to a change in circumstances, send them to https://corona-renderer.com/about/jobs (https://corona-renderer.com/about/jobs) ). Alex has done an amazing job in carrying the development through to its current advanced stage, but to push further forward and move toward an actual release, we'd need a larger team, and that is just not going to happen at the moment.
 
After re-evaluating our strategies and plans in the current environment, we've decided to move Alex on to the Core team, and pause the development for ARCHICAD for an unknown amount of time.
 
Please note that this is specific to Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD only. Corona Renderer for 3ds Max and Corona Renderer for Cinema 4D are unaffected, as is the company as a whole, and development on those is continuing with no change.
 
Meantime, if you are a developer, or have skills in QA, support, project management, etc., do please visit our jobs page at https://corona-renderer.com/about/jobs (https://corona-renderer.com/about/jobs) and get in touch with us. Even if hiring is impacted right now by travel restrictions etc., we can keep your information on file for when things return to normal.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: alexhajdu on 2020-03-30, 17:36:16
Hello everybody!

It was a hard week and you probably now understand, why I was not very active on the forum recently. I see all your posts about issues in the latest release and I'll make my best to find some spare time and fix critical issues. Also, I'm here to make support, so don't be afraid to ask questions or report new bugs or features.
I will find couple of minutes for the support for sure...

I'm kinda sad, it was a great time spent with a great community. I hope this is only a temporary situation and I'll be back on the project in the near future.

Stay safe and keep doing great work!
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: tma on 2020-03-30, 19:56:17
So Sad ( While not really surprised,...;( )

Let's hope for better days ..for all of us.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: SAFS on 2020-03-31, 13:08:41
Oh no !

I hope Corona decision is temporary and in near future You will continou working on it - it's worth it !
Meanwhile - good luck !
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Ole on 2020-03-31, 14:54:44
This is very sad, but the alpha 5 is still far, far better than the integrated Cinerender in Archicad.
We will keep using it until you pry it from our corona infected, dead hands.

Ole
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: maknu on 2020-04-01, 10:20:37
Crap. I had to check if it was april 1st yesterday...
Great effort so far and really interesting too see what can be done. I was hoping that one not yet announced secret was that Corona would replace Cinerender in AC24.
Back to reality and again thanks for the commitment.
/Mats
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Ehabhd on 2020-04-01, 20:22:44
I'm sad 😔 to hear that my 2 best working flow in my ferm is archicad and with Corona Renderer it's unstoppable I hope you Will be back soon my best wishes for you guys
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2020-04-01, 20:34:13
We'd like to thank everyone for your comments, for all the support you are showing. We too share your disappointment of course, and we will keep you updated on news - hopefully with some bug fixes for the last daily if we can, and if plans change again longer term and we can resume work, you will all be the first to hear of course.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: liukperry on 2020-04-09, 12:55:25
Thank you, we still hope you can work again on it,  not to loose all the amazing work you have done. It will be difficult to live without Corona for AC!!!
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: nicochile on 2020-04-09, 17:03:15
Bad news :(
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: karolorbe on 2020-04-10, 00:56:46
So sad to read this 😢 I'm such a big fan of this project. Hope it is in fact a temporary issue... Thanks for the great work anyways, I'll continue to enjoy it as long as we can.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Squall_tmo on 2020-04-21, 01:30:00
Really sad to hear it!
Many thanks for your work!
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: mattamizo on 2020-05-12, 17:28:46
is there any chance to download the last test version of corona for archicad? I know that i'ts on Alpha mode, but It would be nice to try it even in this stage.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2020-05-12, 18:07:15
It's still there in the daily builds thread: https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=28303
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Ehabhd on 2020-05-22, 04:37:23
Is there any news on Corona render for archicad
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2020-05-22, 14:15:54
Just that it is suspended at the moment, sorry.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: alexhajdu on 2020-05-25, 08:33:47
No. It's still on hold. I'm working intensively on another project. We will inform you here on the forum when something changes.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Philip kelly on 2020-05-25, 09:46:10
ohhhhhhh ...what ya working on................? inquiring minds would like to know.
An unreal plugin?
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: raffe3003 on 2020-07-17, 10:16:20
Any [good] news?
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: maru on 2020-07-17, 11:22:34
ohhhhhhh ...what ya working on................? inquiring minds would like to know.
An unreal plugin?

As explained in the original message, Alex is now working in the Core team (that is: the core of Corona Renderer). As you know, developer are invaluable to us.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: mauro_lck on 2020-07-22, 09:27:27
we understand that it is difficult to update, to program, but the evolution of time on archicad is vital for many architects and visualizers, you must at least get to the final version!
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: raffe3003 on 2020-07-27, 22:25:49
I know that development is suspended but — any chance to see plugin for Archicad 24?
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: archinan2g on 2020-08-16, 05:05:48
Someone knows how to activate the Alpha 5 now that this discontinued the Corona render for ArchiCad
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: chk_architect on 2020-09-05, 23:09:45
Please, make possible to use Corona Render for ArchiCAD 24. Without any changes, just make little update. I've try to install latest build to AC24, but it doesn't work.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: sergo_sha on 2020-09-08, 15:12:54
Agree with chk_architect! Please just convert сurrent version to Archicad 24 without any changes! We are ready to wait for new core and functions as long as necessary.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Ehabhd on 2020-09-08, 21:03:39
I add my voice to their voice mak Corona render for archicad 24
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Ole on 2020-09-21, 15:18:21
A version for AC24 would be fantastic. Even in its current state Corona for Archicad is far better than the integrated cinerender.

Ole
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Marvey on 2020-09-22, 15:32:55
I really hope corona team can continue this work on archicad in future, i use c4d with corona, and i use archicad too so would be nice to have a corona in future for archicad
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: ChrysMacZ on 2020-10-13, 10:15:48
Hi all !! Very interesting by Corona for Archicad on Mac Os X too ! Actually I work with Archicad, save to Cinema 4D, convert all Archicad Materials to corona and render, the problem if I have structural modifications I must begin again theses steps.
+++ Corona for Archicad Mac OS X, thanx at all. ;-)
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: raffe3003 on 2020-10-22, 12:20:19
...any news?
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: maru on 2020-10-22, 17:51:14
We could continue working on the Archicad plugin, including recompiling for compatibility with newer Archicad releases, if we had developers available for this. Sadly, we do not have any developers who could do it right now.
If you are an experienced developer who would be able to continue the development of the Archicad plugin, or if you know someone who could do that, please send us an email to hiring@corona-renderer.com and we will see what exactly the possibilities are.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: mauro_lck on 2020-12-03, 12:01:33
tell us the truth, chaos denied the development of corona on archicad because he bought you? And don't say there's a shortage of developers! Give us good news
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2020-12-03, 16:27:38
We always tell you the truth. No, Chaos (we are Chaos too btw, there's no "us and them") did not tell us to stop development. We don't have enough developers to ensure a high standard of quality on our existing versions and create new versions, so the new versions had to be brought to a stop. Why would we not say that, when it's the truth? While we'd love to give you good news, that still applies, there was no sudden change in the number of good developers applying.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Romarrio on 2021-02-11, 13:12:21
We always tell you the truth. No, Chaos (we are Chaos too btw, there's no "us and them") did not tell us to stop development. We don't have enough developers to ensure a high standard of quality on our existing versions and create new versions, so the new versions had to be brought to a stop. Why would we not say that, when it's the truth? While we'd love to give you good news, that still applies, there was no sudden change in the number of good developers applying.

Corona renderer for ArchiCAD, it is best that one can only imagine in the world of architecture and design!
You have heard this since the beginning of the development of the plugin for AC.
You just think about how many people will stop jumping from program to program to do their job efficiently, and as a result, how much the whole process will speed up.
I understand that the management of your company is guided by financial indicators, but then it is not clear why the coronarender for AC is still not paid!? I am an architect myself and now I only do my projects in archicad with Corona render. And I am ready to buy a license, just give me the opportunity,
I think 100% of the forum users will agree with me!
(Example) Even now, the plugin covers 90% of what I need and most of my clients are satisfied with the quality of the presentation. I just charge a little less money for my work in this case (but MUCH, I win, in time!!!), and if the client wants the perfect picture quality, then he pays more money. And I'm working on a 3D max + Corona image for him.


You hear quite logical questions from users, such as mauro_lck, and there can be no other thoughts. V-Ray is Chaos, and you are with them for one thing. If not, prove it!

"How do we make users believe in our project? I think they just download the demo version of CoronaRenderer and see everything with their own eyes. " - Your words! (CORONA RENDERER: BEHIND THE SCENES. INTERVIEW)

I decided to write this post, as I hope that from the outside it is more visible ( I speak on behalf of everyone who has already tried coronarender in archicad) and you will appreciate this idea!

Start voting, in the environment of architects and designers working in Archicad, and you will see confirmation of my words and get a boost of energy to continue your work!!!
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2021-02-11, 15:39:26
It's not energy we need to continue the work, it would be developers :) Those are in short supply, and we can't take away from our existing versions (which without finding new good developers would be the only way to continue work on any other version). There is a reason that the C++ Developer job offer has been on our jobs page forever, because there simply are not enough good applicants.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Romarrio on 2021-02-13, 07:05:19
It's not energy we need to continue the work, it would be developers :) Those are in short supply, and we can't take away from our existing versions (which without finding new good developers would be the only way to continue work on any other version). There is a reason that the C++ Developer job offer has been on our jobs page forever, because there simply are not enough good applicants.

On the websites of the vacancy you were looking for?
Such as Glassdoor
Stack Overflow Jobs
TechMeAbroad
Well, I do not believe that in the whole world there is no specialist who will suit you! ;)
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2021-02-15, 13:53:25
They can't be in the whole world, they have to be able to move to Prague :) And it is also surprising how many do not pass the various coding tests we set them too.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Romarrio on 2021-02-17, 11:41:56
They can't be in the whole world, they have to be able to move to Prague :) And it is also surprising how many do not pass the various coding tests we set them too.

Post your tests here or in a personal message, I will find out from my friends, suddenly we will find a candidate!? Thanks
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2021-02-17, 14:18:39
Send your friends to https://corona-renderer.com/about/jobs and they can apply :)

Obviously, no point posting tests where they can just go and spend any amount of time googling answers and the like.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: algore on 2021-04-03, 09:28:21
I am disappointed, GS or nemetschek does not help on solving this lack of developers issue. It would be for their own benefit, I suppose.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: tma on 2021-04-05, 09:06:58
Yes too disappointing, considering the quality of the work and integration advancement that were acheived.
lets keep the hope alive :)
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: лилия1504 on 2021-04-15, 16:07:40
где скачать корону для архикад теперь?????? дайте ссылку реальную!
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2021-04-15, 16:49:27
где скачать корону для архикад теперь?????? дайте ссылку реальную!

English only on the forums, ty.

The last download (from a year and a half ago) would be in the daily build thread https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php?topic=26434.0
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: derekjackson on 2021-07-15, 22:33:49
Hi all, just wondering if any news on restarting this? Corona is our only solution for true lighting solutions in AC at the minute. We move to AC25 in a year so I'm not sure what we'll do after that!
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2021-07-15, 22:51:49
No news, no plans, sorry.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: raffe3003 on 2021-07-17, 16:58:07
No news, no plans, sorry.
Oh, Tom you break our hearts...
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: TomG on 2021-07-18, 21:20:45
Sorry for that :( The only good Heartbreakers are the ones that went along with another different Tom ;)
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Adam Cigler on 2021-10-02, 14:00:50
Please continue developing corona for archicad! Or just make Build for  archicad 24 and 25 of version corona which is already done. PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE! PLEASE!  :))) we are really enjoing corona renderer in our office. We didnt update archicad since 23 just because of corona, it is so helpfull do everithing in one software.
Title: Re: Suspension of Corona Renderer for ARCHICAD development
Post by: Adam Cigler on 2021-10-02, 14:19:56
We will be happy to pay for licence if you port it to AC 24 or 25! please:)