Author Topic: New workstation (Xeon E5-2683v3 OEM or E5-2680v1)  (Read 12730 times)

2016-09-21, 12:33:40

Majeranek

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Hi guys,

In upcoming weeks I want to buy a new workstation. Currently I'm working on overclocked i7-5820k (around 1200 points in Cinebench R15). I would make this one a render node after that.
My budget is around 1900€ so I think to make that with some used Xeon CPU-s. Initally I was focused on E5-2780v1 but after some reading I decided to switch to E5-2683v3 OEMs.
This is how it would look like:

1x Motherboard Asus Z9PE-D8 WS - 430€
2x Procesor Intel Xeon E5-2683v3 OEM - 640€
2x BeQuiet Pure Rock - 65€
8x Crucial DDR3 1600MHz 8gb - 280€
1x SSD Goodram 240GB - 72€
1x Zasilacz Corsair AX760 - 175€
1x Zalman R1 - 42€
1x some used GPU to run viewports smoothly - 140€
1x HDD WD Blue 1TB - 56€

All of it sums up to 1900€
What do you think of that configuration?
« Last Edit: 2016-09-21, 13:11:03 by Majeranek »
marjoramstudio.com Website
be.net/filipmalecki Behance Portfolio
Instagram Instagram Profile

2016-09-21, 13:41:36
Reply #1

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Quote
2x Procesor Intel Xeon E5-2683v3 OEM - 640€

This is really good price. I built such WS for a friend a 3 weeks ago (I think), and he bought OEM 2683v3 for 600 +/- euro each.
But I went and checked eBay and lo-behold, you can now get oem/retail for half the price :- ). Good deal !

Quote
8x Crucial DDR3 1600MHz 8gb - 280€

You need DDR4 and ECC. Buffered or Non. Single/dual/quad-rank (not channel).

Quote
1x SSD Goodram 240GB

What ? Buy 500GB Samsung EVO for 149 euro. It's the only TLC based SSD on market which doesn't suffer TLC drawbacks (mostly because of 3D Vnand, others use small amounts of MLC cache to compensate).
Buying anything else is unwise. 240 (which is like 200 in practice after all) is too little for today.

Quote
1x Zasilacz Corsair AX760 - 175€

I wondered what zasilacz is supposed to be for a moment :- D
Great choice (It's Seasonic rebranded ). If you need money to upgrade from 240 to 500GB buy only golden PSU and save 70 euros here. But I highly approve of high-end psus.

Quote
1x HDD WD Blue 1TB - 56€

What can you fit on 1TB ? Buy at least the 2TB version for 30 more euros.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2016-09-21, 14:08:55
Reply #2

Jann

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 142
    • View Profile
And for V3 or V4 Xeon you need Asus Z10PE-D8 WS or other socket 2011-3 board ;)

2016-09-21, 14:42:00
Reply #3

Majeranek

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Thank for the information!

Quote
Quote
8x Crucial DDR3 1600MHz 8gb - 280€

You need DDR4 and ECC. Buffered or Non. Single/dual/quad-rank (not channel).

You're right. I've found some in similar price.

Quote
Quote
1x SSD Goodram 240GB

What ? Buy 500GB Samsung EVO for 149 euro. It's the only TLC based SSD on market which doesn't suffer TLC drawbacks (mostly because of 3D Vnand, others use small amounts of MLC cache to compensate).
Buying anything else is unwise. 240 (which is like 200 in practice after all) is too little for today.

Thanks for the advice.

Quote
Quote
1x Zasilacz Corsair AX760 - 175€

I wondered what zasilacz is supposed to be for a moment :- D
Great choice (It's Seasonic rebranded ). If you need money to upgrade from 240 to 500GB buy only golden PSU and save 70 euros here. But I highly approve of high-end psus.

I forgot to translate that. Zasilacz means PSU in polish. :)

Quote
Quote
1x HDD WD Blue 1TB - 56€

What can you fit on 1TB ? Buy at least the 2TB version for 30 more euros.

Yeah, I was thinking of that too. 2TB will be better.

Quote
And for V3 or V4 Xeon you need Asus Z10PE-D8 WS or other socket 2011-3 board ;)

I missed that. You're right, so the motherboard will be around 85€ more expensive.
marjoramstudio.com Website
be.net/filipmalecki Behance Portfolio
Instagram Instagram Profile

2016-09-21, 16:15:37
Reply #4

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Totally blind :- D Didn't even catch that myself.

BTW, if you find D16 WS for same price as D8 WS, motherboard, buy the D16 WS. OEM is supposedly final stepping, but every other stepping had better compatibility with D16.

Also, D16 entered market later, and had no faulty revision. D8 had and some shops still carry it, some of those can't be just updated in bios. Asus of course replaces them for free but it's hassle to go through. D16 is guaranteed to work 100perc.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2016-09-21, 17:08:10
Reply #5

agentdark45

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 577
    • View Profile
Damn, nice find on those CPU's! Any idea what frequency they run at under full load?

I managed to pick up a 12 core Xeon just over a year ago for ~£500 which runs at 3.1ghz under full load.
Vray who?

2016-09-22, 20:43:39
Reply #6

Majeranek

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
Totally blind :- D Didn't even catch that myself.

BTW, if you find D16 WS for same price as D8 WS, motherboard, buy the D16 WS. OEM is supposedly final stepping, but every other stepping had better compatibility with D16.

Also, D16 entered market later, and had no faulty revision. D8 had and some shops still carry it, some of those can't be just updated in bios. Asus of course replaces them for free but it's hassle to go through. D16 is guaranteed to work 100perc.

I found those D16 motherboards, but there are two versions "Z10PE-D16" and "Z10PE-D16 WS Int". Is there any difference?
marjoramstudio.com Website
be.net/filipmalecki Behance Portfolio
Instagram Instagram Profile

2016-09-23, 07:46:21
Reply #7

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
There are 5 versions of this board, D8 WS, D16 WS, D8, D16 and D16/4L.

As usual, the WS in Asus products always refers to "workstation", so they include every feature there might be need for (more of everything, plus soundcard,etc..). They are also of slightly better build quality. Server versions (non-WS) can be bough cheaper and are of smaller form factor.
The WS range kicks ass so much that there should almost never be a reason to go for server options, the savings are insignificant for the benefits.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2016-10-02, 22:53:37
Reply #8

Majeranek

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
I decided to go for something like this:

1x Asus Z10PA-D8 WS or Z10PE-D8 WS
2x Intel Xeon E5-2683v3
2x SilentiumPC Fortis 3 (I don't know if I will fit those two?)
4x DDR4 ECC 8gb
1x SSD Samsung Evo 850 500GB
1x PSU Corsair AX760
1x GPU
1x HDD 2TB
1x Fractal Design Define R5 or Fractal Design Define XL R2 - Here I'm having a problem. I didn't see that z10pe-d8 ws motherboard is EEB and I don't know if I can fit it in those cases so I changed to Z10PA-D8.

I own Z10PA-D16 WS, I never buy server boards, only their workstation counterparts.

In other topic you said that you've got that motherboards. I can't find anything like this :/
marjoramstudio.com Website
be.net/filipmalecki Behance Portfolio
Instagram Instagram Profile

2016-10-03, 11:19:44
Reply #9

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
What topic ? This is how my Z10PE-D16 WS with v4 Xeons, I will be building 3rd one this week. Z10PE-D8 WS would look almost the same, and also require XL case.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2016-10-03, 11:20:40
Reply #10

Fluss

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 553
    • View Profile

I own Z10PA-D16 WS, I never buy server boards, only their workstation counterparts.

In other topic you said that you've got that motherboards. I can't find anything like this :/

I think it's a mistake -> Z10PE-D16 WS

2016-10-03, 14:24:03
Reply #11

Majeranek

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
What topic ? This is how my Z10PE-D16 WS with v4 Xeons, I will be building 3rd one this week. Z10PE-D8 WS would look almost the same, and also require XL case.

It was in this thread:
https://forum.corona-renderer.com/index.php/topic,12958.0.html
But just like @Fluss wrote I think it's a mistake and there should Z10PE not Z10PA.
Thanks for the photo. This is what I wanted to know if I can fit that motherboard in Fractal Design Define XL case.
So I guess I've got my build setup :)
marjoramstudio.com Website
be.net/filipmalecki Behance Portfolio
Instagram Instagram Profile

2016-10-03, 14:38:50
Reply #12

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
You can fit into XL R2 anything :- ). But not into Define R5 as Jann said.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2016-10-03, 14:51:29
Reply #13

Majeranek

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 101
    • View Profile
You can fit into XL R2 anything :- ). But not into Define R5 as Jann said.
One more question.
What Max TDP CPU Coolers should I put? Will be 180W Cooler enough for E5-2683v3 (on the website they're writing about 120W)

PS. Juraj, all those workstation is for your studio purpose :) ?
marjoramstudio.com Website
be.net/filipmalecki Behance Portfolio
Instagram Instagram Profile

2016-10-03, 15:04:39
Reply #14

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
You can fit into XL R2 anything :- ). But not into Define R5 as Jann said.
One more question.
What Max TDP CPU Coolers should I put? Will be 180W Cooler enough for E5-2683v3 (on the website they're writing about 120W)

PS. Juraj, all those workstation is for your studio purpose :) ?

Yes, will totally suffice. They don't produce much heat by themselves, it's together two of them that does the heating :- ). Good case airflow is almost more important.

Yup, all mine. Never enough cores !
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika