Author Topic: PC Spec for Realtime and Simulations  (Read 1354 times)

2023-07-14, 10:27:09

dj_buckley

• Active Users
    • View Profile
Disclaimer: I'm not technical at all so respond to me like I'm 5.

I want to spec a PC build that will used solely for realtime stuff i.e. Unreal Engine, and simulations i.e. Phoenix, Tyflow, Marvelous Designer.  And then rendering when not in use for anything else.

So far this is what I've spec'd but I love someone to sanity check this for me.

- ASUS TUF GAMING Z790-PLUS WIFI D4 - PCIe 5.0, 4x M.2, 2.5GbE/WiFi 6E
- Intel Core i9 13900KS, Raptor Lake, 24 Cores, 32 Threads, 3.2GHz Base, 6.0GHz Turbo
- Noctua NH-D15 Chromax Black - Quiet Performance Air Cooler
- 128GB (4x32GB) Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200MHz
- 24GB ASUS GeForce RTX 4090 TUF GAMING OC, 16384 Cores, 2565MHz Boost, GDDR6X - GeForce RTX VR Ready
- Corsair HX1000i, Modular, Silent, 80PLUS PLATINUM
- 1TB Samsung 980 PRO NVMe PCIe 4.0, 7000MB/s Read, 5000MB/s Write, 1000K IOPS
- 2TB Samsung 990 PRO NVMe PCIe 4.0, 7450MB/s Read, 6900MB/s Write, 1400K IOPS

Obviously budget is at the back of my mind, so I've opted for TUF over ROG where any Asus parts are involved.

The 1TB SSD is for Operating Systems and Software, the 2TB SSD is for cache files and the like.

The RAM is because the machine will also be used for rendering and my scenes often exceed 64GB on my other PC's (which all have 128GB in them).  However, can I run 4x 32GB sticks with this processor because I read - "The CPU supports up to 128 GB of memory in 2 memory channels."

The things I'm not sure on - the processor, the PSU, the cooling.  I've gone for the i9 as a compromise between cost/speed when compared to the Threadrippers.  Also because I read Speeds are more useful than Cores for this sort of thing.  The PSU I have no idea if this is enough wattage, the cooling again I have no idea.

Any help anyone can give would be much appreciated.

2023-07-14, 11:12:38
Reply #1

Juraj

• Active Users