Author Topic: Chaos Corona 12 for 3ds Max - Daily Builds Discussion  (Read 20730 times)

2024-05-20, 13:10:48
Reply #90

Jpjapers

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 1672
    • View Profile
sounds exciting....

@devs - can i ask something, one thing that has bothered me for years and i dont know the mechanics of what goes on behind the scenes in terms of code.  But the heavier a scene gets, the more longer it takes for parsing/IR to work.  Sometimes, on repeated IR activation's, it takes over 20 seconds or so on heavier scenes.  Now, i assume its taking longer obviously due to geometry/poly count + the increase in textures etc.... if this is the case, wouldnt it be possible to pre-load these (cache) them in so that it starts quicker?  & any NEW geometry/texture additions should be calculated from scratch and loaded into cache? again, i have no idea about code and its way out of my depth but i was just wondering if it was at all possible.

Because the thing is this.  I moved to Corona many moons ago due to its ease of use.  It got rid of the technical aspect that vray had in terms of scene setup/settings.  It just works.  However, with heavier scenes, i feel as though there is a bottleneck in terms of optimisation.  Scenes get heavy and slow, IR works poorly and we are left to our own devices to figure out how to optimise.  Scenes tend to feel 'dirty' if that at all makes any sense.  Apart from what i mentioned above and ive said this before, it would be awesome to also, in the short term, provide a dignostic tool to help us understand where teh bottle necks are.  WHY the IR is taking long - is it a 320MB TIF file?  is it loading multiple proxies or a 300,000,0000 polygon item that has turbosmooth set to show only during render (which has a iteration of 5) - a diagnostic tool is somehting that i feel can be achieved relatively easy as its jsut data, data that is currently understood by Corona - we just need it transposed to meaningful and clear text to us, the users....

anyway, hope this all makes sense.

Just lots of stuff needing doing before a daily comes out, big blocks of code that can't be released in stages; and then in combination with the last week or so being full of statutory holidays meaning things move to next week or so. On the plus side, should then mean a lot in that next update, including the first appearance of "export to Vantage" functionality.

The new error log shows you the heaviest scene items as well as the heaviest textures but possibly only if you run low on RAM. Having this as a diagnostic feature on its own would be good but i totally agree that as clients request higher res images, and we are required to put more and more detail in both geometry and textures to support the resolution we need better ways of optimising scenes. Revit models in particular seem to take an absolute age to begin rendering and ive got no idea why.

2024-05-28, 07:54:52
Reply #91

shortcirkuit

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Hi Devs, i tried to open a scene from 2023 - it crashed (using latest daily).  I installed latest hotfix, it opens.  Tested on 2 different scenes.

2024-05-28, 08:06:02
Reply #92

Aram Avetisyan

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
Hi Devs, i tried to open a scene from 2023 - it crashed (using latest daily).  I installed latest hotfix, it opens.  Tested on 2 different scenes.

Hi,

Please attach the scene and minidump if possible and we will have a look.
You can as well send it over with via ticket at https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new.
Aram Avetisyan | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative | contact us

2024-06-04, 13:25:41
Reply #93

maou42

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Hi

I am using the latest daily.

-Adjusting the colour of an element in the lightmix (the "white box" leads to a crash.
-In the compact material editor, clearing/ deleting a multimaterial leads to a crash (this have been going on for several months, not just the latest build).

Can anyone reproduce those?

Thanks.

2024-06-04, 14:00:43
Reply #94

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8897
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
Hi,

please read this article and provide minidump and/or scene if possible.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2024-06-04, 14:22:37
Reply #95

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12828
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
We will try to reproduce both issues, but as Romullus said, it would be great if you could provide a minidump and/or a scene. Thanks!
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2024-06-04, 14:40:14
Reply #96

Avi

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 548
    • View Profile
Hi

I am using the latest daily.

-Adjusting the colour of an element in the lightmix (the "white box" leads to a crash.
-In the compact material editor, clearing/ deleting a multimaterial leads to a crash (this have been going on for several months, not just the latest build).

Can anyone reproduce those?

Thanks.

I tried to repro this but it didnt crash for me. I tested it on Corona 11 HF 2 and Corona 12 Latest DB.

Is the issue specific to a scene or you can repro the crash on a empty 3ds max scene as well?
Arpit Pandey | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Specialist - Corona | contact us

2024-06-04, 14:51:27
Reply #97

maru

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 12828
  • Marcin
    • View Profile
In that case, @maou42 please submit a new support ticket at https://support.chaos.com/hc/en-us/requests/new
Marcin Miodek | chaos-corona.com
3D Support Team Lead - Corona | contact us

2024-06-06, 17:51:30
Reply #98

maou42

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 35
    • View Profile
Hi all

Sorry for the late reply.

The crash when clearing a multi-material has been happening for ages. Months, 1year plus?

The crash when changing the colour in the light mix is new.

I will open a ticket with Chaos. Will try and work out how to attach a minidump.

Thanks.

2024-06-10, 23:38:24
Reply #99

v.p.vlasenko

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Hi, looks like each time after installing a new version folder for out-of-core textures is reset to default, can you fix it?

2024-06-11, 09:47:01
Reply #100

yc8892856

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 10
    • View Profile
May I ask if using Corona12 (Daily Build Jun 7, 2024) to export. vantage, the animation camera in max cannot be synchronized

2024-06-11, 09:58:00
Reply #101

Aram Avetisyan

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 591
    • View Profile
May I ask if using Corona12 (Daily Build Jun 7, 2024) to export. vantage, the animation camera in max cannot be synchronized

Hi,

Animation unfortunately will not be supported for Vantage for V12 (as of current plans), it is too much of work. The support is initial to get started with Corona-to-Vantage, and also get feedback from users.
Aram Avetisyan | chaos-corona.com
Chaos Corona Support Representative | contact us

2024-06-11, 21:25:30
Reply #102

Alex Abarca

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 424
  • Corona Certified Instructor
    • View Profile
    • Instagram
That's bad news, I really needed full vantage support on this new version.

:(

2024-06-11, 23:04:32
Reply #103

danio1011

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 365
    • View Profile
Exciting release, but not being able to share animated cameras from Max to Vantage is a real bummer.  That really undercuts its use as a pre-viz 'client approval' tool for animations.

2024-06-12, 03:45:47
Reply #104

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5556
    • View Profile
Understood, and this was why we were sure to mention some months ago that animation from the host would not be in this release, but planned for the next version if all goes well. We wanted to be sure the information was out in advance as to what this would and would not do. Naturally, the integration is a large project, a lot of complex work, which is why it has a foundational release now with future functionality planned to be built on that.
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us