Author Topic: Corona Scatter Problem  (Read 3144 times)

2022-06-14, 15:43:20

miacreed

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Hi all,

I'm having a problem with Corona Scatter. I'm attaching a screenshot- basically I'm trying to distribute 1 object on a plane (in a very simple, straightforward scene), and the scatter will distribute the object everywhere except the plane.

Any ideas for resolution? Thank you!


UPDATE: Objects modeled in Max will scatter properly (a cone, a torus, etc), the problem occurs when I try to scatter imported assets (Trees from MaxTree). They will scatter, but completely off-target.
« Last Edit: 2022-06-14, 15:51:11 by miacreed »

2022-06-14, 15:51:09
Reply #1

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5556
    • View Profile
The "plane" apparently has a large bounding box (seen in white) - how is it being modified and distorted, as it is clearly warped in some way so is not a straightforward plane?
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2022-06-14, 15:54:57
Reply #2

miacreed

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 26
    • View Profile
Hi Tom, how are you?
Thank you for your swift response.
No, it's not a straightforward plane- nevertheless, I tried it out in the same scene with a completely normal and flat plane and the problem persists. This only occurs with imported assets and not objects modeled in Max.
I'm attaching an image!

2022-06-14, 16:16:52
Reply #3

romullus

  • Global Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 8897
  • Let's move this topic, shall we?
    • View Profile
    • My Models
@Tom, the bounding box is not from plane, it's from scatter.

@miacreed, try resetting scattered object's xform and set its pivot point at the base, this should resolve any problems.
I'm not Corona Team member. Everything i say, is my personal opinion only.
My Models | My Videos | My Pictures

2022-06-14, 17:13:24
Reply #4

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5556
    • View Profile
Yep indeed it's from Scatter, but it's what Scatter sees the plane as being like ;) And yep based on the extra info of these being imported objects, your solutions should be the ones to resolve it!
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us

2022-07-07, 23:19:00
Reply #5

BigAl3D

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 883
    • View Profile
For what it's worth, in Cinema 4D, if you delete some of an object's polygons and/or points, the original bounding box will remain as well as its original axis point. I would need to run the Optimize function to clean up the remnants and also run Reset Axis to get things back to normal. Might not be the same issue here, but it may produce a similar result. Haven't tested though.

2024-06-05, 22:12:47
Reply #6

irfan

  • Users
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Hello, Friends


I am having a problem with Cinema 4D corona Scatter.

1: After applying surface in scatter it shows boxes, whenever i change box to full mesh it disappeared from viewport
2: even in interactive render it is showing certain amount of object (even in editable objects), its like i write 10000000 and it shoes 100 only.

Thanks in advance

2024-06-06, 14:30:02
Reply #7

TomG

  • Administrator
  • Active Users
  • *****
  • Posts: 5556
    • View Profile
This really should be a separate thread as it's a separate issue.

Would need to know the tech specs of your machine, in particular the GPU, as it is possible you are simply exceeding what can be displayed in the viewport in the host app (C4D in this case). As for the second about IR, would need to see examples of the scatter set up, the rendering result you are getting, you mention IR is this true also in final render, and other such details please :)
Tom Grimes | chaos-corona.com
Product Manager | contact us