Author Topic: Threadripper & Ryzen only builds (3rd Gen starts on page 50)  (Read 314696 times)

2021-03-01, 20:25:58
Reply #1290

Kuky

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Thank you Juraj and Romullus for your generous help. This is good news. So it's somewhat safe to assume that if I am good with 32GB RAM on 4 cores I will also be good on 24 cores (for the same scenes ofc).

One more bonus question (sorry): has anybody measured how well Corona scales with render times on the Threadripper line. I mean a proper real world test with latest version and the same machine, a long to render scene,  only the processors swapped?

From what I see the actual Corona benchmark is old and obsolete for this new processors. One problem is the length, it is to short to gather relevant data. I checked and from the results there is a huge and confusing range of results:

3960x (24 cores)  Range: 33 sec .... 57 sec      Most frequent results...... 37-38 sec
3970x (32 cores)  Range: 26 sec .... 53 sec      Most frequent results...... 28-29 sec
3990x (64 cores)  Range: 13 sec .... 56 sec      Most frequent results...... 15-18 sec

If I calculate with the most frequent results it seems to scale almost linearly.


2021-03-01, 22:08:24
Reply #1291

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
It scales really well in terms of raw multi-threaded performance. In that metric, 3990X is total beast.

But I still have some qualms about my 3990X. I don't know how to measure it well without having all the Threadrippers of same generation, but I suspect the 3960&3970X might be better in what I would call "mixed-threaded workflow", something like Interactive Rendering, which is multi-threaded (rendering part) and single-threaded (UI re-draw and select&manipulation) at same time.

All 3rd-gen Threadrippers have the same IO chip (connecting the physical dies, 3, 4 and 8 respectively, to memory channels), same amount of (4) memory channels and same amount of power limit (280W TDP).
I feel that 3990X already stretches thin within these limitations.
In theory, 3990X would ideally be 8-channel chip (which exists.. the 3995WX Threadripper Pro), with much more robust IO (Looks like Zen4 Genoa will bring that) and 500W power limit (you can unlock such with powerful cooling).

But maybe it's bullshit, and nothing really helps in these cases. And maybe 3dsMax (And Windows) is just unsalvageable in their core and no amount of super-powered hardware will make the experience fluid under all circumstances.

Of course, if you don't have your own sizeable render-farm, or aren't using cloud services, 3990X is the best deal. But otherwise I am almost partial to consider 3970X to be the best deal.
talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2021-03-09, 17:12:27
Reply #1292

Kuky

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Ok, Jesus has arrived. When I pressed render I began to cry. This system is literally more than 10 times faster than my previous rig.

System is:
PROC: Threadripper 3960x
COOLER: Noctua NH-U14S TR4-SP3
MOBO: Gygabyte TRX40 Aorus Master
RAM: TeamGroup T-Force Night Hawk White RGB 16GB DDR4 4000MHz CL18 dual channel (but 2 pieces, so 32GB quad channel)
HDD: Samsung 980 Pro 1Tb
VIDEO: GTX970 (to be upgraded when this crypto storm fades away)
POWER: EVGA Supernova T2 Titanium 1600w
CASE: Fractal Design Define 7 XL (not arrived yet)


This memory does not seem to want to boot at 3600Mhz unless I raise the voltage to 1.4V. Should I be worried to run the RAM at 1.4V on a daily basis?

2021-03-10, 13:37:34
Reply #1293

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Nice train collection there!

Enjoy new rig :) To your memory concerns: Update boards bios to latest. AMD microcode (AGESA) provide improved memory stability. 1.4 stability depends on temperature mostly, check during rendering. If it is stable than ok, but even 1.35V on Threadripper runs pretty hot and is hard to cool occluded by Noctua.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2021-03-10, 16:07:24
Reply #1294

Kuky

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
Nice train collection there!

Thank you. I only collect bavarian epoch I (until 1925). Collection is quite big, most probably the biggest bavarian collection in Romania. I did some photo tests for a few loks here https://goo.gl/photos/ivLTBDYWsR3ag6px7



First thing I upgraded the bios. I guess I have to check temps after I put everything in the case.
Now with open case proc is at 76C when rendering and at 86C when denoising.

For the memory I don't understand how to overclock it correctly. The XMP profile is 4000 18-20-20-44 1.35v  but at those settings it does not boot. If I change speeds only from speed memory setting in BIOS (and adjust voltage to boot) at 3600 Mhz the board puts some huge timings 24-24-24-58. If use the Ryzen RAM calculator I obtain much better timings BUT in reality corona rendering is SLOWER.

2021-03-10, 20:43:05
Reply #1295

Juraj

  • Moderator
  • Active Users
  • ***
  • Posts: 4312
    • View Profile
    • studio website
Fast memory will not benefit Corona rendering on 3rd gen Threadrippers, it's more for overall system performance where latency bottlenecks can occur.

3600 is really the fastest stable overclock for Threadrippers.

talcikdemovicova.com  Website and blog
be.net/jurajtalcik   Our studio Behance portfolio
Instagram   Our studio Instagram, managed by Veronika

2021-03-11, 11:22:56
Reply #1296

hldemi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
Dunno what you consider fast but for me, using 2133 memory makes it around 15% slower than using 3200 memory. It has diminishing returns ofc so 3200 vs 3600 would be very small difference, if any.

2021-03-17, 19:31:37
Reply #1297

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1054
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Hey folks, does anyone by any chance knows if its possible to force lower all core clocks on gen 3 Threadrippers without sacrificing the single thread speeds?

I'm noticing my temps are in the range of 70c-83c when rendering while the 3970x keeps the 3.8ghz - 4.1ghz clocks going. If I force the max cpu frequency to be 3.6-3.7ghz via the Windows Power settings the temps drop considerably to the 60c-70c range. The relevant benchmarks barely show any difference going from 29s to 31s.

The problem with doing the power limits via Windows is that it just keeps the clocks stuck at 3.7ghz - no boost and no downclocking to save power.

I plan on messing with the cTDP settings but uhm, I can imagine that will clip the mixed workloads by a bit. Ideally I'm just looking for a way to let the TR know that hey, 3.7ghz is fine, no need to try and reach 4.1ghz every few seconds :) Any ideas are much appreciated!
« Last Edit: 2021-03-17, 20:55:59 by Nejc Kilar »

2021-03-18, 09:55:36
Reply #1298

hldemi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile

2021-03-18, 11:53:04
Reply #1299

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1054
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Not that I know.

I appreciate your response. Feels less lonely in here :))

2021-03-18, 13:46:01
Reply #1300

hldemi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
What I do is to change power plans or profiles inside AMD CPUapp ( I forgot the name ). So if I purely do rendering I use profile with some % lower cores clock and if I use apps with single core I go to default. This is bcs only default state can use single core boost.

2021-03-18, 19:29:14
Reply #1301

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1054
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
Yep, thats my qualm right now - if I use the Windows power settings it affects the single threaded speeds which I would prefer to keep :) I am currently switching between power profiles depending on the project I'm working on lol so basically the same as you. Thank you for the suggestion though!

2021-03-19, 14:02:26
Reply #1302

hldemi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
If you use power profile with 99% min and max power, it will lock it down too much. Thats why I use AMD Ryzen™ Master Utility where i can specify precise core speed. For example I have 3960x that runs at 3800 with single boost to 4,4.

When I render I set it to 3900 all cores. And it has around 20celsius lower temp.
If I let it go with default (3800) it actually works on 4,05 all cores.

If I use 99% power profile it goes to 3,7 which is far too low imo.

2021-03-20, 19:22:17
Reply #1303

Nejc Kilar

  • Corona Team
  • Active Users
  • ****
  • Posts: 1054
    • View Profile
    • My personal website
If you use power profile with 99% min and max power, it will lock it down too much. Thats why I use AMD Ryzen™ Master Utility where i can specify precise core speed. For example I have 3960x that runs at 3800 with single boost to 4,4.

When I render I set it to 3900 all cores. And it has around 20celsius lower temp.
If I let it go with default (3800) it actually works on 4,05 all cores.

If I use 99% power profile it goes to 3,7 which is far too low imo.

I'll give it a shot, thank you! Still need to try that cTDP limit too.

I do have to say, even at 3.7ghz as the limit, I'm finding the experience to be quite smooth :) I realize thats subjective but uhm, just wanted to give props to the CPU lol.

2021-03-22, 09:47:41
Reply #1304

hldemi

  • Active Users
  • **
  • Posts: 55
    • View Profile
At 3,7ghz my average rays drop from 12,800 to 11,600.
Thats around 10% difference. For much lower temperature and power consumption seems very reasonable. But somehow I cannot stand this 10% slower speed. Not effectively but OCD related.